We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 162 Genoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“very comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

the breakfast is "a la italiana" and the appartment is located in the sixth floor. Genova is a very charming city and I really enjoyed this clean and comfortable room with a terrific terrace and a very friendly owner who made worthwhile my three days stay in Genova. my room had a lot of light and a very comfortable bed. besides you have a table on the terrace to enjoy the morning or the sunset.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
35
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Extraordinary view from the terrace. Very friendly welcoming and service by Signora Anna, who speaks only a little bit English. (Hints for good restaurants.) Large rooms with high ceilings in a patrician apartment on the top floor of a building. Quiet because situated in a dead end street. Not very far to the center of the town (25 min. to the Palazzo Ducale, if you're a good walker).
Sra. Anna offers fresh fruit (melon, pineapple, fruit mixture) every day for breakfast. Really fantastic. And at the weekend she even has fresh baked cake. But most of the croissants and other bread are industrial packed. And she doesn't offer eggs, ham, cheese or cereals. We stayed just three days. So we didn't very much miss these breakfast items. But you should be aware of it since the other ratings emphasize so much the wonderful breakfast.
Shared bathroom with two other rooms.
Under these circumstances the 70 € per night seem to be a little bit too much for what is offered. Especially because of the shared bathroom the value of the room drops somehow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but we really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in a couple rooms of a large apartment that has been owned by the same family for quite some time. The bedroom we stayed in was very spacious and led out to a lovely terrace with fragrant jasmine blossoms and lemon trees. The breakfast was simple but fine, with good coffee.

The apartment is located within a ten to fifteen minute walk from the train station, though up a steep hill. If you arrive by train with lots of luggage, it might be worth it to get a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BugandWog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Bin and Ban is unbeatable for the panaromic view you get of the city of Genoa. It is simply unbeatable. Bin and Ban is actually a penthouse apartment of a block sitting just on the outskirts of the ancient city, with two rooms let out to visitors. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable and bright, with access to a large terrace where the views are to die for. You share a toilet, but the toilet itself is large and clean. For the price, I believe Bin and Ban is the best value for money in Genoa - perhaps the whole of Italy. It is within walking distance to the main sights of town. Parking is a problem, but the landlady is a really nice person, and she offered to give her lot up for us - which was not necessary. Pay cash since this is really a home run B & B.

Room Tip: Take the corner room to the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golddragonjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at Bin & Ban for only one night - we should have stayed two nights but our car broke down on route. It was a little difficult to find but the location is central - can easily walk to see the main sights - and the room, and the beautiful views from the terrace, were perfect. We had a very warm welcome though we speak practically no Italian (and they speak just a little English) despite arriving a day late. Breakfast was spectacular, with fresh pineapple.

Highly recommended - but if you need a parking space you need to discuss with the proprietor beforehand. We did, and paid an extra 10 euros for them to rent a parking spot, so they could give theirs to us. That was good value compared to the hotels which mostly charge a lot more for a parking space. We were in a small hired car (because of the breakdown) and I don't think our wider Fiat Multipla could have made it up the very narrow and congested street.

Room Tip: Print out map, not rely on satnav in Genoa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilskinsrodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 91 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Piccapietra
La Piazzetta Rooms
La Piazzetta Rooms
#8 of 162 in Genoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Il Borgo di Genova
#6 of 162 in Genoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ca' dei Fre'
#32 of 162 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Sottoripa
B&B Dell'Acquario
B&B Dell'Acquario
#11 of 162 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
B&B Delfino Blue
#28 of 162 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Felice Romani 18/26, 16122, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed in a flat that used to be home to a large family: Bin and Ban have lived here with 5 of their children since 1972. The penthouse of a six-stores block built in the end of 50's, is surrounded by some 200 m2 of terrace, with access from each room and used, in the warm weather, to start the day with a delicious breakfast, or to relax, after a walk in the town centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing