We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover and Return from Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
PHL
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Stopover and Return from Cruise”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is centrally located, with taxi stands right out front, on the way to my cruise on the MSC Splendida and when I returned after 7 days back to Genoa. A supermarket COOP in walking distance helped to get some Italian food shopping done before my trip back to the US. A very good breakfast is included in the price. However, it does not have it's own restaurant. But there are plenty of restaurants around. Though the hotel rooms are dated and darkly furnished, they are very clean and come with a hot water kettle for in room tea or coffee. I needed a taxi in the middle of the night and a telephone call by the Receptionist and five minutes waiting period is all it took. I would use this hotel again should my travels bring me back to Genoa - everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Definetly our location is one of our musts. It sounds like yours has been a very good vacation between the cruise on our beautiful Mediterranean Sea and your stay here at the Metropoli and I can only say thank you for your time and invite you to come back again and see what other things we are planning for our guests...Warm regards and..arrivederci.

Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    406
    59
    21
    7
See reviews for
275
265
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Metropoli is well located just in the heart of the main sites of Genoa. I was travelling with my family (4 total). The room was very confortable. Breakfast delicious and people amazing. It is a great option for those travelling to Genoa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for calling us “amazing”…I love that! And we are all so proud you were willing to write and share about your experience at the Metropoli. One of our goals is to be part of the great experience of discovering out beautiful city and its treasures! Thank you

Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A charming, small hotel at the very centre of Genoa, without private parking, but you are referred to a public one close by upon check-in. The traditionally decorated rooms and bathrooms really had character, were very comfortable and appropriately reflected the atmosphere of the city. The breakfast was excellent with some exceptional items like the truly delicious home-made jams. Very competent staff, ready to help point out the city highlights and provide useful information.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrenDrag15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
The delicious old fashion marmalades, produced in a Liguria farm, are one of my favorites among all the delicacies of our buffet.
From breakfast in the morning til the late night’s snack in your room, we try to spoil you with quality local products! We chose the best Italian brands to turn your day into a Genoese experience!
Thank you!!!

Paola
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Spend one night in the hotel and it was perfect. In city centre, or close to it, free wifi, nice and clean rooms. No complaints at all. Bus stop close to hotel, shops and restaurants also close by. Walking distance to marina area and other important landmarks.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsvdheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Short stays are always in need of practical locations, close to the main historic places as we are. We simply add a couple of details hoping to be remembered as a nice souvenir and to be visited again during your next visit to Genova! Grazie and Arrivederci!

Cinzia & Paola
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great, friendly and convenient hotel in downtown Genoa or Genova as the Italians say!

We stopped here for a few dys after our cruise ended in Genoa. We found all the staff to be friendly, helpful and most obliging during our stay there. Our room and bedding was clean, very comfortable and the room a decent size for European hotels.

The breakfast was superb, as it was hot AND cold food and a good and fresh variety (as not all European hotels have both unless it is 5 star. Later on in equivalent hotels in Europe during our travels, my husband and I didn't find any breky's that were better.

The location was very close to the main shopping area (10min) walk, and also close to Brignole Train Station (10min taxi ride)

We enjoyed our stay in Genoa due I am sure in part to staying at this great little hotel. If you want a quieter part of the city to stay, the other Best Western is close by (5min) but we like a bit more excitement.

Would recommend this hotel to all

Room Tip: We didn't mind overlooking the square even though if you had the window open it could be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
If you call our city “Genoa”, our manager will be delighted because he supports the local football team named after it, the oldest football club in Italy!
Delightful are also the special words you spent about our breakfast! We all thank you very much and I really like thinking of us as your “great little hotel” which left you good memories about Genoa…or Genova! :-)
We will be waiting for you and all your friends you will recommend the Metropoli to!

Paola & Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently escorted a group of 32 to Genoa, staying at the BW Metropoli. Put it this way; "We will be back". The correspondence prior to arrival was accurate and helpful; the greeting on arrival was really friendly and very efficient with the whole group checked in within 3-4 minutes. The accommdaotion was, for a city, spacious, spotless and very comfortable. The location is also right in the heart of the "Old Town", ideal for shopping, exploring, pre-cruise overnight. We will definitely be using the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Alan, thank you so much for your awesome review and your nice words towards the hotel and the service! It is not easy to handle a group and you do know better but It has been a pleasure to deal with you and have you all over. Hope to welcome you soon again!

Cinzia
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a highly enjoyable 4 nights here. The friendliness, expertise and professionalism of the reception staff cannot be under -rated and their recommendations and advice were spot on.
We found the hotel to be extremely clean and well presented. Its wonderful location enables very easy access and return via the airport bus (6 euros pp). The opera house is almost on the doorstep and a wide range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops are very close by. The world heritage palaces just around the corner in Via Garibaldi are well worth a visit. Do go up on the roof!

Breakfasts were top quality and constantly topped up. The focaccia bread is sure to delight the taste buds. Don't be put off by the thought of cartoons running on the TV during breakfast as the sound is off and gentle light music plays.
The room safe was effective and the bedroom fully met our expectations, although some people might find the pillows to be hard. Wifi worked perfectly and there was no charge for printing boarding passes. When entering @ on the hotel computer's keyboard, please note that alt and control must be held down together. Thank you staff - we would certainly recommend Genoa and the Metropoli.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHWorthing_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
When I read your review, I pictured myself abroad trying to get used to a different keyboard. I guess the"@" key changes in every country. That’s funny and I am sure your tip will be of use to many people! However wi-fi is definitely basic to our guests and together with other amenities such as room safe, kettle, extra pillows and so on. I am happy the room met your expectations and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet based on the Genoese Focaccia and many other local products!
Thanks for the compliments to the staff and thanks for reminding us of the beauties surrounding the Metropoli!
Greetings from Genoa…

Paola
Customer Care
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
454 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Metropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Metropoli

Property: Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Address: Piazza Fontane Marose, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Genoa
#5 Family Hotel in Genoa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#8 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Metropoli 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We recently opened 4 new rooms with modern furniture and attractive colors. Our comfort is unchanged, with a breakfast increasingly rich, local products and gluten free. Rooms arranged to better accommodate younger guests (Kids room) and for ladies too (Women room) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Metropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Metropoli
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing