We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nuovo Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights only, but we appreciated its superb location - it takes just 3 minutes to get there from the train station. There are quite a few places to eat and buy food.
However, the street is extremely noisy and there was funny smell in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatyasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    200
    70
    17
    12
See reviews for
94
204
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose to stay at Nuovo Nord because of its proximity to the Principe Station, the price, and the inclusion of breakfast. It was easy to find and a 2 minute walk to Genoa's main station, as well as being in easy walking distance of the port and Via Garibaldi and the cathedral.
A friendly man welcomed us and advised us to unload cases outside the hotel, and proceed to park the car at Columbia parking around the corner which would cost 19€ a day. We hadn't done any research of parking in the area but thought this was a little steep. Nonetheless, we drove the car the 200m around the corner as instructed. However we were then told the charge would be 21€ due to the length of our car (a Skoda Superb). Columbia parking is a single storey carpark where you leave your keys and as many cars as possible are crammed in. That said, the people seemed friendly enough and we were given a docket confirming car details and address (on collecting the car there were no problems, car was readily available, and an inspection showed there to be no dammage. In unloading at the hotel, the man helped us carry our cases up since there's no lift.
In terms of the room, it was an interesting 3-storey layout with bathroom & hallway on the groundfloor, living area/second bedroom (sofa bed) on the mezzanine, and the main bedroom on the top floor. Place was clean and furnishings were modern, but there were 3 slight negatives. 1) the small windows and therefore lack of natural light; 2) WiFi was temperamental especially on the mezzanine, although we got by; 3) shower was scolding hot and took about 20 minutes to get down to a bearable temperature, and fixed head made washing a bit difficult as none of our party are acrobats!
Breakfast was fine, it had a small selection of 3 meats, 1 cheese, yoghurts, a couple of cereals, cakes, a very good coffee machine, however there was no fruit.
During our stay we encountered 3 different members of staff and all spoke sufficient English, were very friendly and helpful.
If we were back in Genoa we would stay there again, although we'd do some research beforehand regarding alternative parking options.

Room Tip: If you've got lots of luggage, make sure you're on the 1st floor, as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ıstanbul
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

this hotel is located very nearby to the main statıon. you can reach the old city by 20 minutes walk.
the room is located on the front side on the street and it is difficult to have a good sleep. you must ask for room on the other side. smoking free hotel. there is nobody to help you for the luggages.
they give a two keys one for the front door because the reception people leaves at 11 pm. so you are on your own all night long. they have a car parking nearby cost of 21 euro per day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nur b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel is in a good location near to the old market. The stuff is really helpful and nice. The rooms are not that fancy but simple decorated. I have no complain about this hotel in general the only bad thing is that at night the whole area seemed a bit dangerous and thats all I didn't like.

Room Tip: Private Parking costs around 20€ and parking outside you will get a fine by the police.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for the train station, only a 2 minute walk. We spent 1 night here as a stop over, was convenient, but so noisy from the street outside. The walls are paper thin, and the noise from the street kept us up all night. Staff were very friendly, and the hotel interior is quite modern and nice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jesssicamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

It's a smaller place but very warm and friendly. The hotel catered well for the whole family. I need to commend the way the way the staff went over and above to help us. I needed to track down a laptop cable as a matter of urgency and they were very helpful in this regard. We also needed to leave our bags the reception before heading off on a cruise and once again they were very accommodating. Two main reasons I come back is the warmth and friendliness of the staff and the close proximity to the station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuovo Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuovo Nord

Property: Hotel Nuovo Nord
Address: Via Balbi 155/r, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nuovo Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the historical centre of Genoa, the street was built in 1655 by the Balbi family. The Acquarium, Royal Palace, the Cotton Warehouses, the Expo, the museums of Via Garibaldi, Ducal Palace and all the main monuments are within walking distanceand. Completely restored, the Hotel has 19 rooms with private bathroom, hair dryer, flat screen TV, minibar, safety box, A/C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nuovo Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing