We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best, most authentic meal in Italy. Period.”
Review of Trattoria da Maria

Trattoria da Maria
Ranked #108 of 2,030 Restaurants in Genoa
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Piccapietra
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best, most authentic meal in Italy. Period.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've traveled to Italy many times and have visited different parts as both a tourist and a guest of family, but this was my first time in Genoa. Although this was not my favorite city, the dinner at da Maria was hands down the best overall meal I've eaten in Italy. Not only was the meal INCREDIBLE value (3 course dinner for 2 with wine for 18 Euros), the food was truly homecooked. There was a group of women cooking the food feet away in the kitchen. The pesto pasta was even better than in the Cinque Terre. I also had the roasted beef.
The menu is handwritten and the waitress keeps coming by to cross things off as they sell out. Restaurant is a tiny hole in the wall that you find by walking down a small alley just of off one of the boutique shopping streets. Have I been to fancier restaurants in Italy? Yes. Have I eaten meals that felt more like eating a delicacy (i.e., risotto in Burano)? Yes. But hands down this was the best, most home-cooked meal in any restaurant i've had in Italy. Apologies to the trattorias in Florence and Italy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    660
    285
    109
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The home cooking!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great place to have a lunch with homemade legurian dishes!
Warm and simple!
Many Italians were there, very friendly, comfortable home-atmosphere!
Simple, but tasty, lively place!!!
One of my favorite in Genoa!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey_Khapaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
252 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Busy place but good!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

December 2012: Had lunch here with eight others. I made reservations in advance. It's located on a tiny street, but there's a sign on the main street, so not difficult to find.

There were several rooms and we were way in the back. At first I thought, oh no, we're going to be with other tourists. Nope, the place filled up very quickly with locals.

I had the pasta with pesto followed by a veal/eggplant stew. Both were very good. We shared some red wine.

Prices were very reasonable - 10 euros for two items off the menu. Popular dishes went quickly. At one point our waitress Laura came out to tell one in the group that "x" was gone. This actually happened twice.

Definitely make reservations or get there right when it opens.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mjpileggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good kitchen from MAMA at good prices”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is not the prettiest from atmosphere but is VALUE for money and local dishes like Cima Trenette al pesto and others and you will like the price

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henryschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Looks are deceptive”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Looks like somebody's back kitchen, when you walk in the door, but don't let that put you off. The menu selection was limited but all home cooked. We could not believe how efficiently the place ran, despite us descending with a group of 32! The restaurant ran out of beer twice and had to go to the supermarket to get more. The wine kept flowing; the house wine was quite drinkable, maybe not a "fine wine" but this is not a posh restaurant. The whole bill, including 3 courses, cheeses, coffees and as much as we could drink....€21pp. Worth the extra €4 tip, which the staff were over the moon with. By the way, the place was packed to the rafters with locals. Good sign!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Maria also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Trattoria da Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing