We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The Best Western was a good hotel. It's very hard to exit, by just a tiny street with no parking immeadiately outside. The parking for the hotel was by a Co-op carpark 700 yards away. It was secure and safe with lots of parking spaces. On the approach it looks like a good hotel and the entrance hall is appealing with a wide variety of leaflets and pamflets for Genoa, which didnt actually contain that much as a city. Our room was on the first floor and could be accessed by stairs, a main lift and a porters lift. Our room was directly outside of the lift so access from the main hall was easy. It was a good sized room which used a key card to enter AND for the electricity slot, which was on the wall as you enter. If you dont put it in, you'll be stuck in the dark like we were! There was a good double bed with 2 lights and a alarm clock with instructions on how to operate it. There was a sofa bed directly opposite in the same room which was made up and ready to sleep in. Good comfort on both beds. There was a large TV with a PS2 but with no controllers for the PS2 it wasnt really operational. The TV recived basic Italian channels as well as BBC and Sky News. The bathroom was well equiped with a powerful shower and enclosure and a toilet, mirror, cabinet and shelves. There were wardrobes if you did want to put away your clothes. There was a 5 minute walk to a main square with a fountain and then streets which went off in all directions containing a wide variety of resturants considering the area.
The hotel had a good breakfast service in the morning which had coffee, milk and all other drinks you could want. It wad a large selection of breakfast cereals and pastries aswell as food for young children to eat, which came with special bowls and cutlery.
Overall a 7/10 hotel which just did what it said on the packet!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDLyden2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

The hotel is very homely and pleasant. I liked the atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and at the same time professional. Loaction is very close to important monuments and atractions in Genova, only a few steps from Teatro dell'Opera, Palazzo Ducale, the museums of via Garibaldi, the famous Aquarium and Porto Antico. Only 20 minutes by car from airport and not far from the train station Genova Brignole (what is important when you want to visit other places in Liguria). My room (on 7th floor) was very nice and comfortable, I loved it. It has free WI-FI connection, big TV-LCD, frigobar and spacious bathroom. The breakfast was outstanding freshly cooked each morning with great coffee. There is only one small problem in this hotel: the elevator is very small and slow, so it takes a little time to get to your room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakub-krakau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The rooms are well furbished and modern, the bed was excellent. For this price, it is rare. The hotel is perfectly located in Genova too. The only problem is the breakfast/restaurant room which is ugly, noisy and stressful. Too bad... On a side note the parking is very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I traveled to Genoa with my husband and son and this was one of the nicest places we stayed in all of Italy. The rooms were spacious, clean and so quiet. I wish we had booked more than 2 nights here as it was so lovely. The buffet breakfast was great and the location could not have been better. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Genoa. Parking was costly (€24/day) but this was expected when staying in the centre of the town. The aquarium is a short walk from the hotel and was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattypattypatty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights on a tour of Northern Italy. The hotel's location is superb, right in the heart of town, set back in a small square just off a busy road. The reception area is nice, roomy, and modern. The hotel rooms are the same, except for the roomy part: in fact this was the smallest room we stayed at during our entire tour. It was however well decorated and well-kept. Aircon was quiet and effective, the beds fine, and shower pressure and temperature excellent. Free wifi was a nice plus. Breakfast is served in a semi-basement and can get very busy. It's your regular Italian fair, so nothing special except for the coffee.

Parking was a bit of a problem. The hotel has a small garage on the tiny square, but it's not cheap (I believe 15 euro per day), it can carry only a limited number of cars, and it's valet parking. The valet system always makes me feel a bit uncomfortable when I would like to take the car for a short drive in or around town (and there are several worthwile destinations around Genova such as Portofino and Camogli). So instead we at a pay and display near the hotel, which costs 1 euro per hour from 8-19 hours (no credit cards, so bring change!). In the evenings it's no prblem to find a space, but during the day time it can be a hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel is in a good, convenient location to other restaurants and night life. There is a metro station close by and the train station was walking distance also (although a little on the far side if you had big bags). What made it memorable was how helpful the staff was. After we left, I realized I left my entire reservation folder for the trip in our hotel room, and we were only on day 2!! Luckily, the hotel staff mailed it to a further destination and we could retrieve the tickets and information. They were very prompt and I would highly recommend this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank lemonade02184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Bang in the centre of Genoa, airconditioning very welcome as the weather was extremely hot.
Room was fairly small, shower very small but bathroom laid out well.
View non existent but you'll be lucky to find anywhere which doesn't overlook the side of another building due to the compactness of the city.
Breakfast was very poor, didn't bother the last morning, wasn't worth going down to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 91 in Genoa
2,836 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Hotel Metropoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Genova
#1 of 91 in Genoa
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel

Address: Via di San Sebastiano 6, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#4 Green Hotel in Genoa
#5 Business Hotel in Genoa
#5 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $103 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4 star Best Western Plus City Hotel in Genoa is located in the heart of downtown, just 200 meters away from the Palazzo Ducale, very near the Aquarium and other tourist attractions. The City Hotel is very much appreciated due to the courtesy of its personnel and the high quality of the services offered: a breakfast full of fresh, genuine products; no compromises when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene; a cocoon-like, new and fresh environment… all make our guests feel particularly comfortable during their stay. The City Hotel’s success is based on a philosophy of hospitality centered on the ideas of satisfying our guests’ 5 senses, commercial transparency and respect for the environment. The results are satisfied clients that return often and gladly recommend the City Hotel to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing