We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Genovese oasis”
Review of Il Borgo di Genova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Borgo di Genova
Ranked #6 of 170 Genoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My wife and I liked this place so much that a short review doesn't do it justice. To make things easier for readers I'll just a short review followed by one with more details.

SHORT REVIEW:

Il Borgo di Genova is a little oasis of calm. It's a clean, comfortable, beautifully and lovingly restored home in a perfect location (within walking distance of old town Genova and the Brignole train station). Alessandra and Giovanni, our hosts, couldn't have been more welcoming, gracious and helpful. It was great being able to pick their brains at the breakfast table before taking off for adventures...and their custom-made sightseeing itineraries were just perfect. They have a knack for being there when you need them but giving you your space also.

THE LONG ONE:

My wife and I drove through Spain and France to get to Genova. We picked Il Borgo from a random website and our gamble paid off. After a bit of frustration with driving though Europe (we aren't the see-everything kind of people; we prefer a chill-out pace where we can dip into the nuances of a city), we landed at the B&B on a Monday night. We chatted with our hosts a bit (they speak English) then went off to explore Genova. Next morning we woke up to a hand-written set of possible itineraries. We didn't ask for them...they got to know us a little than wrote some options for us to follow. We did, and it was so worth it.

First advice from them was to put the car to rest and to take trains instead. So we did, to Camogli, this incredible small beach village (google it!). Per Alessandra and Giovanni's suggestion we were planning to take a ferry from Camogli to Portofino, then hike all the way to Santa Margherita, and from there take the train back "home." We ended up falling in love with Camogli so we just stayed the whole day. We had such a good time we decided to take our original 2-day plan and add a third. So the next day we just grooved all over Genova, checking out the sights, shopping, eating. The third day we did the Camogli, Portofino, Santa Margherita and it was a blast. Each day we'd pick our hosts' brains some more, and each day we got more juicy tips. So we decided to spend a 4th day there. Italy itself is hugely responsible for how much fun we had, but if it hadn't been for Alessandra and Giovanni making us feel so comfortable and giving us so much information we would have moved on.

Like I said before, the Genova Brignole train station is a 5-minute walk from Il Borgo. It's far enough so you don't hear it, yet close enough that you can get there quickly. Oh, and they have double-pane windows so inside the B&B it was always quiet and comfortable.

Would we come back? For sure.

Grazie, Alessandra and Giovanni!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joewilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 362 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

We were warmly welcomed at Il Borgo, and our room were nice and clean, although a bit small. The breakfast was a bit scarce for my husband, who likes to have a choice of bread (only some dry slices), but I'm happy as long as I get a nice cappucino and a yoghurt, which I got. The stairs are steep, but we were not allowed to carry our luggage an inch, so that was not a problem. Be aware that the "sottopassagio" to the right of the train station is closed due to renovation, so you will have to go to the left of the station, through the tunnel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We spent two nights here and were very happy. The location is so convenient for everything, the street is quiet so sleeping was easy, and the hosts were very helpful.
We would have like there to have been internet access available and the steep stairs would be a problem for those with mobility issues. However for us it was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I will always remember Genova because of this little and wonderful "house" where I could found a bed where to sleep and not only...the room was really really nice and CLEAN! every morning I woke up with my personalized breakfast in the kitchen, I felt like at home!!! of course if i will go another time to Genova I will stay there again!!! the owners are friendly and polite, jung people with open mind that enjoy the presence of their guests as a chance to grow and to improve their little treasure!!! grazie ragazzi!!! I hope to se you again soon...baci baci Eleonora
PS. meglio tardi che mai...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleonoraP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Location in the older part of town may not be to everyone's liking, but there is a total transformation once inside the B&B, with very modern decor and fixtures and fittings. Il Borgo di Genova is also only 5 minutes walk from Stazione Brignole, and 15 minutes walk from the Luigi Ferrari stadium, if watching football is your cup of tea. The room was small, but perfectly adequate, with excellent ensuite facilities. The continental breakfast was good quality and satisfactory in terms of quantity. Overall very good value for money, where Alessandra and Giovanni provide not only an excellent service, but they are also friendly and approachable, and will help to answer any questions whenever possible.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjaxHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed here while visiting Genoa. Their location is 3 minutes from Genoa's Brignole train station. This hotel is located on a very quiet street but Genoa's central areas are within a 10 minute walk. The people who ownand operate run this B&B worked very hard to accomodate what ever we needed. They are a young and very friendly couple and I would stay with them again if I return to Genoa. The rooms were exactly as described on their website and had a nice sparkling clean private bathroom with a shower. Their breakfast was very generous and the cappucino was great. It made our visit to Genoa a very nice memory.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1978alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Spent one night here with a friend during early-Sept. The B&B is new and in great condition, extremely clean. The hotel is right next to a trainstation (Brignole) and walkable distance to the 'downtown' area with great cafes and markets.

Alessandra was very helpful with giving us pointers to nice cafes and restaurants, with business cards, maps and brochures to help us find our way there. She also immediately provided a fan and hairdryer when we asked for it. I would definitely stay here again next time =D

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YukiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 91 in Genoa
682 reviews
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 91 in Genoa
873 reviews
Piccapietra
La Piazzetta Rooms
La Piazzetta Rooms
#10 of 170 in Genoa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sottoripa
B&B Dell'Acquario
B&B Dell'Acquario
#12 of 170 in Genoa
188 reviews
Ca' dei Fre'
#30 of 170 in Genoa
96 reviews
Castelletto
B & B Lercari
B & B Lercari
#14 of 170 in Genoa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo di Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo di Genova

Address: Via Borgo Degli Incrociati 7, 16137, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
il Borgo di Genova Rooms: all rooms with comfy bed and en suite bathroom in Genova city center. Conveniently located in the centre of Genova on a quiet, pedestrian-only street: Acquario of Genova, Palazzo Ducale, Via Garibaldi and Palazzi dei Rolli,Via San Lorenzo are an easy walk from us. A perfect home base for day trips along the Italian Riviera by train from Genova Brignole station to Cinque Terre, Camogli, Portofino, Santa Margherita Ligure, Arenzano, Nervi. Warmly decorated with thoughtful furnishings and details that will make you feel at home, each of our rooms is non-smoking and features: • private ensuite bathroom • free WiFi connection • refrigerator • coffee and tea facilities • LCD TV • ceiling fan or AIR CONDITIONING • private safe • shampoo and shower gel • hair-dryer (straightener on request) • very comfortable mattress with wooden slat support ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Borgo di Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing