We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very noisy location”
Review of Hotel Nuovo Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is near the station on a very busy street. The premises have been modernised but this did not include double glazing although it may not have been very effective. The noise from the street ( trucks, busues ,trams motorbikes and from midnight to near dawn loud drunks shouiting and arguing) was a problem. There is no fridge, tea or coffee facility in the room and no lift. The shower was too small and required a bit of effort to use.

I would never stay here again because of the noise - we found it difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: If possible get one away from the street - if they have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterunderhill34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 486 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

Shower was small and flooded our bathroom. Breakfast was very poor for what the charge (7 euros). Very difficult to stop in front of the hotel to take our luggage. The hotel does not have parking and it's charged 20 euros/day. We parked on the street and didn't get charged as they said we would. Room was clean. The double bed is, actually two beds. Terrible to sleep in couple.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronicafuturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My schedule for late October shows a weekend trip to Genoa. Arriving by plane in the evening, decided for the airport express bus with a stop at the main train station and this hotel looks well located a couple of meters down the road only in direction harbour and city center.
Well, not that easy to lcoate the hotel with a good number of other properties around, but anyway fixed it. You need to ring the bell at the entrance what looks like a good idea with a couple of usual train station subjects around in the evening.
No time to wait during check-in, my room a bit on the small side at the first floor facing the street. Somewhat noisy, sure, but anyway a good sleep for me.
Also the bathroom not that large, no bathtub but ok in the end. The usual situation when they renovate on old building and fit in as much modern stuff as possible.
Be aware for some strange subjects while walking at night down to the harbour around the small old town roads or better pedestrian ways. Nothing happend in the end and I was back with a good number of really nice nightly pictures around Genoa´s ancient buildings.
Skipped breakfast the next morning with an late morning departure.
The fare really ok 70.00 Euro´s, no free wifi here, 2.00 Euro´s per hour.
A recommendable place to stay in Genoa´s old town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Be aware that it in the University area- okay for a night. My room was fine (unseasonably warm October) and I slept with the window open but one of my colleagues said he felt like that the hotel was piping heat into his room- despite him opening the window the room was very hot and very stuffy. Breakfast below par. Clean and relatively cheap (at 87 Euro including subar cold breakfast). Price is all that recommends this place.

Room Tip: Not sure how one avoids the hot and stuffy rooms that my colleagues had (and are reported in TA). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Hotel is great, but not located in a very nice area, although very close to a major train station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanParys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here on Easter Sunday during our road trip through Northern Italy in April.

It was fine, no major issues with it. The receptionist was nice and helpful. Our car was taken to a garage offsite by a random guy. My boyfriend was slightly reluctant about this but we had to go with it and it was fine.

The room was better than I expected - nothing amazing but it was clean, the bed was comfy, space was fine and the bathroom was all in good working order. Double glazing was much appreciated and we got a decent night's sleep.

Breakfast was a bit of a funny affair. We paid our 5 Euro as it was Easter Monday and we weren't sure if much was going to be open, plus we wanted to get on the road. Everything was in packet form though, even the pastries. We didn't experience this again throughout the rest of our trip so I'm not sure if it's common in hotels of this price. I reckon you could go out and find something fresher and better, plus the breakfast room is pretty cramped with furniture.

The public parts of the hotel, e.g. reception, breakfast room, have been done out in a modern, Ikea boutique style. It's quite a sprawling building with a narrow entrance so look out for the hotel sign on the street as you may miss the door.

The location was great, very central. Near the train station if you need it but also down the road from the port and the various sights and bars/restaurants in the older part of town.

I'd probably stay here again (without paying for the brekkie) but think they could knock 5-10 Euro off the price per night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aligs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnuovonord, Direttore generale at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. As you probably know the breakfast romm, dates back to 800, has been completely renovated and is characterized by high ceilings with original hand-made ancient stucco, floors with typical Genoese grit and slate with geometrical and floeral decorations and the renovation was finished few weeks before your arrival.
Already from May we are now serving a continental breakfast with coffee, milk, tea, fresh croissant, biscuits, rusks, butter, jams, nutella and fresh fruit juices.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in our Hotel to test our new breakfast.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel is NOT to be recommended under any circumstances. Our room was hot and stuffy and when we asked for the aircon remote were told that these were only available from May onwards. The receptionist was extremely unhelpful with her answer always being "I only work here" never mind the fact that I was "only a paying Guest" there. The shower was either ice cold or burning hot. No amount of jiggling the controls could rectify this. After 15 minutes I gave up. Same response from reception. All in all a terrible experience and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aropertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnuovonord, Direttore at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

In the north of Italy we generally open the air condition from june to september. This is due to the comfortable temperature we have, especially here, in Genoa.
Our receptionists are generally really appreciated. They are very nice with all our customers and helpful. Our hotel has been completely renewed and the showers work perfectly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Continental Genova
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nologo
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 90 in Genoa
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Porto Antico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
2,870 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olympia Hotel Genova
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 90 in Genoa
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Genova Centro
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 90 in Genoa
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuovo Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuovo Nord

Address: Via Balbi 155/r, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $71 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nuovo Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nuovo Nord*** is situated in the heart of Genoa’s old town, in via Balbi that is one of the so called “Strade Nuove” together with Via Garibaldi. They belong to the Unesco World Heritage. The hotel is located in an ancient building, whose characteristic structure has been maintained: marbles stairs, Genoese floors, high windows on Via Balbi and a delightful decorated lounge create a pleasant environment. All its 19 renewed rooms are furnished with plasma display TV, safe, mini-bar, hairdryer, air conditioning, heating, complimentary kettle for tea and coffee and free Wi-Fi. Its two suites are very characteristic: they are set on two floors and with their little stairs, vaults and original furniture they offer a very special accommodation. Reception: from 7 am to 11 pm. The staff is multilingual and always ready to satisfy any request, giving information about what you can see both in town and in the Riviera and booking the tickets to any attraction. A copious continental buffet breakfast is available every morning wishing a wonderful day to our kind guests. Location is surely one of HNN***’s strong points. Situated in front of the Royal Palace, the hotel is only a few minutes’ walk from the most attractive places: the Aquarium, the Strada Nuova Museums, De Ferrari central square, S. Lorenzo cathedral. The hotel is a perfect place to start a trip to the Riviera by car, train and in Summer even by boat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nuovo Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing