We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Nearby Hotels
$154
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$135
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Nuovo Nord(Genoa)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Melia Genova(Genoa)
$190
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveler rating
425
439
61
21
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
439
61
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia garibaldiold townpiazza ferraripleasant hotelfamily roompalazzo ducalebunk bedsairport busexcellent locationwalking distanceexcellent breakfastminute walkfocacciagood sizeexcellent staythe air conditioningcomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 954 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed this summer at Hotel Metropoli for the fourth time. The receptionists at this hotel are extremely nice, in a way we usually only experience at smaller hotels. The lovely receptionists together with a nice superior room, OK breakfast and an ideal location make this hotel our "home" in Genova.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I would like to express my very positive feedback about this hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and everything about this hotel made my trip even better and happier. First of all, the location is fantastic - you can get everywhere from the hotel very quickly - the port, the main churches, via Garibaldi, etc. Great, great location. Secondly, the room is amazing. It is immaculately clean, has all the possible amenities of good quality. It was a real pleasure to be in that room, very comfortable. Thirdly, all the staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. How lovely it was to have such a warm greeting! The breakfast was also very good, they even have tv with old black and white comedy movies, some books and great music in the breakfast area. The only drawback maybe was the view in the room - the basement room had very little light as it faces the wall right opposite. However, even that didn't affect the stay in any way, as the room and the staff were so lovely. Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here with my Dad from the 17th July to the 19th July, we just wanted to come and visit Italy for a couple of days, and this hotel was perfect for it!
The location could not be more perfect, located in the historic centre we could walk to everything that was possibly needed!
We got a taxi as we could not be asked to faf around with buses which was 30 euros each way from the airport including tip. A taxi to the beach also cost 10 euros which wasn't bad, but be careful, most of the beaches are private and charge 7 euros to step foot on them!
How people can complain about the rooms is beyond me, our twin room was huge and very adequate! Ensuite was lovely, although a tip would be to install a more powerful shower but for 3 days it was fine. The air con was also pretty naf, but fine as it was not too hot when we were there, cannot imagine what it would be like at 30+ degrees! The minibar was handy, after a long day sightseeing, we'd come in, have a shower and get ready with a drink and chocolate bar from the fridge.
The breakfast was brilliant, couldn't ask for anymore. The cakes were heaven!
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, handing out maps and information when needed.
Some complaints on other reviews about construction next door, you can hear it when you open the window, but otherwise the rooms are pretty soundproof.
I definitely recommend you visit the aquarium and the museum of the sea whilst your in genoa, the view from the top of the museum of the sea was breath taking, so make sure you go right to the top!
Amazing trip, can't wait to return to genoa next year, but will return to a hotel near the sea as done all the sight seeing now!
Thanks for all your help to the staff at the hotel! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 11 years I have stayed approximately 100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain and approximately 10 nights a year in the Best Western chain.
I have stayed very regularly at this hotel over the last 5 years some times at least once a month.
Last date of stay = 15-18 July 2013
My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows:

1) Arrival is easy using the Sat Nav and post code address instructions assuming you are familiar with the unique nature of Genova’s one way traffic system, if not this may present a challenge.
2) On arrival at the hotel the check in staff are always extremely pleasant and friendly, from observation English, French and German are used at the front desk.
3) On arrival as a present Best Western Gold (previous Diamond member for 4 years) HAS never been upgraded NOT once.
4) All Guest receive free WI-FI which is great
5) The bedrooms are small, even the doubles, not for Italian standards, but small for USA and UK standards.
6) All area’s including the bedrooms where always well kept, tidy and clean SEE PHOTOS
7) The Hotel does not provide an evening meal service
8) Breakfast is very Italian (nothing wrong in this), fresh coffee, sweet cakes and focaccia bread, selection of cereals there are no USA or UK breakfast options.
9) After dozens of visits, and 1000’s of euro’s spent in the hotel I’ve asked, asked and asked for British TV, it’s been promised, but never delivered. English speaking TV consists of the following channels CCTV, France 24 (English), CNN and CNBC were advertised in the hotel information book, but sadly were not available in room 210 on this stay.
10) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free.
11) So you ask why do I stay, well in in 2010 during the Volcano ash cloud crisis, this hotel and the fine staff looked after me, my wife and 2 children, despite being at capacity. For this I keep coming back, it’s the staff not the hotel
In summary the hotel scores 3.5/5 for an average Best Western, but 5/5 for the staff and loyal customers that keep returning.

Room Tip: The rooms in the basement are really loud in the morning, the breakfast room is directly above.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theresaheadinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli during the period of June 26 - June 28th. Staff is very friendly. Excellent english and even Russian. Fantastic location for all sightseeing trips - one minute walking and you are at Piazza De Ferrari. Rooms are big enough, clean and well air- conditioned, very nice view from the window. Breakfast had great selection of hot and cold food with unlimited buffet. Wi-fi and tv and other facilities. Surely we will recommend it to all our friends and will stay here in case of return.
Thanks for staff for all support.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Jarkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews