We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Genova”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This boutique hotel is a rare gem. It is optimally located in the city centre, very affordable and offers 5-star service. The rooms are comfortable, clean and tastefully appointed in modern decor. Ours had a balcony overlooking the city.

The complimentary breakfast is outstanding with an abondance of fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, croissants, jams, honey, cereals, yogurt etc. What really stands out is the excellent and caring service. Special thanks to Grace and Andrea for making our stay extra special.

You can't go wrong. One word of caution, if you are driving to the hotel, get directions beforehand as it is somewhat difficult to find. Also, make sure to reserve a parking spot when booking your room as space is limited.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes_Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Spent 3 days here at the end of August. The rooms were not large but we'll equipped and the breakfasts were excellent. All the staff were very helpful and happy go check trip a in times etc. The hotel is in a great place from w which to visit all the s ights

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is well-located close to the old town and the port. If you are getting the bus from the airport, it stops at the nearby piazza just a few minutes away from the hotel. We stayed in a "look" room (superior) which was spacious and comfortable. The shower was good, drained well and the room cleaned well daily. Unlike other reviewers, we had no problems with street noise.

However, my main gripe is that the front-of-house reception staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful. There often was a queue for service and they were borderline impolite. Breakfast had a good selection, but there was insufficient seating for all guests which meant a clamber for tables in the morning. I'm not sure why they didn't allow guests to use the seating in their restaurant next door, but guests were advised they had to queue for a table instead. Additionally, there is only one tiny lift for the entire hotel so you had to queue for that too in the mornings (apparently there is another one but we were not aware of this at the time). Wifi didn't really work (we were on the 7th floor so it may have been related to this).

The restaurant, Mua, just outside the hotel was very good, so give it a try if you don't feel like walking too far for dinner...

Overall, good, but don't expect to be blown away - stay for the location and if you can get a good deal!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumbler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Mrs. Farina,
first of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Genoa.
We are really surprised about your comment about our staff. Reception and breakfast staff are the same since several years and their guests care is always rewarded from feedback. We apologize if you did not feel our welcoming and helpfully attitude.
Our breakfast room is 100 square meters big with over 60 seats, our clients love to stay long time at breakfast and taste all our delicious products; therefore some guests have to wait a while to find accommodation. During the summer season with very high occupancy rate we ask our guests for cooperation, but not everybody is willing to limit his seating time and so situations like the one you experienced arise.
We have two elevators, but during peak time waiting time can grow.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you and stay at your disposal for any further need.
With our best regards.
Fabiana
BW City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want a clean friendly well located hotel at a reasonable price in Genoa then ths is the place for you. It sits conveniently at the sedge of the old town yet only a short walking distance from either rail station. Well 10+ minutes or so. Nice Rooms and a good choice of breakfast available with nice wee bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nicely located on the edge of Genoa's old town but for a hotel that will encounter a whole range of international travellers (particularly due to being a Best Western) it is doing itself no favours. The tourism industry in Genoa is still nascent and as a result the best thing the hotel could do is to have friendly, helpful desk staff who can guide you to out of the way attractions (or at the very least a decent restaurant!):we stayed for five nights and at no point did the desk staff recommend the hotel's own restaurant (featured in the Michelin guide) or the very nice restaurant in the piazza in front of the hotel! Instead the lady staff member recommended some incredibly touristy places on the porto antico.
Furthermore, whilst I in no way expected to find good English speakers everywhere it would have been nice if the staff members' badges could identify what languages they do speak (so I could identify any in common) as I felt we were often poorly understood.
Furthermore, and this was not a problem for us as I wasn't expecting this to live up to its claim, but the soundproofing in the "hearing" rooms doesn't work.
Lastly, if you have a hotel with 66 rooms and only 15ish tables for breakfast it is inadequate to tell guests they will have to queue when you could negotiate with the restaurant to use their tables.
All of that notwithstanding, breakfast was good and the breakfast staff lovely; the rooms were clean and very serviceable and there was no external or road noise to speak of.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbad92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Missbad92,
any comment from our clients is important for us. Anyway we are little surprised you notice our strength points at the end. We guess to find at the top our location, our breakfast, our staff, the cleaning and the quite 
We are sorry if you felt as we did not understand you; I can assure you that all our reception staff speaks and writes good english.
Our philosophy is based on 5th senses, so we joked with the rooms names. “Sound” does not mean there is soundproofing, it is the name of our standard room. We are sorry for the misunderstanding.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
With our warmest regards
Fabiana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the location of this hotel, in the historical centre of Genoa, in easy walking distance to the business district and the old port. Staff here were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but not amazing; they did do a decent cup of macchiato (all important!). Our room was oddly decorated, which is fine, but my real problem with the room (level 6) was that several lights weren't working and there wasn't enough toilet paper nor tissues (ie 4 tissues in the box, to be precise! I mean, seriously?!). No excessive tissue/toilet usage on our part, either!!! Shower sprayed water all over the floor. No complementary water. But all in all a good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Have2GoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a fantastically located city centre hotel, just perfect for a short break. It’s literally a minute’s walk to Genoa’s main piazza, plenty of shops and a number of good quality restaurants. The port is a pleasant enough walk through the old town, and the hotel is also more or less equidistant from both of Genoa’s two train stations.

The hotel is furnished in a stylishly modern fashion, with the breakfast room in particular worthy of mention. Our room was also very comfortable and spacious, and kept spotlessly clean. The free Wi-Fi worked no problem, although there was a desk in reception, on which there appeared to be a couple of courtesy iPads.

The reception staff were courteous and helpful, even happily verifying our plan of the best way of timing a train journey down to the Cinque Terre. The breakfast staff were also very friendly too.
The breakfast offering was one of the best we have ever encountered in ‘city break’ accommodation; the plentiful range of choice was impressive and as just good as some ‘resort’ hotels that we have stayed in.

Having ticked now Genoa off our list, we might not get back for a while, but when we do, we’ll be straight back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
505 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel

Address: Via di San Sebastiano 6, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#4 Green Hotel in Genoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#5 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $100 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4 star Best Western Plus City Hotel in Genoa is located in the heart of downtown, just 200 meters away from the Palazzo Ducale, very near the Aquarium and other tourist attractions. The City Hotel is very much appreciated due to the courtesy of its personnel and the high quality of the services offered: a breakfast full of fresh, genuine products; no compromises when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene; a cocoon-like, new and fresh environment… all make our guests feel particularly comfortable during their stay. The City Hotel’s success is based on a philosophy of hospitality centered on the ideas of satisfying our guests’ 5 senses, commercial transparency and respect for the environment. The results are satisfied clients that return often and gladly recommend the City Hotel to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing