We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Genova exactly, but much better!”
Review of MarinaPlace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MarinaPlace Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not Genova exactly, but much better!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our last stop during the trip to French and Italian riviera. 2 night's stay in superior rooms with balcony facing the marina. There's nothing we can criticize about the hotel, room or services. Perfect, or near that. We were welcomed by smiling faces, quickly checked in, though we arrived quite late. The room was spacious, spotless clean, everything new, with a glorious view of the marina. We were there for Fri&Sat, so we could witness two parties of high society of Genova for free. In fact, the one on friday belonged to the "Lady of Italy". They made some noise, but it was amusing, and it lasted only till 01:00 am or so. We watched them from our balcony for at least 2 hours while having our drinks and snacks as uninvited guests of the party. Check-out was as seamless, too. The hotel is right beside the airport, maybe less than a 100m, but there's no access path. You can watch the planes in and out from the hotel's terrace, but you have to take a ride of about 1.5km to reach the airport. If you have a rental car, it is baby ride. If not, take a taxi, or just wait for the bus I24 (or SI24) at the stop 100m away, that will take you to the departure level in 2min, but its not very frequent though, so check the timetables. Well, Genova itself was not that charming, I must admit. 3 levels of roads, one above, one below, and one at ground level along the coast, and a promenade where you can not actually see the sea, makes the city look really ugly and unappealing. And there are parking pirates almost everywhere. Do not get confused, the parking lots are in fact just like anywhere in Europe: there is no attendant. Anyone who pretends to be one, is trying to fool you, be sure. What does the police do then? Well, they even escape from the frame if you try to picture. All in all, the city is not worth visiting, but the hotel is wonderful if you happen to be there. That's why I think we did the right thing while choosing this hotel, because it did not differ from any city hotel from the aspect of travelling to Porto Fino, St.Margherita Ligure, etc. Wonderful places for an excursion. But be aware that they have very few rooms, so act well in advance for booking!

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to pay an extra for the rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CemKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    89
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
25
113
6
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Your room is literally overlooking the runway, so you are at the airport, but you're also at a lovely marina with beautiful views. It's a €20 taxi fare into the tourist area of Genova, but there are public transport options as well. Our modern room was huge - two stories with two double beds. The terrace was also huge. Very nice bathroom and walk in wardrobe. Breakfast was very basic, but fine. Free parking and wifi - always welcome.

Room Tip: Ask to face the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieve Ligure, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Marina Place Hotel with my family after a dinner of Magic at the adjoining restaurant. The dinner was fabulous with a micro-magician that came right to the table and brought complete astonishment to my 2 and 5 year old along with my husband and I. The food was incredible and the wait staff great.

We were then suggested to stay in a room abiding to a family having a lofted room where the children slept and a separate sleeping area below with an outside patio where we adults shared a bottle of wine overlooking the marina.
The room was quite warm, although it is sometimes hard to regulate with strange seasons, but the staff was very available and understanding even if opening the windows was the only ultimate solution. All in all, the children were happy looking down from 'their room' through the glass, and we found a good family solution for a pleasant stay in a modern, quiet and clean environment- although I wish it also offered the hamman as I have seen other rooms have.

As an American, the next morning proved even more special as the staff spoke English well, I had an American coffee, and met another American staying for an extended period while enjoying an intimate breakfast with my family of Italian focaccia, Nutella, and cheese and croissants. It wasn't a large buffet, but satisfying.
We completed our stay with a walk up and down the marina, finishing with a late morning Italian gelato we found in one of the shops along the 'boardwalk'.

I have recommended MPH to my friends and hope other families share the same magical experience we had.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the lofted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is near the Genoa airport and a good 15 mins drive to downtown Genoa. We booked a room facing the marina which was great. The rooms were modern and rain shower was awesome. Rates include parking and wifi but the wifi was very slow (hint to upgrade). We also had some cocktails at the restaurant which was fabulous (euro6 each). Overall, excellent value stay in Genoa.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel when staying a couple of days in Genova to visit old friends and the cruise around the region.
The hotel is nice, with modern and comfortable rooms. Generally service is good and staff is kind and caring. There is a nice lounge bar and restaurant which are good if you are here to relax.
What we liked a lot is the charming atmosphere given by the setting, next to the small marina behind the Genoa's airport. When you arrive you may in fact be disappointed since you need to go through the airport area which is not exactly fascinating. Don't give up and carry on. When you arrive to the place it will be ok.
Note: if you are with your car arriving is easy. If you arrive with flight you need to book their shuttle or take a taxi. The place is just next to the airport but you would have to walk all the way around the raceways for 20 mins.
Only one negative remark. We chose a room with steam bath. That is a great idea but it is not engineered well and you fill the bath with humidity and it is not ventilated properly.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Max64Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

What a great surprise, we ot there after 11 pm, just in time to have a pizza next door but we could see much in the hotel. After a night of very comfortable sleep what a great surprise the view from the balcony! Loved it so much that we decided to stay our last night as well. Very short ride to the airport and good little farinata place by the marina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkss2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

The staff (Loraina and Julie) spoke outstanding english were very courteoues and helpful in directions to places in town. It is a fantastic view of not only the mountains, but also of the harbor full of yachts tied up at the marina. Less than 1/2 mile from airport and a good area of restaurants to try different Italian food. Although the hotel was fantastic and the stay well worth the value, do not accept a high number room if staying over the weekend and you want to sleep at night. My only regret is I had a high number (20) room. The high number rooms are over the Marina Place Cafe and the music is extremly loud on Friday nights and goes into the wee hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Lower number rooms 1-9 are quieter at nights on the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 92 in Genoa
2,617 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Genova
#2 of 92 in Genoa
1,523 reviews
NH Genova Centro
#7 of 92 in Genoa
424 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarinaPlace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarinaPlace Resort

Property: MarinaPlace Resort
Address: Via Pionieri E Aviatori d'Italia 129, 16154, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MarinaPlace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your MarinaPlace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing