We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my little toddler son. The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect for us... It was across the main road from the aquarium we wanted to visit, and there were multiple restaurants within walking distance that had high ratings on tripadvisor. Breakfast was good... they had a buffet with a couple of types of ham, breads, corneti, juices, etc.

We were given a room on the sixth floor that was large, clean, and quiet. They even gave us extra pillows just as I had requested in my booking.

The only problem I experienced was that although I was given a password for the hotel's wifi, the wifi signal was nonexistent from my hotel room. In addition, the location and structure of the hotel was such that I could only get a strong 3G signal with my 3G router sitting right next to the window. It was OK for me because everything about our room was perfect, so I did not want to change to a different room.

Overall, the hotel was a great value given the combination of location, service, room, and amenities we received.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bui501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    557
    106
    10
    8
See reviews for
525
269
35
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent Hotel @ Genoa. I was there for only two nights but the hotel is very good to stay at this lovely place.
Genoa is beautiful city in front of Sea & this hotel is in center.

Try this hotel, if you want a good stay & sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harshch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We picked this hotel for its amenities and the fact that it is in a perfect location for visiting the old part of Genoa. We booked directly with and prepaid the hotel. The hotel provides a small discount for the parking at the Porto Antico which is right across a busy main street from the corner of Via al Ponte Calvi. The room price included wifi, an ample breakfast, safe, refrigerator, luggage rack, and a tea/coffee maker. Our reasonably sized room (#402) faced an airshaft but was quiet; rooms facing the street might be noisier. The bathroom shower was a bit odd as the showerhead faced the shower doors. It took a while for the water to get hot. Amenities included bars of soap as well as liquid gel/soap and tissues. While breakfast purports to start at 7:00, everything is not really ready until 7:20 or so. However, the offerings are ample: cereals, fruit, breads, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, meats, beverages, juices, etc. (An added convenience for us was the location of the Lavanderia Smacchia Express nearby (take a right out of the hotel, cross the street into the alley, and turn left at the next "street." The lavanderia is on the right a few stores up that street.) The hotel is within easy walking distances to all the major sites in the old part of Genoa and there are various restaurants and cafes in the neighborhood. The staff speak excellent English.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way to Cinque Terre. The hotel is located in a small one way street close to the old port ( Where the galleon ship is). We were driving, so it is a bit of a narrow street but there is a parking place in front of the hotel to unload your luggages.

There is a large underground parking garage where you can park your car across the main street and 1 minute walk from the hôtel. (18€ instead of 24€ because the hotel has a discount)

The room have been redone , modern and are a good size. Quiet, breakfast was ok. The staff was very friendly and helpfull for suggestions. The hotel is allready in the old city so,you can just walk everywhere.

Room Tip: The have a special package for women: magazine, special amenities, larger hairdryer, for no extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had to stay in Genoa 1 day after a cruise, and chose this one as it had a quad room and was downtown. The room was fine- there was a bunk bed for the kids, and free Wi-Fi for us.The staff were so nice and helpful. And they all spoke English. It was very close to everything, and we returned several times throughout the day to use the washroom! Also the staff recommended a great local seafood restaurant and it was amazing-Viegia Zena-you must go here!!

The only complaint was that the room was extremely hot-it didn't cool down even though we turned the heat off. We opened the window, but it was close to 4Celcius and that was a bit hard on the bed next to the window. We have run into this problem throughout Italy- the individual controls are a sham- the heat is pumped through a central pipe and never turns off unless the main on is deactivated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbug45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
314 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is located pretty close to the old port, just 5 minute walk from a plethora of restaurants and bars.
Clean, and good value for Money, pay the 89EUR for the double room. Breakfast is a bit simple, but hey, the price is good. Very Friendly staff as well, and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. Location is close to the Cruise port, aquarium and Market. You can easily walk to all the historic locations. Rooms are not dark if you open the shutters. Free Wi-Fi for you stay plus there is a computer and 2 I-pads in the lobby for guests to use. They even have a small library of books and newspapers you can borrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaAndBoris51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico
Address: Via al Ponte Calvi, 5, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Genoa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#12 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico in Genoa,is a 3 stars hotel situated in the center of Genoa close to the Old Port of Genoa and the Aquarium of Genoa, welcomes you in the comfort and relaxed atmosphere of its rooms.All of the rooms' hotel are air conditioned and soundproofed, equipped with 26-inch LCD televisions with calcium Mediaset Premium, Wi-Fi for laptops, and safe maximum size of 15 inches.Experience the excitement of living in the historical center of Genoa Renaissance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Porto Antico Hotel Genoa
Best Western Genoa
Best Western Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing