We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most awesome food - Heston Blumenthal meets Italian Country Kitchen!”
Review of Il Genovese

Il Genovese
Ranked #62 of 2,041 Restaurants in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most awesome food - Heston Blumenthal meets Italian Country Kitchen!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel manager, who politely insisted that we try it that night, since it would be closed on the Sunday. Boy, was he ever right! I would happily have eaten there every night of our stay...

The menu choice was awesome. I'm sometimes funny about 'complicated' food, food with twiddly restaurant-y additions, since I'm a bit finicky about what I eat, but I was spoilt for choice on this menu - everything sounded tempting. Rabbit, veal, various fish dishes, and of course pesto!

The service was above and beyond as well - our waiter was very friendly but didn't get in the way or seem smarmy. We got chatting to him towards the end of the meal, and it was more like being in a new friend's kitchen having supper, than in a restaurant. He told us that he had just come back from America, judging on the International Pesto Championships - they had a friendly against the local fire station, and won of course! (But he was very gracious in victory, saying they were rather good... :)) He gave me one of his souvenirs from the competition - a tin of Ligurian air, scented with pesto of course!

The prices were not cheap cheap, but definitely the quality of the meal was worth it, along with some rather nice wine. The white chocolate creme brulee was a masterpiece, and I'm not even that fond of creme brulee!

The outside view is nothing to write home about, since it's down a typical Genovese back alley, but the atmosphere inside is great - cosy but airy, and with lots of locals chatting away.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    466
    128
    46
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Can an australian make pesto? In this case, yes.”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were taken to Il Genovese by local friends who told us we were going to eat the best pesto in the world. Is it the best in the world? I don't know, but it was the best I have ever eaten, with some glorious gnocchi di patate. The rabbit alla ligure was also incredible. This place has all the ingredients of a good restaurant: a relatively limited choice of dishes (few but good!), few tables, friendly service and an attentive owner who goes round the tables all night. The chef is only half australian. The other half is clearly ligure and it shows.
4 people with 3 courses and a couple of litres of the house wine, just over €100. Can't do much better than that at these levels of quality.
Few tables means that booking is a must

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Absolutely AMAZING typical cuisine!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a must for anyone stopping by Genova. We arrived by chance, as it was lunchtime and we asked a lady at a nearby FNAC if we could find a decent genovese pesto anywhere in the area. She directed us to this first culinary surprise of our gastronomic voyage in Italy this summer... and in fact, it was there that we ended our trip as well, three weeks later, with an amazing dinner... hope to come back soon!!! GRAZIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blancavillalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The real taste of Genova”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Small restaurant in the center of Genoa. Local food, very delicate, very good. Friendly place. Pesto is the King here from the man who has invented the Pesto World Championship. Very good for strangers, but very good for local people too (like me)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PierG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still amasse about the good foot i had”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

By chance I tryed this cosy and appealing restaurant. Curious on the daily fresh dishes proposed in cubital letters on the entrance, I took the chance to get in. Once passed the door a warm welcome from the owners (Roberto and Franco) gave me the first signe that I was in the right place. The menu was made by a balanced mix between typical local food and interesting fusion style dishes proposed by the chef Rocco. Despite the menu was full of strange local terms I appreciated having the chef in person explaining me what he found interesting to but in the local vegetable and Fish market today. My choise was for local baccala genovese fried in olive oil. Uuuu, amazing and the présentation top..

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolo_lolo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Genovese also viewed

 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Il Genovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing