We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Giardino di Albaro
Nearby Hotels
$154
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$135
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Nuovo Nord(Genoa)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Melia Genova(Genoa)
$190
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
59
64
13
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
64
13
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 137 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is our favorite type of hotel in Italy - small, family run, and with character. We spent 3 nights here in May, 2013. We were with a rented car and it's very difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel in the center of Genoa with parking. This hotel is located in a nice city neighborhood (Albaro) about 4 KM from the city center. The bus to the the center of town stops right in front of the hotel, and it runs about every 10-15 minutes. You can also walk to town on the beach-side promenade which is known as Corso Italia. It's also very close to Boccadasse, an ancient fishing village which is itself a popular tourist and entertainment district. It also has several good restaurants. All the rooms are on the ground floor.

Breakfast is more than adequate with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, croissant and other cakes. Picture attached with a part of the breakfast buffet.

The best part is the service. The staff were very helpful, and I want to especially mention Walter who was most attentive and extremely helpful. Our room was fine, although it was a bit strange, as instead of a window, it has a door which leads down stairs to the front of the hotel. When we weren't there, we had to be sure to keep the window shutters closed. The number was 22 (or maybe 122). See the attached picture.

There are also several restaurants nearby, and a supermarket right across from our door/window and all in all we had a lovely time at this hotel and in Genoa in general.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good location, friendly helpful staff, good size rooms, clean, nice balcony for breakfast. The orange and polenta cake is delicious!

There is a bus stop right outside (tickets from tbacconist/postoffice on the road towards the seafront) with good links to town. The hotel is a short walk to the beach, supermarket and the historic quarter of Boccadasse, which is well worth a visit for the gelato and foccacia alone!

Room Tip: West and North rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redster_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family spent a night here on our way from Provence to Tuscany. I made the reservation from Australia and this was handled by staff who were efficient, helpful and friendly. The hotel is in an central location and we were a short walk to the ocean and local restaurants. The rooms were very clean, spacious and quiet. The breakfast was very good and the staff spoke excellent English. We highly recommend this hotel.
Thank you from Lynne and Harry van Veen

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have stayed in this three star hotel twice and it's really well situated for the waterfront - great for running - and to the delightful little fishing village with the best, but hidden, restaurants in Genova. The staff could not be more friendly, breakfast is very pleasant and the free wireless make this a gets value for money and enjoyable place to stay. I only rate the fitness and swimming as terrible as there's none and there seems to be no way of unticking.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left are away from the traffic
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Genova
1
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a very nice hotel and well priced. The rooms are clean and they have a very nice breakfast in the morning. The stay is very friendly and most speak English very well, so communication was not a problem. There is some noise from the traffic in the morning, but it's minimal and all and all a very quiet location.

My only critique is the wi-fi setup. You get a key that can be used for 3 days, but it get's locked down to one device. This is a little annoying if you travel with multiple devices and seems a bit too paranoid for something like wi-fi access. Otherwise the wi-fi singal was strong and worked well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews