We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel & Convenient for MSC Cruise Port”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

we stayed overnight prior to our 7 day Western Med Cruise embarking in Genoa. Overall, this hotel is exceptional. It's a short walking distance to the MSC Cruise Line port. The view at the top overlooks the port of Genoa. Besides the hotel are a number of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for staying in our hotel.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay, appreciated our hotel services and our location.

Thank you for posting your comment.

We hope to welcome you back in your next trip to Genoa.

Kindest regards
Gabriele Fortunato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 2,835 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel exudes the charm of historical Genoa. My spacious room was on the 6th floor with a small widow looking over Genoa. I loved the way they had maintained the old worldly décor, but had included modern comforts in the bed and bathroom. Even had tea-making facilities in the room which is not common in Italy. Service in all areas was friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was all you could wish for. The location was very convenient - right at the main train and bus station and a short walk to the port and many tourist attractions. Free WIFI is in the foyer only. This hotel was such a pleasant surprise and I would recommend it for anyone looking to stay in Genoa.

Room Tip: I think a high room overlooking the port area would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toucan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Madame,

thank you for posting your comment which are very usefull to improve the quality of the services we provide.

We are very pleased that you hve chosen our hotel for your stay in Genoa.

We are glad that you have experienced our hotel services and have enjoyed it.

A great deal of attention, was made by the owner of the hotel, when they renovated and refurbished the premises. They wanted to preserve its history and at the same time offer all up to date informatic services. Including free internet wi-fi also in the rooms.

We all hope we can welcome you back in your next trip to Genoa.

Kindest regards
Gabriele Fortunato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four days in the beginning of May and were completely happy with the room, the staff, and the breakfast. The location is perfect, just up the hill from the main train and bus station. The room was spacious, immaculate and the bathroom was equipped with all of the trappings of a deluxe hotel. It has both a shower and a deep tub, which provided a welcome respite for feet aching from climbing Genoa's ubiquitous hills. There was also a spa on site.
My only reservation is that the "business center" consisted of one computer which the staff let children use to watch cartoons. I was surprised since the hotel is clearly a favorite with business travelers in town for trade shows.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannewy0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Madame,

we would like to thank you for posting your comment about your stay in our hotel, your suggestions are very valuable to us in order to improve our quality service.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay, the cleanless and the quality of the room as well as the varity of our breakfast and the location of our premises.

We all hope to welcome you back again in Genoa and our hotel.

With our best regards
Gabriele Fortunato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spacious room with classcial decorations. Good location - just next to Genova Principe Train Station & bus station. Booked through hotel booking website & got a good rate. Buffet breakfast is good with a large variety of food. Delicious foccacia! Will come back when I visit Genova again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazysoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Madame,

thank you very much for having choose and stay in our hotel.

We are more than happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and all our hotel services including the comfort of your room we up to your expectations.

We would also like to thank you for posting your comment which is very useful to us in order to monitor our quality standards.

We all hope to wecome you back again in Genoa and in our Grand Hotel Savoia.

With our best regards
Gabriele Fortunato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose this hotel due in large part to its extremely close proximity to the Genoa Principe main train station, which is right across the street, and the recommendations appearing in different sites, including Trip Advisors. Our room was on the 1st floor, an Executive Double. The bed was very comfortable, and the pillows were true feather, i.e., very soft, which is to our liking. Bath amenities were complete, including body lotion that is often missing these days. The WiFi is free, and the reception is very good; I never had any issues connecting in the room or public areas. My wife and I were amazed at the number and types of TV channels available to us. These included numerous news, sports, and music channels. For example, we like classical music, and there were at least 3 or 4 different classic stations. There is a small bar on the main level that had everything we wanted, including green olives for martinis. Green olives are often not available, at least in our experience. Snack food is also available and at no charge, including peanuts, pistachios, corn chips, small finger sandwiches, and some vegetables, such as celery sticks. The staff in the bar included Luca, Francesco, and Phillipe who were just a few of many who made our stay there so enjoyable. Frankly, it is one of the best hotels we have visited in several month-long trips to Europe. The breakfast buffet is complete, including made-to-order eggs. Dinner is also available in the evening. When we return to Genoa, we will most definitely stay there.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jcu1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for staying with us and for posting your comments.

All of us are very happy to know that you have found our hotel services just the way you wanted, we have just met your expectation.

We all hope we can welcome you back again in the Grand Hotel Savoia.

With our best regards
Gabriele Fortunato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located just across from the train station, this is an elegant hotel that reminds one what hotels used to be like. Big rooms, lovely lobby with a bar, and an excellent breakfast buffet. Easy to walk to all Genoa attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

we would like to thank you for choosing and staying in our hotel.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and found our hotel services to your liking.

We would also like to thank you for posting your comment, very useful for us to monitor our guest preferences.

We all hope to welcome you back again in the Grand Hotel Savoia.

Kindest regards
Gabriele Fortunato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After a long day travelling we ended up staying in this hotel.It was not the one we booked, but somehow we were transferred to the.
They told we us we had been given an upgrade. The room was nice, what one would expect from a hotel like theirs. The television did not work, after many tries. They even sent up a poor guy from reception, he couldn't make it work either.
He called down to the main desk and suggested that they move us to another room, he was told they had no more rooms to move us to.They were full up.
I then asked if they would reduce our bill, and hey presto, five minutes later we were moved to another room, one with a nice view this time, and the television worked as well.
I would not by choice stay there again, even though it sells itself as a five star hotel, there was much in evidence to support the belief that they just like to charge five star prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankDevenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your comment, which is very useful for us in order to improve our services.

I regret very much that the television did not work in the first room, I am glad that the front desk staff managed to change the room.

I hope we can welcome you back in your next stay in Genoa.

With my best regards
Gabriele Fortunato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#1 of 91 in Genoa
1,664 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $131 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing