We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent, right in the city centre. Check in was extremely slow. Lift is very small and slow. The room itself was adequate. My shower needed unblocking as it was slow to drain and every time I took a shower, I was ankle deep in water. I told reception every day, but nothing was done.

Breakfast was small limited selection, but adequate.

Overall, average stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

a little difficult to find.
Once you have parked the car in their garage ( parking fees high ) you can do everything that Genoa has to offer on foot or by hopping on a bus. The hotel is welcoming, clean, the rooms a reasonable size with all the little things you need, safe, tea making etc. We went to Genoa in January to see a world class exhibtion of paintings depicting the south of France and were delighted we went. The hotel was warm, the breakfasts good, the hotels' restaurant excellent and have no reason to fault City Hotel which offers excellent value for money.
Port cities are often not that attractive but Genoa is not one of them. There are some wonderful buildings, lots of shops & restaurants and a pleasant atmosphere and some good view points and boat trips

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bienterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the City Hotel for 3 nights. It is located on a small street in the historical center, close to shops as well as museums on Via Garibaldi.
Vegetable soap and "paraben free" toiletries as well as a comic book about pollution on the night table were nice.
We tried the restaurant one evening and it was good choice for the money.
Room service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Excellent location and good rooms. However, we found the maid in our room when we returned to drop off some items after checking in earlier that afternoon. Fortunately, the safe in the room worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Centrally located, we walked throughout the main part of the city. NIce free continental breakfast. Resonable rates. Room modern though on the small side. I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudolph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This hotel is within walking distance to everything except you need a taxi from the train station. It is tucked away in a little side street so is relatively quiet. They advertise air conditioning but they do not turn it on until June so there was no air conditioning in May when we stayed. This was sort a problem as it was getting warm during the day. We had a high room so it was above the adjacent buildings and we had a view. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top two floors
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renosteve95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Friendly staff, but no one had noticed my BD :(
First of all, we had some touble in finding the place, because our GPS was always trying to make us turn left, though there wasnt any street, and then again and again... Finally we found the location only thanks to the street sign. Very narrow streets - after my Moscow ones I was felling quite... compressed :)
Same was with room, especially with the shower - wasnt possible to bend down in the shower cabin, though I consider muself more or less slim (38 size).
After first going into our room we found out that there was one bed, though we asked for twins. Had to wait when that would be re-organized - was funy experience with three people in the room, along with luggage, etc I was forced to sit on my friend's lap :)
Same "narrow" choice was TV stations. Just one in English.
B/F was ok, though the selection of the food was not very rich.
Overall impression is good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
505 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel

Address: Via di San Sebastiano 6, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#4 Green Hotel in Genoa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#5 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $102 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4 star Best Western Plus City Hotel in Genoa is located in the heart of downtown, just 200 meters away from the Palazzo Ducale, very near the Aquarium and other tourist attractions. The City Hotel is very much appreciated due to the courtesy of its personnel and the high quality of the services offered: a breakfast full of fresh, genuine products; no compromises when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene; a cocoon-like, new and fresh environment… all make our guests feel particularly comfortable during their stay. The City Hotel’s success is based on a philosophy of hospitality centered on the ideas of satisfying our guests’ 5 senses, commercial transparency and respect for the environment. The results are satisfied clients that return often and gladly recommend the City Hotel to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing