We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent venue, but could be better if they respect the brand policy toward their frequent travellers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Genoa City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Genoa City
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An excellent venue, but could be better if they respect the brand policy toward their frequent travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there a single night, using my points. But despite my Platinum number appearing in my registration, we were not given any upgrade, that is a first in any ICHotel Group. Hotel seems freshly refurbished, romms are quiet, beds excellent, bathroom nice, albeit small (I believe in any other room it ll be bigger). Hotel has a parking on a the ground, that was free of charge.

Location is quite good, 200 M walking from a metro station, makes the trip to the center and the old town very easy. Otherwise its a 25 mns walk from the old port. Service was overall good, and rooms very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you in advance for your review on this website.
We would really appreciate if you could give us more information about your membership to Priority Club programme, as it is a must for us to recognize every member’s status at check in time as well as during the guest stay. We are surprised that in this case, as a platinum member you do not seem to be given any room-upgrade, which hardly happens, unless the hotel executive-room availability in a particular day is limited by high occupancy. In that case we try to offer the member other extra benefits, such as free of charge parking (that is usually chargeable), as maybe it was done in your case. But with a few information as we have now, we can only guess how it was.
So please give us more details about your experience as it is very important for us to understand what happened when you checked in. We usually are very very careful in rewarding PC members as frequent travelers of our hotels group.
We thank you also for your honest review about the other features of your stay in our hotel, although your room might not have been the one you expected.

Looking for your reply,

Happy New Year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    587
    204
    44
    25
See reviews for
372
338
38
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we arrived to the hotel we realized that our triple room was in fact a tiny double with a crammed third bed inside and as if that wasn't enough we were given a room for handicaps and therefore it was nearly impossible to move in the shower and the toilet in general as special facilities where fitted making our staying in that room impossible. After we made our complaints they insisted that they couldn't help us as there was no room availably however magically after we shouted a room appeared and at least we were given a second single room for compensation. After all this anger though how could we enjoy our stay.furthermore the location was dissapointing as it was in a poor unsafe neighborhood.

Room Tip: Just don't choose at all the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmo252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear cosmo252,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. It’s good to know that the hotel had compensated you for the inconvenience. I apologize for falling short of your expectations and for the unsatisfactory service you received. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during our trip to Genoa. We were given a 'Ladies' room (what they call a room with a gym bicycle in the room and face cream, lotion etc. little pleasant things in the bathroom) facing a street/port which we were happy about as the room came in a great size, very modern and clean. Actually we were quite surprised as the hotel itself is situated not in the very centre of Genoa and in a late evenings it may be a bit scary to walk around. I also have to mention that a hotel from outside looks dated and I already got a bit worried about our stay. All that disappeared after seeing our room..... I can say only the best words about the room's quality and appeal.
Other people write here about prostitutes and a noise etc. We did not see any of that. Our stay was really comfortable. Why we are not giving this hotel 5* rating is because of the breakfast and that they did not have a converter to charge a mobile phone. Its a 4* hotel but we were shocked when the Receptionist told us they do not have any converters to charge our mobile phones. I imagine we are not the only guests from UK and something like this is simply unacceptable. Other thing - breakfast. We had a breakfast in every morning and quality of the food seemed fine but the service... God! Again, I want to remind this is 4* hotel.. I do not know is it normal in Italy but to scrap food leftovers in a bucket exactly next to people who still are or trying to enjoy their breakfast?! It happened every morning. They do not take plates away and then clean a table. That thing about scraping leftovers in front of your eyes made me feel, lets say, not hungry. This is why we can not give this hotel 5*.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you first of all for your review,

We are pleased to know that you liked the “Ladies” room, a new room type equipped with beauty accessories for women.
Defining the hotel as far from or close to the centre is not that simple in a big city with a big old town like Genova. What we can state for sure is that we are effectively connected to the city centre through metro and buses which allow you to be there in 10 minutes.
As for the outside look of our hotel, we thank you for giving us the chance to explain that Holiday Inn Genoa city has been rebuilt from an old historical building and keeps on purpose the features of its original structure, but as you wrote yourself, everything is modern inside. By the way, we do have of course adaptors that our guest can borrow, but we are sure you agree that it might happen in high occupancy days to have none of them left (as I can see from your review you stayed here in September, when we usually have a lot of visitors).
We are really sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast in the restaurant and informed about this in the relevant staff. Sometimes, - especially in high occupancy days - it may seem they speed up everything, but just to offer the quickest and effective service to a high number of guest waiting for their breakfast. We are sure you would notice they do everything properly when they have more time available.
May we take one more time this chance to thank you for your useful suggestions, which let us improve our service.
We wish you to come back and have a better impression in your next trip,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We checked in late after a train ride from Pisa. It was a 5 min cab ride from rain station. Rooms were very clean and the food room service ordered late night was fast and tasty. We checked out the next day late before boarding the royal Caribbean ship. We took the 3 min cab ride there for convenience. It was easy.

Room Tip: We booked online expedia for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHWHJetSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and found the restaurant service as well as the location satisfying . We remind you that next time you can book directly calling or mailing our hotel, our staff will be glad to offer you the best rates and to give you the best suggestions to arrange your stay in Genova.
Thank you for the time you spent sharing your feedback on this website,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst driving round Italy, The hotel is located on the side of the main road into Genoa, with the port on the adjacent side of the road, the hotel has free secure parking but it is a bit of a maze to get, but nothing challenging for anybody with driving experience in Europe. A lot of reviews had mentioned the area was a bit rough, yes not a affluent area but certainly not unsafe.

The staff were friendly and helpful, got us taxi's when required and did what was asked, the usual Holiday Inn standard, we were given a top floor room with a view of the Med. The view was mostly filled with Ferries, but it was still a very good view of the Med and the city of Genoa.

The Hotel and room is clean and modern, with black and white colors decorating most of the public rooms and ours. The hotel curtains do a good job of blacking out the Med sun and the comfy bed meant we slept well. Our room had SKY Italia on which meant you had an abundance of multi language channels, which is a change from most Italian hotels.

The hotel is about 10 mins from the centre and although there is plenty of cheap public transport close by, we uses taxi's which were about €12 each way. The Hotel does have a restaurant, which we didn't eat in and a bar, but you don't know it was a bar as it has no signage, beer taps of spirit optics on the wall, just a bar, fridges and chair.

Overall this hotel is what you expect of a Holiday Inn, clean, modern, friendly professional staff. its location makes it good for drivers having a stop over and its close enough to the main centre . I think that a 2 night stay would as long as you would want.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaping_Deere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, especially because it shows our compliance with our brand policy.
Thank you also for describing on this website our wide tv-programme choice for international guests and our parking facilities - in Genova it’s not taken for granted to find a parking lot close to your place. We are glad you wrote about how easy it is to take public transport from our hotel. We have been working on the bar design too, trying to make it more friendly and eye-catching.
Thank you for your precious suggestions and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Needed to cut our 11 hours travel from Rome to St. Etienne, France. I chose this hotel coz it was near the highway so I thought it was an ideal location, my fault for not reading enough of the reviews here in tripadvisor.
We arrived late in the night and the first thing I noticed were the prostitutes around the hotel! As soon as I entered the hotel, the odor added to my disappointment. When I entered our room, the odor was even more horrible! It smelled of cigarette! To make matters worse, my daughter vomitted while trying to sleep! To her it's the effect of odors she can't stand. We called for housekeeping but the hotel unfortunately doesn't have 24hrs housekeeping service! No offer to change rooms either, and we didn't bother to ask because it was very late anyway. We used the comforter as bed sheet so we slept without cover, and it was still quite cold even after closing the AC. It's an understatement to say that we didn't sleep well and didn't have a pleasant stay in this hotel.
If I ever need to spend a night again in Genoa, i wouldn't bother with this hotel even if it's just for a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank -rm1812-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, which is very important for us to improve our service.
We are sorry about the feeling you had about our location, but we grant you that our hotel area has been improved very much thanks to stronger control by local authorities in the latest months. It is not dangerous or unsafe to walk around the hotel in any way. We also remind you that we have smoking as well as non smoking rooms, and we are ready to change the room type if required even late in the night, our staff is working all night long and we wish we had helped you if only we had known about your problem.
Looking forward to another chance to have you as our guest,
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Typical American Clean hotel with all the normal amenities.
Located on the docks,miles from the historical part of town. Don't use your car anywhere in Genoa you simply cannot park. No exaggeration it took us over an hour to find a space
You need to use the train from the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the city,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Genoa is certainly a big city, but our hotel is just 20-25 minutes walking far from the old town, only 10 minutes by metro. Our staff is always ready to give guests city maps showing how to move quickly in this city and suggesting to park in our garage and to use public transport. We grant this makes your stay in Genova more relaxing.
Looking forward to seeing you soon again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Genoa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Genoa City

Property: Holiday Inn Genoa City
Address: Via Milano 47, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#12 Family Hotel in Genoa
#15 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Genoa City 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Genoa City is the ideal choice if you re looking for a hotel in Genoa. Don t miss the chance to stay at this new designer hotel that opened in early 2009, and just a few steps away from Europe s largest city centre and the city s main attractions: the Genoa Aquarium, Via Garibaldi, the Palazzo Ducale and the Carlo Felice Theatre are only a few minutes away, and the ferry and cruise terminals are next to the hotel itself. We re easy to reach: the Ge-Ovest motorway exit is just 300 m. away, the P. Principe station less than 1 km away, and the Cristoforo Colombo Int. Airport is 6 km away. The Cotone Conference Centre and Genoa Trade Fair Centre can also be rapidly reached. Fully noise-proofed rooms, Wi-Fi Internet, flat screen TV, Sky channels, garage with direct access, bar and mini-gym. The Newport Restaurant offers Genoese and international specialities, and is a splendid bonus for our guests, welcomed every morning by our generous buffet breakfasts. For meetings and all other events, the Holiday Inn Genoa City offers 5 multipurpose rooms seating up to 200 persons. Our strongest point however is our highly professional staff, who will make you want to return to us as soon as possible. Elegant design, friendly hospitality, professional service and the finest quality for the price: all this is the Holiday Inn Genoa City, more than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Genoa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Genoa City Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing