We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling excuse for a Hotel! Never Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #69 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling excuse for a Hotel! Never Again!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We don't normally write reviews but we felt this time we had to, to expose this god-awful expierence in this appalling hotel.We arrived in Bel Soggiorno on a Friday night and was greeted by an old man. We booked a quad room with breakfast and was to say the least, overly dissapointed. Upon checking in, the receptionist brought us to our room and we were greeted by a dank, un-clean, noisy hovel. Immediatly the un-cleanliness and noise of the room stood out. The peeling wallpaper, tatered curtains along with the cracked tiled floor that was filled in with some sort of cheap mould gave us little reason to stay but since it was only for one night we said we would stick the stay out, (we should have taken our chance to leave while we still could).The beds were un-comfortable, un-clean and it looked like under the bed had not been cleaned since the hotel had last been decorated, the decor being old 1980's cheap.The location of the hotel was handy for a day trip to Genoa. The hotel is located on a busy road in Genoa and I for one as well as my friends could not get an ounce of sleep in the place with big trucks, scooters and other sorts wizzing by without stop. The odd carhorn blowing between 9pm and 6am did give us a little entertainment though. The air-conditioner is a huge lump in the corner of the room and there is a pipe connecting it through the window which is left open to work. When turning the air-condittioner on it sounded like several different planes trying to take off at once and continued on into the night again enhancing the noise. The en-suite bathroom was also un-acceptable being smaller than the length of my arm. There was grit on every nook and cranny and when we wanted a well needed shower after the unrestful nights sleep, it didn't surprise us that the shower didn't work. When we finally got up at 9;30am for our breakfast we walked into the reception and were told that breakfast stops serving at 9am. We were never told this and extremely annoyed at this with it we checked out with our many complaints as soon as possible. The price of the hotel was also over-priced being well over most hotels in the Genoa Centre. Overall, Bel Soggiorno is an appalling hotel that doesn't deserve 0 stars let alone 2. I suggest it to you if you want no sleep, an un-comfortable room and overall an un-enjoyable experience to stay in this hovel. Do yourself a favour and don't book this astrosity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
19
22
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The best thing about this hotel apart from its location is the owner. He is extremely kind and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel itself has seen better days. It has an aura of faded elegance but is in need of redecoration and up-dating. Breakfast is average.
OK for a brief sight-seeing visit or short business trip not for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnTipodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Very well situated hotel in the center of Genova, we stayed in a 4 adults room and the room was big enough except for the bathroom which was very small. There is a near parking for which the hotel provide reduction price (12 € / 24 h).

It's a 2-star hotel but if I had to classify the hotel for the attention we received, I will say: 5-stars!!!
The man who treat us was extremely nice, I've travelled a lot and I can assure I've never received such a nicely treatment as the one we got there.

I recommend the hotel if you want to visit Genova during the day and you're looking for a well-located hotel to just sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in July. It is one of the older hotels in Genoa, and could have been a pallazzo in times gone by, as the floors are really old mosaics as some of the footpaths in the area are.
It is family run by a charming italian gentleman Sergio and his wife. Sergio has excellant english and could have not been more helpful.
When we arrived he suggested that we leave our luggage and inspect the two rooms he had available.
One was towards the front of the hotel and had small bathroom, but seemed newer and the other was further back in the hotel but was a huge room with a double bed, a single bed, a fridge, a safe, TV and 2 chairs and a small table beside the window to sit and have a drink etc. We chose the larger room and while the paint is peeling off the walls in places the room was so comfortable, large and homely.
There is a lift to get to the hotel and the security is good and in the evenings you need to be bussed into the building and then the hotel reception.
The breakfast was average for Italy, croisants, jam and yogurt. The orange juice arrived after your coffee (lovely fresh coffee from an expresso machine), and the orange juice seemed to be freshly squeezed, or a very good brand of juice instead of cordial as served in some places.
The location is excellant on the main shopping street and a 5 min walk from all the main shops. It is about a 15 min walk to Brignole train station to catch trains for day trips.
It takes about 15 mins to walk to the historical area and the port. All in all so convenient for everything.
Sergio was so helpful and suggested resturants for us for dinner, and even rang to check they were open (lots closed in August) and make reservations for us.
There is internet available it isnt free but 2 euro for an hour I think that was fine.
At the price of 75 euro including breakfast where as everything starts at around 120euro or more in Genoa it is a gem.
When we left Sergio helped us down to the cab and personally wished us well and saw us off. A nice touch.
This is a very clean, comfortable, homely, hotel with airconditioning in the centre of Genoa.
The only negative we had was that the towels were old and a bit stiff, but a couple of days we had more fluffy ones.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We found this hotel ( 2 nights) in our travel book and it was in a perfect location. It was very hot when we arrived and they promised air conditioned room and they didn't disappoint. The only issue we had was the very light breakfast. We had been travelling throughout Europe getting room and breakfast but this was by far the lightest breakfast. Seeing as we were spending most of our days walking visiting the sites, starting the day with a solid breakfast was a must. Overall though, the owner (a very nice italian man) and his wife (a very nice german woman) made the stay very enjoyable. Underground parking was available across the street for a reasonable price and was very secure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Ricci
#40 of 92 in Genoa
98 reviews
Barone
#65 of 92 in Genoa
31 reviews
Hotel Genova Liberty
#27 of 92 in Genoa
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soana City Rooms
#44 of 92 in Genoa
197 reviews
Olympia Hotel Genova
#4 of 92 in Genoa
638 reviews
Foce
Hotel Boccascena
Hotel Boccascena
#24 of 92 in Genoa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Property: Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Address: Via Venti Settembre 19, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bel Soggiorno 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bel Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing