We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inexpensive...not much else to add...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Genova City
Ranked #33 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“inexpensive...not much else to add...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

stayed three nights -- double superior room was clean and well appointed, with a good bed and sufficient towels. Windows could be opened for fresh air (not always the case!!!), but it was too noisy to leave them open. View overlooking the highway.

Hotel has a mediocre breakfast, more of a large continental with a bit of sausage/eggs/cheese, but you get fed...and don't forget to ask the waitress for a real coffee (the machine is hidden in the back, and if you don't ask...you don't get), and are stuck with the nescafe powder bla.

Hotel is in a seedy area, not recommended to walk back at night, but I walked to town during the day every day in 20 minutes. Taxi back from the port was 10Euros at night. Area has its share of beggars and gas station prostitutes, so best to pay the taxi!

Parking was 14.50 a night, which is a lot...but considering the neighborhood, it's a bargain.... :)

Return? no, I'd choose another and pay a bit more to stay in the port or around the city center (Piazza Ferrari or higher up).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immerunterweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia_Montelli, Direttore at Novotel Genova City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.
We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Cinzia Montelli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    875
    613
    194
    79
See reviews for
945
468
89
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a good night sleep and the hotel is clean.
Once again Accor "free Wifi" - excellent
The bar opens till late and is good time to catch up after a long day
Yes location may be out, but easily reach town by bus about 5-10mins
The staff speaks good English
Tan Huat

Room Tip: Tip: Ask the hotel for the bus number to/from the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TanHuat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia_Montelli, Direttore at Novotel Genova City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Cinzia Montelli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

very close to crusie ship terminal.Very helpful staff who went the extra mile to assist.
rooms were hot as windows did not open fully but all in all do not let this put you off staying here enjoyed the breakfast every morning,
Will be staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank court02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia_Montelli, Direttore at Novotel Genova City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Cinzia Montelli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The dinner was fine, the staff OK, but I had a very bad sleep in this hotel. The window can only open a few cm and it is too noisy to leave the window open because the hotel is on the main road. So you must rely on the air conditioner to work, in my room there was no choice of temperature, just "On or Off". If the setting was "Off" the air become unbearable, with the setting "On" warm air blew in, making the room hotter. It was 28C during the day and felt the same in my room. I will not stay here again as I prefer a simple room where I know I can sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia_Montelli, Direttore at Novotel Genova City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.
We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Cinzia Montelli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Location - easy to reach by car but some 15/20 on foot to downtown. Bus stop close by. Parking beneath the hotel. Both sides face a busy road, but this is Genova, if you want a bucolic view go elsewhere.
Room - AC worked properly but noisy, could open a bit the window, in front of the sea at the 8th floor was quite windy and nice. Small cheap bathroom as usual. Clean. Not new, not worn down either.
A bit understaffed, can get very busy when a bus for the cruise arrives. Kind staff anyway gave some useful info.
Breakfast by far the worst part of the stay, very poor in quality. One of the worst breakfast i had in all Accor hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia_Montelli, Direttore at Novotel Genova City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.
We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Cinzia Montelli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

It's not in the city center and quickest way is to take bus no20 to stop Canto 5 or 1 which is 4 mins walk from the hotel. The room is clean and normal standard with motorway views. The staff, however are very rude and unhelpful. The breakfast choice is poor and staff are slow and unresponsive. One of them can't even brother to look at me when talking. I would definitely not recommend to stay for leisure.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IonaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia_Montelli, Direttore at Novotel Genova City, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing you review.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures to guarantee that the standard meets your expectations.
We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Cinzia Montelli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is very close to the highway and it was the criterion by which we chose this hotel. It is close to the port and the area is not very nice .
It is a standard hotel, equipped with the necessary, no shine to any chapter.
The rooms are quite small, long hallways with many rooms. If you suffer from claustrophobia, you would not be too happy here.
We booked a double room with two beds and I was unpleasantly surprised to find the room a bed and a sofa , totally uncomfortable. In addition to the sofa, for just a sheet wrapped was available, unlike other bed which was endowed with a blanket. As in november, we had a cool night and an uncomfortable bed with springs protruding.
Otherwise, both the room and bathroom were clean. The camera is equipped with a kettle, tea and instant coffee. In the bathroom I found cosmetics, hairdryer ( little old ) and white towels .
Breakfast was sufficient and quite varied.
Our stay was very short, so I can not express my opinions about the staff, that I got very little contact.
In conclusion, it seems an ok hotel, but only for transit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia_Montelli, Direttore at Novotel Genova City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.
We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Cinzia Montelli - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#18 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Genova City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Genova City

Property: Novotel Genova City
Address: Via Antonio Cantore 8C, 16149, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Genoa
#15 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Genova City 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Genova Ovest is a modern 4 star hotel with 223 rooms. Strategically located within 700 m from the Harbour cruise terminal, close to the centre of Genoa, 1.5 Km from the famous Aquarium, 6 km from the airport and 3 km from the Exhibition Centre. Ideal for business or leisure trips, it features a convention centre with 7 meeting rooms (180 guests), business corner, WiFi, family rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafe restaurant (open 24 hours), a bar, outdoor pool and garage parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Genova City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Genova Ovest Hotel Genoa
Novotel Hotel Genoa
Novotel Hotel Genova Ovest
Novotel Genoa
Genoa Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing