We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 3, 2013

There were six women who stayed here for one day and night. Great location for shopping and very close to the airport. Breakfast is included with room stay but we left for the airport before they served breakfast at 7:00 am. However the hotel was very gracious and supplied us with coffee and packaged breakfast items. So we quickly ate and headed out to the airport. Rooms were very clean and spacious for 3 people in each room. It exceeded my expectations for a 3 star. We had a taxi driver we met at the airport when we arrived in Genoa and we used him a couple of times and he was great. Spoke little english but was very nice, punctual and reasonable. We negotiated prices and everyone was content. His name is Stefano and his number is 3478948024.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Rita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

I remember your arrival and how excited you were about the whole trip! Hope all your shopping bags fit in your luggage ;-) I can picture 6 women seized by shopping spree especially if you choose to stay at Best Western Hotel Metropoli which is just in the heart of the main shopping area with unique local boutiques together with the most famous griffs! You definitely have to come back soon and stay more than one night. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 905 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

did not expect too much but from arrival to departure it was a pleasure. Staff very friendly excellent english and could not be more helpful. This is a fantastic location for all sightseeing trips. Rooms big enough and beautifully clean and well air- conditioned, all facilities nice good quality. Breakfast lasted us most of the day as a great selection of hot and cold food, unlimited buffet. Nice library type room full of information, wi-fi and tv and other facilities to make this excellent value for a visit or business, we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Wow! This is what I call to exceed someone’s expectations! I Love it!!! Thank you for telling us and everybody else what did you like of your stay at the Metropoli and also for the compliments! Hope to welcome you another time, maybe there will be something different on our breakfast buffet…gotta find out!

Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

pro's:
very friendly reception-staff: couldn't have been nicer, & after the first day, they knew which room-key to give me without having to be told.
very clean room: not a speck of dirt anywhere, with new sheets every day, & toiletries topped up regularly.
nice & quiet inside & outside hotel at night.
safe in each room.
very comfortable bed.
very well located for local sights (central piazza only 5 min's walk; seafront 10-15 min's).
reliable free wifi.
free printing/copying service.

con's: single room quite compact; not wheelchair accessible (steps to reception & to some rooms, narrow doorways); full breakfast not available early (eg, business trips), but a tray of snacks is provided instead; no restaurant for lunch/dinner (but many nearby); only 1-2 TV channels in English language; no fitness facilities (but lots of lovely places to run nearby).

Room Tip: 3rd floor away from lift very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Well, to be honest we can be fully satisfied for this comment of yours ;-) the con’s are not bad at all and the pro’s are almost the doubles!!! Thank you for taking the time, really! And come back again!

Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Needed a room for 2 adults and 2 children and we were alllocated a lovely spacious room 313 with large double bed and bunks. There was plenty of space, high celings and 2 balcony windows. The hotel offered free wifi which was great for the kid's gadgets and they also offered free business facilities - pc and printer etc so we could do all our flight check-in, boarding passes etc. The breakfast was comprehensive with a whole seperate section for kids. There was a lot of continental choice. The location was central for walking and exploring and there were convenient taxis nearby. This hotel would provide a great exploring base or cruise stopover location and makes travelling with kids really easy!

Room Tip: For families 313.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank comogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Considering how much the modern cruiseships are comfortable and luxurious, I am so proud you have such a nice memory of your experience here at the Metropoli! Glad you got a good use out of the computer in the lobby and the free wi-fi. I hope you will have the opportunity to come back again another time..

Take care

Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

After staying at this Best Western in Genoa, I'm going to have to give this chain a closer look. We had a quadruple room for a family of four. The kids loved the bunk beds. We were on the top floor, with a great view overlooking the plaza below. Great location right next to a pedestrian shopping street that leads right down to the harbor. Despite Rick Steve's Cinque Terre focus. We would recommend a stay in Genoa at this hotel. We hit 3 museums in one day, took a city tour and visited the aquarium. A great city for families to visit. Had free breakfast with great choices including choices for kids. Was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

I am happy you discovered us and all our services designed for kids and the most careful parents' needs. Children find delicious goodies at breakfast and markers, pastels and stuffed animals to play during their stay. Out of the Metropoli what is more they can live the amazing experience of the aquarium and all the other attractions of the old harbor as the pirate galleon, the submarine and much more.

Do not let your kids grow too much before coming back and visit us... I’m waiting for you!

Paola
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely hotel in the center of Genoa, the room is very clean, well-washed, breakfast very variety.Hotel be a 10-minute walk from Porto antico and Acquario, there are stocks with a gift of tickets to the aquarium, the largest in Europe, is very interesting with lots of marine animals . loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Did you know kids have the opportunity to sleep besides the shark tanks overnight? Well if you are too scared, of course we are ready to welcome here at the Metropoli ;-) but this is just one of the great experiences you could live at the Aquarium that will open a new underwater path designed by Renzo Piano in a few weeks! We will be waiting for you...

Paola
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A rare find in terms of hotels in Europe that cater to children. They set up the children's beds with plush toys for each of them. Without being spacious, the room was the right size. Breakfast was outstanding and again, had cutlery and plastic dishes for the kids. The hotel's location was excellent and we had fun walking around the historic center.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We Love to cuddle the little ones with toys and spoil them during breakfast, with quality products studied for them, to start a wonderful day off to the Aquarium or around the city. We are for kids 100% and I am really happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. Come visit us again..

Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,757 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Metropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Metropoli

Address: Piazza Fontane Marose, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Genoa
#5 Family Hotel in Genoa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#8 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $103 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Metropoli 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We recently opened 4 new rooms with modern furniture and attractive colors. Our comfort is unchanged, with a breakfast increasingly rich, local products and gluten free. Rooms arranged to better accommodate younger guests (Kids room) and for ladies too (Women room) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Metropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Metropoli
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing