We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real pesto Genoese style”

Antica Osteria Dindi
Ranked #1,566 of 2,041 Restaurants in Genoa
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real pesto Genoese style”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

You come here for two reasons: great location and unbelievable pesto. Stick to those guidelines and you'll enjoy a wonderful lunch...stray away and you run some risk. I personally love coming down to Boccadasse in the winter when the sea is raging, the wind is blowing and the little cove is deserted: dinner here then becomes a pleasure to all the senses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide_Dindi, Proprietario at Antica Osteria Dindi, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Google Translation
Buonasera, La ringrazio per la sua bellissima recensione! La aspettiamo allora nei prossimi mesi quando il vento e il mare regalano un favoloso paesaggio invernale! Sarà un piacere riaverla qui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    185
    119
    108
    139
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a view”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

While walking around the area, found this restaurant and loved the interior and the simple warmth it projected, plus the view is incredible.
Positives: The dinner was nice, food was good. Service was very friendly and suggestive.
Negative: very limited wine list.

Overall, very pleased and if I am ever in the area, will definitely return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide_Dindi, Proprietario at Antica Osteria Dindi, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per la Sua bellissima recensione ! Speriamo di poterLa riavere di nuovo presto qui da Dindi! La aspettiamo per ringraziarla personalmente!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
447 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Outdoor Dining By The Sea”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently had lunch at Osteria Dindi with a group of business associates. It was a rather warm, slightly overcast day, so we decided to eat outdoors at the tables located under umbrellas along a walkway. The scenery is spectacular as you are sitting quite close to a rocky beach and the ocean. The area's architecture is scenic as well and it is the perfect setting for an outdoors meal. Dindi also has an open windowed, covered terrace and several tables indoors.

The quality of the food is average; however, I must say eating seafood while overlooking the sea, helps mask the mediocrity of the food. I started lunch with a bowl of steamed mussels swimming in their own natural broth. The portion was average size and the mussels were plump. I followed this dish with an order of Spaghetti allo Scoglio, which was an assortment of seafood in a white clear natural sauce. The portion was small and relatively tasteless. I also found that the small amount of sand from the seashells added unwanted texture to this recipe.

Service provided by our African waiter was attentive and professional. Prices ranged between 12 to 20 euros per course. My business associates had no positive comments to make about the food they ordered. There are several other small and quaint restaurants in this area of Genoa, all featuring scenic views and outdoors dining. I plan on hunting down a better restaurant the next time I visit Genoa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ripped off”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was one of the most barefaced restaurants I have ever been. They served a lousy plonk oxidized old wine. The food was savourless and a negligibly small portion. In all prices were exorbitant exaggerated!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sim080712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Dindi also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Antica Osteria Dindi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing