We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean ad close to cruise ship and train terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Genoa City
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We checked in late after a train ride from Pisa. It was a 5 min cab ride from rain station. Rooms were very clean and the food room service ordered late night was fast and tasty. We checked out the next day late before boarding the royal Caribbean ship. We took the 3 min cab ride there for convenience. It was easy.

Room Tip: We booked online expedia for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHWHJetSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and found the restaurant service as well as the location satisfying . We remind you that next time you can book directly calling or mailing our hotel, our staff will be glad to offer you the best rates and to give you the best suggestions to arrange your stay in Genova.
Thank you for the time you spent sharing your feedback on this website,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst driving round Italy, The hotel is located on the side of the main road into Genoa, with the port on the adjacent side of the road, the hotel has free secure parking but it is a bit of a maze to get, but nothing challenging for anybody with driving experience in Europe. A lot of reviews had mentioned the area was a bit rough, yes not a affluent area but certainly not unsafe.

The staff were friendly and helpful, got us taxi's when required and did what was asked, the usual Holiday Inn standard, we were given a top floor room with a view of the Med. The view was mostly filled with Ferries, but it was still a very good view of the Med and the city of Genoa.

The Hotel and room is clean and modern, with black and white colors decorating most of the public rooms and ours. The hotel curtains do a good job of blacking out the Med sun and the comfy bed meant we slept well. Our room had SKY Italia on which meant you had an abundance of multi language channels, which is a change from most Italian hotels.

The hotel is about 10 mins from the centre and although there is plenty of cheap public transport close by, we uses taxi's which were about €12 each way. The Hotel does have a restaurant, which we didn't eat in and a bar, but you don't know it was a bar as it has no signage, beer taps of spirit optics on the wall, just a bar, fridges and chair.

Overall this hotel is what you expect of a Holiday Inn, clean, modern, friendly professional staff. its location makes it good for drivers having a stop over and its close enough to the main centre . I think that a 2 night stay would as long as you would want.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leaping_Deere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, especially because it shows our compliance with our brand policy.
Thank you also for describing on this website our wide tv-programme choice for international guests and our parking facilities - in Genova it’s not taken for granted to find a parking lot close to your place. We are glad you wrote about how easy it is to take public transport from our hotel. We have been working on the bar design too, trying to make it more friendly and eye-catching.
Thank you for your precious suggestions and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Needed to cut our 11 hours travel from Rome to St. Etienne, France. I chose this hotel coz it was near the highway so I thought it was an ideal location, my fault for not reading enough of the reviews here in tripadvisor.
We arrived late in the night and the first thing I noticed were the prostitutes around the hotel! As soon as I entered the hotel, the odor added to my disappointment. When I entered our room, the odor was even more horrible! It smelled of cigarette! To make matters worse, my daughter vomitted while trying to sleep! To her it's the effect of odors she can't stand. We called for housekeeping but the hotel unfortunately doesn't have 24hrs housekeeping service! No offer to change rooms either, and we didn't bother to ask because it was very late anyway. We used the comforter as bed sheet so we slept without cover, and it was still quite cold even after closing the AC. It's an understatement to say that we didn't sleep well and didn't have a pleasant stay in this hotel.
If I ever need to spend a night again in Genoa, i wouldn't bother with this hotel even if it's just for a night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -rm1812-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, which is very important for us to improve our service.
We are sorry about the feeling you had about our location, but we grant you that our hotel area has been improved very much thanks to stronger control by local authorities in the latest months. It is not dangerous or unsafe to walk around the hotel in any way. We also remind you that we have smoking as well as non smoking rooms, and we are ready to change the room type if required even late in the night, our staff is working all night long and we wish we had helped you if only we had known about your problem.
Looking forward to another chance to have you as our guest,
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Typical American Clean hotel with all the normal amenities.
Located on the docks,miles from the historical part of town. Don't use your car anywhere in Genoa you simply cannot park. No exaggeration it took us over an hour to find a space
You need to use the train from the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the city,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lvbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Genoa is certainly a big city, but our hotel is just 20-25 minutes walking far from the old town, only 10 minutes by metro. Our staff is always ready to give guests city maps showing how to move quickly in this city and suggesting to park in our garage and to use public transport. We grant this makes your stay in Genova more relaxing.
Looking forward to seeing you soon again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Holiday Inn has 2 wings, one is the Hotel, and adjoining is the Business Residence (Service Apartments), with facilities exactly same I was here in Holiday inn for around 20-25 days.

I had stayed in the Business Residence for around 25 days, and it was an apt stay.

Its just a full-fledged hotel room/apartment, with a drawing room, and well-furnished kitchen.

Services are pretty much similar to the hotel, as both are just joined buildings with common entrance and common facilities.

Location is really nice, one way towards Aquario de genoa, and just in the fron is Terminal Traghetti & Port Antico.

Great place to stay in.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the side facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitanshu_khatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your review on our new area for long stays.
It is a really new and effective way to provide accommodation to guests relocated abroad for work- related reasons. This new service target is represented by people having to stay for a long time far from home. We give them all the standards of Holiday Inn rooms without giving up the feeling of living in modern, large and comfortable flat.
Thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days when my friend was getting married locally. Nice place and service, location isn't good - a 20 minute walk to the centre. Doesn't bother me massively and it's 5 minutes from the nearest metro station. No free wireless Internet was disappointing as was the price to get it. From memory around €5/day. Breakfast at €14 (again from memory) was also a bit steep.

P

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your detailed feedback and for sharing it on this website.
We are glad you enjoyed our quiet rooms and we are glad to inform you as well as other visitors of this website, that wi-fi service has been lately improved and it is possible to save up a considerable amount of money if you choose breakfast including rates when reserving.
Thank you for your helpful tips and we wish you to have a new chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed there for a few nights recently and found the hotel quite nice.
In a bustling Italian city, it is not easy finding a place to stay that has quiet rooms, but this hotel did deliver - although I must say that I had my doubts on arrival as this establishment sits directly at not one, but two!! major thoroughfares, an ambulance depot, a large supermarket and a ferry port.
The secret is in their really good soundproof windows, which render the roar into a quiet hum once closed.
Outside the room, thick carpet sucks up step noises so that inside, a good night's sleep can come around without hindrance.
Also, cleanliness was not issue, both room and bathroom were spotless as far as I could see.
Why no modern hotel manages to build a shower stall that does not flood the entire bathroom is quite another thing, and this one is no exception.
The very modern interior design may not be everyone's cup of tea, I didn't mind much except for the vertical black-and-white stripes theme of the wall surrounding he TV. Hence watching TV gave me a strange visual effect once I looked away. Other issues were minor.
The breakfast isn't much, although for Italy it is okay. Don't expect too much and don't pay extra for breakfast if it isn't included in the room rate. Remember that Panini and Tramezzini (Rolls and Sandwiches) are available at every Café-Bar in Italy and there are several bars right beside the hotel so there is no reason to go for overpriced stale toast and generic cheese and ham. WiFi is available but as usual in four or five star hotels breathtakingly priced.
The hotel is situated a twenty minute walk away from the old town, but a metro station is only a hundred metres away and a ride costs a paltry EUR 1.50 . So it still is a good starting point from which to explore Genoa. I would, and probably will, stay there again, particularly because of the quiet and clean rooms.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your detailed feedback and for sharing it on this website.
As for our location, as other reviewers have also mentioned, it is a compromise between our business travelers’ needs and our tourists expectations, as it allows to reach in a short time both the city centre and the main business areas. We always suggest our guests to use public transport to move throughout Genova busy streets; metro and bus stops are very close to our hotel. We are also glad to inform you as well as other visitors of this website, that wi-fi service has been lately improved and it is possible to save up a considerable amount of money if you choose breakfast including rates when reserving.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Novotel Genova City
#33 of 90 in Genoa
2,278 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
2,864 reviews
Starhotels President
#24 of 90 in Genoa
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Genoa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Genoa City

Address: Via Milano 47, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#15 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $91 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Genoa City 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Genoa City is the ideal choice if you re looking for a hotel in Genoa. Don t miss the chance to stay at this new designer hotel that opened in early 2009, and just a few steps away from Europe s largest city centre and the city s main attractions: the Genoa Aquarium, Via Garibaldi, the Palazzo Ducale and the Carlo Felice Theatre are only a few minutes away, and the ferry and cruise terminals are next to the hotel itself. We re easy to reach: the Ge-Ovest motorway exit is just 300 m. away, the P. Principe station less than 1 km away, and the Cristoforo Colombo Int. Airport is 6 km away. The Cotone Conference Centre and Genoa Trade Fair Centre can also be rapidly reached. Fully noise-proofed rooms, Wi-Fi Internet, flat screen TV, Sky channels, garage with direct access, bar and mini-gym. The Newport Restaurant offers Genoese and international specialities, and is a splendid bonus for our guests, welcomed every morning by our generous buffet breakfasts. For meetings and all other events, the Holiday Inn Genoa City offers 5 multipurpose rooms seating up to 200 persons. Our strongest point however is our highly professional staff, who will make you want to return to us as soon as possible. Elegant design, friendly hospitality, professional service and the finest quality for the price: all this is the Holiday Inn Genoa City, more than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Genoa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Genoa City Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing