We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Italian hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Palace
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We has a family room on level 3- room 341. It was HUGE! The largest bed for us & 2 rollaway beds for the girls.
A seating area with lounge & 2 comfy chairs. An ornate desk in th middle of the room & 2 balconies, one overlooking piazza Ferrari . The bathroom had an ornate bath and a hue shower head- plenty of hot water. Air conditioner fully functioning and a small bar fridge, no tea and coffee facilities though.
Breakfast was plentiful, cereals, toasts pastries, eggs unfortunately the terrace was closed.
The hotel is in an ideal location with just a short walk to the old town.

Room Tip: Higher room away from street noise, request a bath for larger room. Room341 is a corner suite with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Marie0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have asked for, and we were given a deluxe twin room on the 6th floor facing the Via XX Settembre; a very large room elegantly decorated, very comfortable with beautiful furnishings, wooden floor and a very modern bathroom; there was also a small balcony from where you could have a partial view of the Piazza da Ferrari. The whole building is very elegant both inside and outside. The location of the hotel is perfect. Breakfast is very rich and served in a series of large and nicely decorated rooms. We would like to return to Bristol Palace if we were given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkisNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I booked the hotel through booking.com, where I chose a double room for two nights. Unfortunately my friend couldn't join me, so I asked when I arrived if I could perhaps change to a single room. The receptionist turned around and talked for a while to somebody who seemed to be some sort of manager. Then the receptionist turned back to me, handed in the key politely and… that's it, he didn't care to translate what the manager had said. I went up to my room, which turned out to be smaller than the square meters indicated in the description of the room I booked at booking.com. I thought to myself: "Probably it's because I asked for a single room, I can't complain." But when it came to paying, it turned out I was paying just for what I had booked but never got. Perhaps it was just some kind of misunderstanding, perhaps the booking.com description is misleading, I'm not sure, but, anyway, the receptionist was too casual in his behavior for such a hotel anyway. He should have made more efforts, he wasn't exactly selling hot dogs at the reception desk. Otherwise I liked the hotel very much. The most important thing about the hotel is that it feels like being in a historical town. All the public rooms are beautifully furnished and accessible, the breakfast room is magnificent, and so was the breakfast... The location of the hotel was wonderful too… I would say, to sum up, a beautiful hotel, but the service felt closer to a hostel. Just get into a holiday mood and you'll suffer no regrets!

Room Tip: Just make sure at the receptionist desk how large the room will be to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue_Ocean33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

As soon as you see the stairway spiraling above the reception desk you get a feel for the old style elegance of this hotel. My room was well appointed with a lovely deep bathtub. The breakfast buffet is ample and the room quite pretty. There are cozy sitting areas on many of the floors.The little restaurant bar is very homey and has good food. If you like to walk it has a perfect location to explore all the downtown shopping , the heritage houses , the museums, the maze of tiny streets, and the port area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to avoid any street noise. Some of the back fourth floor rooms were much sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmezedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have now stayed here twice on different trips to Genoa.
You really can't beat the location smack-bang in the centre of the cultural district in Genoa, a two minute stroll to the Genoa Opera, Palace Ducale and shopping area (Louis Vuiton, Prada, Loro Piana etc).
Ask for a double room with a bath to get a larger room.
Breakfast is excellent with helpful staff (ask for a doppio machiatto to get your morning jolt!).
Guess what? Free internet!!!!!! You know my views on internet and I am pleased to be able to report on this essential service that is provided free of charge.
So, in a nutshell, the Bristol Palace Hotel can't be beaten for value, service and location. When in Genoa, it's a non-brainer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath to get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Genoa is a great city to visit. The old town is a jewel. It is all walking streets.
This is not a place to stay near the train station. Bristol Palace is located two blocks from the entrance to the old town. The Hotel is in good shape, big rooms and bath, very clean. Good free internet. Very good buffet breakfast.
Helpful at reception desk. Get a rate online. Go to the great restaurants close by.
On friday nights the streets in the Old Town are full of people. Great bars around.
Also great for shopping. I had a room looking to the back, which made me happy for the quiet night I spent. You might want one to the front though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernalcaicedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is located in a beautiful area near the theatre,you can walk to the pier seeing all the old town, parking facilities.
The room was really big (we were 4), and all the atmosphere of the hotle was special, it seemed to be in a luxury hotel of the pat, all the details were perfects.
The breakfast was delicious with a really large choice of dishes and drinks, one of the best I've ever had in Italy.
ctally we did not like Genova very much but we definitely liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,811 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,644 reviews
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
574 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Palace

Address: Via Venti Settembre 35, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#6 Family Hotel in Genoa
#7 Business Hotel in Genoa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $124 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant turn-of-the-century palace in the centre of Genoa on Via XX Settembre. The Bristol Palace is just a few steps from the most important offices and exhibition sites, from Palazzo Ducale to the Carlo Felice theatre, as well as the most prestigious shops, museums and not least from the largest aquarium in Europe.During its recent renovation its elegance and exclusiveness were blended with a modern and functional conception of the services.The dramatic elliptical staircase in white and Liberty wrought-iron banister soars up to the top floor in a spectacular spiral that seems to suspended in space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Palace Hotel
Bristol Palace Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing