We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel to stay before a cruise”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only % 5 star hotel in Genoa, easy to find and 100 meters from the train station and walking distance to the port. A class hotel bursting with period features- drinks in the lounge were exquisite , the decor period 1900s. Modern rooms with expensive trimings. Breakfast is not to be missed. We has adjoining family rooms , excellent for teenage kids.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,734)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Savoia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 2,734 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a long trip around Italy and stayed in 13 different hotels and cities and we have a good point of reference to rate hotels based on local standards. Among all the 4/3 star hotels that we have stayed at in years of travelling this one was the worst. Genoa is a big city and we were surprised that they did not know anything about customer service. The first time in our lives that we got into a fight with someone, and where?, in a hotel. They are bunch of idiot, rude and uncivilized thieves. The only plus is that they are close to the station, but it turns out that the cabs charge 10 Euros anyway. Such a shame, stay away!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Med1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a very old classic hotel (built 1897, renovated 2008), with wide and magnificent common spaces, located in front of the main train station. Its location comes good also if you travel by car, since you don't have to pass through the always busy central part of the town. This means you won't be exactly in the heart of the city, but the Old Port and new Museo Galata (Sea Museum) are quite close. If you would reach the main shopping and touristic areas by feet, please remember to avoid Via di Prè and to prefer the safer Via Balbi. Everything is easy and providing a warm service inside the hotel, although some details should require a grater care. The standard room is quite large and well equipped (free wi-fi), but you won't find a stunning interior design as you might expect from a 5-star hotel. Staff at the reception is not particularly friendly, anyway there is also a smart young man (thanks God!) who will answer to ALL your questions with a smile. Breakfast is definitively adequate to a luxury level hotel, with homemade pastries and many choices of salty and sweety food, all plenty and well exposed; there is also a special desk for scrambled eggs and bacon, in order to meet US and UK friends needs! This hotel is absolutely a very good value for money if you get a bargain fare as I did with Olotel.com booking (105€/night BB!). But if you are looking for a REAL luxury experience, be aware you could get disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent location, if you wish stay near the Port, hotel is best location to visit around this city, easy to find the hotel, the restaurant is excellent, especially the restaurants manager and the young Lady was especially kind in La Tratoria beside the hotel speaking different languages. The children are welcoming even in stressful situation they have time to love them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koebiGenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed only one night here, and we have chosen the hotel mainly due to the location (close to the main railway styation and to the embarking point of our cruise). It worth every penny we have spent here, the winter garden and the panorama are awesome! The bath is well equipped and the clean room and comfortable bed invites you to stay more. The romantic atmosphere and the furniture on the halls and in the room are worth to remember (maybe the mirror glass is to faded, but this is a minor detail:)). Excellent breakfast. Would like to come back, for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constantin-Hori... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the GHS early December and had a wonderful time. Our room was very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and it also had a fabulous view. Despite the fact that the room was at the front, it was very quiet. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice and variety - the only minor was the instant coffee but the staff are more than happy to make you a cappucino or espresso. The staff in the restaurant and bar were very friendly and helpful, and so were most of the reception staff. We only had one bad experience when we checked in on 8 December early afternoon. The girl who checked us in was unbelievably rude and unfriendly. Not a nice welcome, but the other reception staff was very pleasant. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the old harbour and the historic town centre. We definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sussex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stopped through Genoa for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Grand Hotel Savoia. It was very convenient to have parking as we arrived by car, and the service provided by the porter staff and reception staff was very good.
Large room and very unusual to be allowed to have five of us (family of two adults and 3 children) in the one room but this was very much appreciated. The roll away bed was ready and waiting for us set up to go when we arrived and the room was spacious and well appointed with everything we needed. My husband and I commented to each other that we left this hotel without feeling like we had been ripped off for every little thing as we have felt so often in hotels around the world. For e.g., at night, I asked for a small jug of cold milk to have a cup of tea in the room as I am not a fan of the powdered stuff (not really milk right?). Within a few minutes a lovely large jug of fresh milk was bought to our room and we were waiting for it to be either added to our room or charged for at the time. Nothing, no mention of it. Very unusual but very much appreciated. The breakfast was excellent with plenty for everyone (kids loving the nutella and chocolate cake for breakfast - oh well, we are on holidays!). Good location, opposite the bus station with a bit of night noise but there are shutters on the windows that block most of this out. Overall and excellent stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers passing through this nice little Italian coastal town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BKKGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,609 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $140 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing