We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really enjoyed this Hotel. The location was perfect for us near train station, shopping and the old port.

Breakfast was the best out of the 4 Hotels we were in as part of our vacation to the French and Italian Riviera's.

They had everything. Even iPads to use!

We had a slight problem with the play station in the room but they sent someone up immediately to fix this problem.

The bath was the biggest and most comfortable bath I have used.
The mini bar was nice to have after a long day out. Prices were reasonable for the Hotel class and area we were in.

My daughter left her bracelet behind (sentimental value from a relative in Italy) and the Hotel sent it back to us free of charge. Unfortunately the envelope was ripped open en-route and the bracelet never arrived, just the envelope.

I thanked the Hotel anyway for sending it.
A week later we received an envelope from the Hotel with a beautiful pink bracelet for my daughter from them. She loves it.

This was so kind of them and shows what great staff they have at the Hotel

They truly do deserve the number 1 rating on Tripadvisor.

When we return to Genova we will for sure stay here.

Oh and the room was very spacious with huge comfy bed and bunks the kids loved.

Faultless.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast or the Cappuccino's!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dislodgedlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the city hotel. Good central position with the Metro and buses very close by. There is also a bus just 2 minutes away that takes you straight to the airport.
Overall we found our stay to be comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. The breakfast staff were very attentive and give them full marks.
Our room although comfortable we did find that certain things needed attention. The door latch to the bathroom was sticking and made it difficult to open the door.
The bath was very high. You almost needed steps to get in and out.
Certain light fittings although working needed attention.
The reception staff were helpful except one which her attitude was very reserved and you got the distinct impression that she need to be tipped each time you spoke to her to get any reaction.
Overall this is a good hotel, Just need attention to detail.
Would we stay again? Yes

Room Tip: Stayed on the 7th Floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elcido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Best Western City Hotel in Genova was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is well situated close to luxury shops ( around the corner ), restaurants and major attractions ( Aquario, Strada Nuova, palazzos and museums, Piazza Raffaele De Ferrari).
It is a family friendly hotel and caters well to young children ( bunk beds, treats and toys, playstaion). The rooms are spacious, clean and the bathrooms are well designed and modern.
The staff are courteous and prompt with requests( we requested for the air conditioning to be adjusted and the issue was dealt with immediately).
The breakfast had an impressive selection of hot and cold foods. During our stay, smoked salmon and mimosas were on offer.
To avoid lineups at the Acquario, one can purchase tickets at the front desk ( not discounted).
Overall, the hotel was excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A small but very well managed and excellently located hotel if one wants to explore the city of Genova. The hotel is located to the main city sites which are mostly in walking distance.
The hotel has a lavish breakfast and the attention by the waiting staff is second to none.
There is a very good restaurant just opposite, although a bit pricey, the food and service are excellent

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4nature190327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the best value hotel we stayed in during five weeks in Europe, and the second best in quality. The hotel exceeded my expectations with the consistent quality of rooms, food, and service. The rooms are a very good size and quality, and completely sound and light proof. The location is central to the old town. Service was just right and very helpful. Try the room service which comes from the restaurant in the plaza just outside the hotel - a delight after a tired day walking the Cinque Terre on a hot day. We chose to stay in Genoa rather than a Cinque Terre town for the quality and value - and this proved a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel provides excellent facilities in a central location convenient for the central attractions in Genoa. We stopped here for three nights prior to a cruise departure from Savona (50 minutes by train) and were delighted with the Hotel and surroundings. The breakfast room is clean and modern and offers a wide range of breakfast items including freshly squeezed orange juice and traditional Geonese breads and delicacies. The room faced a small square and was furnished to a high standard with bathrobes and slippers included. There are many restaurants, bars and cafes nearby and the Palaces and Cathedrals are within walking distance. I cannot fault this establishment which, for less than £100 per night for a couple (including the wonderful breakfast) represents amazing value. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room (at a small premium) overlooking the small square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The property has nice, well-equipped, contemporary rooms with lots of space and very family friendly lay-out.

The hotel has reasonable priced valet parking, so just drive right to the front door if arriving by car. If you have a BIG car however, like we did, be prepared to pay 50 % more.
Service was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a smart buffet where you could mix and match your own breakfast. We appreciated the “make-your-own-yoghurt-concept”, freshly squeezed orange juice and nice bread and cereals. We never missed a thing. After breakfast, the room turned into a lounge with coffee, assorted snacks, I-Pads and light activities for kids. Nice!

On the down-side, I can’t help wondering what would happen if there is a fire in these type of buildings. The escape route was down a lone central staircase, alternatively leaping up to seven stories down to the cobble-stone streets below… So if you’re anxious about fires, ask for a room on the first floor.

But all in all – a great hotel experience for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you’re anxious about fires, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsvedoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 91 in Genoa
2,835 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Hotel Metropoli
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel

Address: Via di San Sebastiano 6, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#4 Green Hotel in Genoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#5 Business Hotel in Genoa
#5 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4 star Best Western Plus City Hotel in Genoa is located in the heart of downtown, just 200 meters away from the Palazzo Ducale, very near the Aquarium and other tourist attractions. The City Hotel is very much appreciated due to the courtesy of its personnel and the high quality of the services offered: a breakfast full of fresh, genuine products; no compromises when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene; a cocoon-like, new and fresh environment… all make our guests feel particularly comfortable during their stay. The City Hotel’s success is based on a philosophy of hospitality centered on the ideas of satisfying our guests’ 5 senses, commercial transparency and respect for the environment. The results are satisfied clients that return often and gladly recommend the City Hotel to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing