We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unkind personnel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fratelli La Bufala

Fratelli La Bufala
Ranked #728 of 1,985 Restaurants in Genoa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unkind personnel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The host was very rude: when I booked and during the service ..... however the pizzas were good (not excellent).. Very good the desserts!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    201
    132
    88
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Decent Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

2nd vist to this Italian pizza/pasta chain and just as good as first visit.. booked in advance and table waiting on us.Order taken within 5 mins and arrived about 15 mins later.My daughter expert on pizza and she demolished it.All pizza hand made in front of restaurant so no pre made bases etc.Meal for 3 wit nice bottle vino and soft drinks came to 44 euro which is unbeliveable in this day and age.Defo will return when back in Genoa.......ENJOY

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IRISHYIDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Scot
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pizza enjoyable, service quirky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Overall positive view on this pizza chain outlet. Pizza/pasta were both tasty and enjoyable and desserts definitely deserving plus marks. Decor was not too loud and on balance reasonable attempt to tackle the demands of hungry diners. We didn't encounter some of the issues raised by previous diners, but I felt service was not always forthcoming with a smile (zero out of ten in my book) and incredibly I was told originally that red wine was not available. What? You are having a laugh was my reaction. My overall impression verges on the favourable, given the nature of the food offering, but management needs to address some other issues.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chapmanbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pizza is very good, but a few strange things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very convenient location close to Stazione Brignole. Modern decor that didn't cut it for me. Pizza is neapolitan style, thus very close to hand-tossed rather than thin. Pizza and calzone were a bit pricey but very good notwithstanding this is an actual pizza chain. A few negatives though. The first pizza at our table arrived at least 20 minutes before the rest of us got our food. Thus one of us was basically done eating by the time the others got our food. Service is ok but not great. The comment from another reviewer relative to the waiter taking your plate when you're done (or close to being done!) eating is true, we experienced it, too. In addition, they overcharged us for wine and charged us for additional bottles of natural water that we never ordered. In conclusion, very good pizza but...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank js2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worse 20 minutes ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

After spending a good month in Genoa, visiting several good & less good places we were recommended Fratelli La Bufala by an Italian.
We were totally ignored, when we smiled at the waiter & tried to get his attention he kept on ignoring us. After 15 minutes he finally came over, took our order & our pizzas came like 5 minutes after, he did not ask if we wanted wine or perhaps some bread, all the other tables had bread. He cleared the plates while we were still chewing our last piece, it was all over in 20 minutes, thank god! I know you can have a bad day but this was pushing it. One of the few times I have left no tip. Pizzas? Yeah they were ok but I kind of forgot about those after being treated so badly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaCarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratelli La Bufala also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Fratelli La Bufala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing