We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Palace
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Elegant ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with spacious clean rooms. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. In the center of town in a very good place. The only negative was the small lobby area and the poor breakfast. We ll come back to this hotel and beautiful town.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    593
    172
    52
    23
See reviews for
356
539
54
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a wonderful weeks holiday based in this hotel in Genoa.
An excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff.
Our rooms had very comfortable beds and good air conditioning.
A special mention for the bar manager Roberto who service was
always excellent.

Room Tip: note restraunt is on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is located close to the De Ferrari metro station, and its location is excellent for visiting the Old City and shopping. We hardly needed to use the public transport when in Genoa as we could walk anywhere. Our triple room was excellent and very clean, the buffet breakfast really good, and we really loved the building. The only real minus was that service was pretty non-responsive, so if you have any special needs that aren't in their standard list, this might not be the right hotel for you. For example, we had a minor issue with our bath which we reported the first night. Somebody came to look at it straight away and promised to fix it the next day, but when he came around for another issue the following day, he didn't even mention it. Didn't want to bother him on that, as it was clear that it wouldn't be fixed during our stay there.

But regardless of the slightly non-responsive service, it's still one of the few hotels I'd like to stay in the second time, as the building has history and character. And, I'd love to have breakfast at Bristol Palace anytime! This is a hotel that delivers good standard service anytime but don't expect them to respond to any of your more quirky needs! If it's not there it won't be delivered.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here for one night after a cruise. The hotel is centrally located for visiting Genoa which is a beautiful city. The rooms are large and airy with period furniture. The staircase is something to behold when looking up from the ground floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The location cannot be any better. Right next to Piazza Ferrari, it is next to everything you can imagine. Restaurants, MacDonald, Cafes, Coop Supermarket, Gelato, Metro (personally I find the metro not very useful as its a short line with very close stops), shopping.... The list is endless. Everything within 5-15 mins walk! There is even the Mercanto Oriente just mins away for your marketing needs of fresh produces like cheese and pasta. Genoa Brignole Train stations is just about 10-15 mins walk away, your gateway to other parts of Italy like Portofino and Cinque Terre.

The rooms themselves are not new, but clean and comfortable. Pretty big I would say. Some rooms comes with a really small rain shower type, not so nice for that.

The whole hotel looks very pretty and grand. Look out for the hotel sign along the streets, behind it and on the entrance. The staff speaks good english so its helpful. Free Wifi in room, although sometimes you got to re-login in the morning. There is a computer with printer in the lobby, so you can search and print out train ticket schedule easily.

The breakfast has a nice spread of bread, eggs and sausage, fruit salad, yogurt, celery, cakes and more. You can also ask the serving staff to make coffee for you (cafe latte etc). Although after maybe 10 days, you would be a little sick of the same spread. During good weather, they will open up the outdoor dining as well.

Only confusing thing I have was the free water in the mini bar. One say its free, the other says not. So I decided that buying from Coop was so much safer and cheaper.

Room Tip: Level 1 rooms are pretty good. The lifts are pretty small, so you could just walk up the stairs. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinZheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
382 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Hotel Bristol Palace is in a great location for the traveler without a car. A couple of blocks from a Metro station, the opera the Doge's Palace which is an art museum. It's near shopping and a lot of good restaurants. The building itself is one of those old grand hotels. One of the best breakfast buffets we had in Italy in very lovely rooms or an outside patio. The basic room is large for European rooms. Also the price was very reasonable. And I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the staircase, it's a classic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorenza P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bristol Palace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your impressions. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful city, Genoa, which it is perfectly true you can easily explore starting from our hotel as the major attractions are within walking distance, and we are especially glad that you had a memorable stay in our hotel.

It is nice to hear that you appreciated our breakfast, in particular the variety of the buffet where we recently added some international specialties and also our most recent addition: the new outdoor terrace, also open at lunch and in the evening as our restaurant.

The rooms are quite large owing to the fact that the building is dating back to the first years of the last century in the Liberty period and it was not built with the purpose of making it an hotel straight away. So the rooms were kept large and lofty as were then the standards for private apartments.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Genoa next time.

Best regards,

Fiorenza Peyrot
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
350 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

It is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are large with antique like furniture. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast room was adorable in pink and great selection. It is wonderful location to wander about but oh so difficult to find when driving even with GPS. My daughter complained about bug bites in her room but the other 2 rooms had no problems. It was difficult getting a cocktail in the evening. There was a bar but no bartender. There was an lovely outside patio also but no cocktail servers in the evening. There was a H and M store 2 doors down which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfarmer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Palace

Property: Hotel Bristol Palace
Address: Via Venti Settembre 35, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#8 Family Hotel in Genoa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant turn-of-the-century palace in the centre of Genoa on Via XX Settembre. The Bristol Palace is just a few steps from the most important offices and exhibition sites, from Palazzo Ducale to the Carlo Felice theatre, as well as the most prestigious shops, museums and not least from the largest aquarium in Europe.During its recent renovation its elegance and exclusiveness were blended with a modern and functional conception of the services.The dramatic elliptical staircase in white and Liberty wrought-iron banister soars up to the top floor in a spectacular spiral that seems to suspended in space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Palace Hotel
Bristol Palace Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing