We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prime location/supreme architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Collection Genova Marina
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved this hotel with its amazing central port area location. The area was redeveloped by Renzo Piano with great sympathy to original details. Particularly liked walking on glass in the hallway, which revealed the old harbour walls & water beneath. Recommend upgrading to a superior room. These rooms are furthest away from the bustle outside. Unfortunately you are still subjected to the horrid plastic cup experience which definitely does not suit a 48 hotel.

Breakfast is a wonderful experience. We ate outside every day watching boats float in and out & dolphins jumping in the aquarium next door. Best breakfast ever - a very relaxing experience.

Recommend the boat trip to Portofino/San Frutosso(20 euros). Also don't miss a visit to Bocadasse/Lido with it's quaint fishing houses built up the hillside. Take a no12 bus to Fiere followed by a no31 to Bocadasse. There's a free "sandy" beach nearest end to Fiere. A bus ticket costs 1.50 euros & lasts 100 minutes. Buy from newsagents/tabacs.

Room Tip: Superior room worth 10 euros a night extra. We preferred to be on sunny side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valgonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel itself is nice enough and yes there is a but!

The hotel is situated next to the marina and the tourist area of the port which is good, however, there are lots of Africans hassling you as you enter the car park. We were given the sales pitch about it being some sort of national day and handed some good luck charms which I said I didn't want but as you can expect I was told they were free. Then came the hard sell about things being tough and would I make a donation. It ended with me handing back the trinkets and finally walking away.

There is underground secure parking on site and I would recommend anyone visiting with their car use this, it costs the same regardless.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank IanTannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to have breakfast, and we left our money in our backpack in the room we were staying. Somebody got into our room without letting any record of his entry and took all the money we had. He stole 650 euros, not even letting the 50 euros we had in our wallet. He must have seen that we were a family with a baby because there were bottles and formula close to our backpack, but he didn’t care about it. We were told from the front desk’s man that the cleaning people couldn’t be responsible because there was no record of entrance to our room. We told him that we saw a man that works at this hotel that was very close to our room when we left to have breakfast. The front desk’s man defended his co-worker, telling us that this man had many years working at this hotel, and that he could trust him a lot to put his hand on fire for him. The comment sounded suspicious for us. When we asked him to check the cameras to see who might have entered to our room, he told us there weren’t any cameras in the corridors. The hotel’s manager advised us to make a police’s report in order to claim our lost through the hotel’s insurance. He was the only one that seemed to be sorry for us. We did the report, but now back to the United States we are still waiting for the insurance’s decision. We had not received any letter from the hotel making any apology so far.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karinairace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is well located in the Porto Antico, next to the Aquarium. The building and furnishing is contemporary although beginning to show its age a little. Nonetheless it’s a comfortable place to stay and the staff is very polite and friendly. English is also widely spoken. The public areas are spacious along with a pleasant bar/restaurant. Beer was a little expensive at €7 but the location made up for that. Rooms are fine if a little small. I had a problem with the A/C but that was soon fixed. Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice. If and when I return to Genoa, I would stay here. Nothing great, but all mostly good.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

That NH Hotel is a real 4 Star Standard and we did liked our 2 Nights there pretty much. Top friendly Service at the Reception and at the Breakfast Service. The employess did speak good english and was very customerfriendly. Interiour was nice decorated and we felt very cosy there. We can recommend this Hotel. Very nice Location just directly the Seafront with a nice View to the Ships.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotoSpainTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights this summer with our nine year old daughter. The hotel is modern, clean, quiet and well situated in the city; right on the harbour next to the aquarium and a rocks throw away from the old city. The room price was definitely good for this level of quality. The included breakfast was super and we could enjoy it on one of the two outside terraces overlooking the harbour. Friendly staff and all things good.
The only negative I can think of mentioning is the very confusing arrival and parking arrangement if you decide to get here by car. We also chose to have our dinner at the restaurant one evening, and although the food and service was generally good some dishes lacked some in quality unfortunately. And why do all hotel bed pillows in the world have to be rock hard..?
All in all however we would definitely stay here again. (In the surprisingly beautifull and friendly city of Genoa.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had two nights at the NH Genoa. The rooms themselves are detailed exceptionally well with light colored wooden floor and panels the bathroom has every need accommodated with marble fittings. All in all one of the best equipped rooms I have stayed in.

Free Wi-Fi access (real access at a reasonable speed) is a bonus still yet to be seen in many places.

Breakfast and dinner could be taken in the main dining area that had outdoor space looking onto the water. Food was plentiful staff less so.

Reception was very professional (if not a little clipped) and responded to every request.

The hotel is located within easy walk of the many attraction of this city.

My second experience of a NH and have not been disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room on the first floor on the Galion side of the building. Both sides have water views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
2,838 reviews
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 90 in Genoa
589 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Genova Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Genova Marina

Address: Molo Ponte Calvi 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy (Formerly NH Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Righi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#2 Green Hotel in Genoa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Family Hotel in Genoa
#4 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $128 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Genova Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Collection Genova Marina is a unique hotel set in Genoa's fascinating Old Harbor (an area attractively redeveloped by the renowned architect Renzo Piano), just a short walk to the city's famous Aquarium (the second largest in Europe) and the Museum of the Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Collection Genova Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Marina Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing