We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stop gap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Genoa City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Genoa City
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A stop gap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We thought we would venture into Italy for a couple of days on our honeymoon- Genoa was the wrong place to go! The hotel was clean and spacious but the staff were quite unfriendly and very busy. We had to queue for breakfast and to use the laptops in the hotel lobby. The bar staff however were very friendly and helpful and snacks around 6pm with your drinks were a nice perk. The room was uninteresting and I wouldn't recommend it as a couples hotel- fine for business but not pleasure!

Room Tip: If you mention it's you honeymoon it makes no difference they don't upgrade you or do anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Georgina M,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I am glad that your found our hotel to be clean and spacious.

However, I am truly sorry if the level of service provided by our staff fell below your expectations. Our goal is to provide our guests with exceptional service and we deeply regret that we were not able to give this to you.

Rest assured your comments will be taken into consideration for future improvements. We do hope you will still consider staying with us should your travel plans bring you back to Genoa.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    587
    204
    44
    25
See reviews for
372
338
38
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseillan, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My iPhone was stolen from the room during the day. The upper management wanted us to pay for our stay. This is a disgrace. Three other people where stolen that day. Be very carefull when you stay there they don't seem to be too worried about that kind of event.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rovellotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Rovellotti,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is in the central area of Genova, just across ferry terminal. The parking is quite small and cost 12 eur/day. Good and clean accomodation, nice inner design, various buffet breakfast.

The connection between hotel and parking.
The internet cost is very, very expensive (5 eur/hour).
The hotel ask for 2 eur/pers city tax, but could not provide map of Genova.

Room Tip: ask for a room toward ferry terminal (south)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arhitectglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Client,
thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
for us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights pre-cruise and found this hotel alright, nothing special but nothing wrong with it either. I found the reception staff very helpful. Room was okay, tv had BBC english channel only (or that was all I could find). Breakfast was included and was fine, lots of choice. Coffee was a bit rank though!

I didn't mind the location. I wasn't really concerned by previous reviewers' low-brow description of the area as you should take precautions wherever you are, but in the end I didn't find the area as run down as described. It's a few minutes walk to the underground (my quite grand description for a train that only has a few stops), which takes you into town in a few minutes for a very reasonable price. You can walk into town within about 20 minutes, and it's all flat to get to the main port entrance so not a drama.

There is a shopping centre/ferry terminal across the road which also has a nice bar which serves cicchetti with your beer. We didn't eat in the hotel because there are plenty of nice places to eat within walking distance.

Taxi from the airport was 40 euros but think this was so expensive because it was a bank holiday.

We'd probably stay here again because the town is easy to get to, but far enough away that there's little noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear geosu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff as well as the room and the breakfast. We always strive to service our guests and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Not in a good location. Opposite to the ferry terminal. Good only if you have some business in that area. Not much choice of restaurants nearby. Unfortunately there was an accident in the port during the days I had stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear R G,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our location. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to this hotel with two other couples.Stayed for two nights, on the second night they changed our rooms for no apparent reason. Our other friends got put in a handicap room. The staff is not polite, not helpful. This hotel is full which makes me wonder why!!! Location is in a terrible neighbourhood,not in the centre and the car parking space is awful located in another area. Only positive thing is that the rooms are ok as well as the bed. Not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryellenNas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear MaryellenNas,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the overall issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience you may have experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Holiday Inn Genoa City is a modern hotel just outside the old city and directly across from the Ferry Terminal at the main port. Although it's easy enough to have the front desk call a taxi to take you to the old city (start at Piazza Ferrari and work your way outward in a spiral), it's also enjoyable to walk to the old city along the curving sidewalk in front of the hotel for 15 minutes (or less depending on your pace), with a stop along the way at the old Palazzo Ducale (the old palace of Andrea Doria and its interesting gardens and museum. So although the location is not perfect, it's good enough.

The rooms are modern and well appointed. There were extra towels, lots of shower gels, shampoo, extra pillows, a well lit bathroom mirror, and (most important) very comfortable mattresses. All the rooms have double-glazed, tinted, well sealed window units. Only the tiniest amount of outside city sounds penetrate, so the rooms are quiet and the sun won't blind you in the morning.

The restaurant can be somewhat busy in the evening, so make a reservation. The breakfast is a buffet style affair with a large selection of good quality food. Get to breakfast early, because if the hotel has a relatively full house, the middle period 8AM-9AM can be so crowded that you end up sharing a table with strangers. I don't mind that at all, but some travel mates end up being separated.

Staff during our stay were courteous, efficient, well informed and have a direct line to the taxi services. We never waited more than a two minutes (!?) for a taxi. We spent two nights in Genoa and had to leave absurdly early to catch a 5:30 AM train to Milan. Wake up calls were exactly on time and the front desk had a taxi waiting to take us to Genoa Principe in good order. A good stay in a terrific, old city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agitater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Client,
thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
for us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Genoa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Genoa City

Property: Holiday Inn Genoa City
Address: Via Milano 47, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#12 Family Hotel in Genoa
#15 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Genoa City 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Genoa City is the ideal choice if you re looking for a hotel in Genoa. Don t miss the chance to stay at this new designer hotel that opened in early 2009, and just a few steps away from Europe s largest city centre and the city s main attractions: the Genoa Aquarium, Via Garibaldi, the Palazzo Ducale and the Carlo Felice Theatre are only a few minutes away, and the ferry and cruise terminals are next to the hotel itself. We re easy to reach: the Ge-Ovest motorway exit is just 300 m. away, the P. Principe station less than 1 km away, and the Cristoforo Colombo Int. Airport is 6 km away. The Cotone Conference Centre and Genoa Trade Fair Centre can also be rapidly reached. Fully noise-proofed rooms, Wi-Fi Internet, flat screen TV, Sky channels, garage with direct access, bar and mini-gym. The Newport Restaurant offers Genoese and international specialities, and is a splendid bonus for our guests, welcomed every morning by our generous buffet breakfasts. For meetings and all other events, the Holiday Inn Genoa City offers 5 multipurpose rooms seating up to 200 persons. Our strongest point however is our highly professional staff, who will make you want to return to us as soon as possible. Elegant design, friendly hospitality, professional service and the finest quality for the price: all this is the Holiday Inn Genoa City, more than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Genoa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Genoa City Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing