We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Oasis in City of Mazes”
Review of B&B Quartopiano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Quartopiano
Ranked #30 of 169 Genoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The B&B Quartopiano (which means 4th floor) is a gorgeous B&B in the middle of Genova's narrow streets. Yes, you must climb the stairs up to the 4th floor, but the B&B is at the top floor of a converted palace and well worth the journey. The rooms are very modern complete with a small fridge and jug of cold water. The rooms are also air conditioned with free wifi. The roof deck was great for enjoying a pre-dinner glass of wine with a unique view of the city. The hostess spoke limited English but was able to book restaurants for us (I speak some Italian) - confirming that one of our choices was good and another was not so great so she booked an alternative for us which was excellent. The B&B is in a great location for exploring Genova, however it is IMPOSSIBLE to reach by car. We learned this the hard way driving in circles for almost an hour before parking and reaching the B&B by foot. The hostess can recommend a parking garage at a discount but it is also a little difficult to reach without a map. What I would recommend is parking temporarily and dropping off your baggage. You can then receive a map from the hostess of the parking garage where you can leave your car safely for the duration of your stay. I would agree that the breakfast was average, but it was the end of our 10 day stay in Italy so we weren't too disappointed to only have some toast and yogurt by this point. Had it been my first stop, I may have been let down by the lack of selection.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

The quarto piano B&B is not only a cozy and high designs place to stay, it's a corner of paradise in the heart of Genova!! The rooftop with the jacuzzi is GREAT! especially after a long day of work!

Emi is the best host ever!! Ask her for the restaurant in the area!

I had an amazing time there! Enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sergiopiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed at B&B Quartopiano for a couple of nights on my own, and thought I had discovered a jewel in the middle of Genova's old quarter. It's a world away from the bustle of the city, like you've stepped back in time. The rooms are beautifully appointed with chic clean NY Soho style, it's quiet, and within walking distance to the many of the cultural places to visit. There's a relaxing common room and comfortable dining area that feels like a home away from home. There is also a restaurant called Soho within walking distance that serves the most delicious seafood! I recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inspire523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights around Easter this year, and while we loved the stylish common lounge area of this B&B (and our guest room was also stylish and clean), it was a seriously long climb up to the fourth floor (it's more like seven flights of stairs bc of how high the ceilings are on each floor). Normally I don't mind that sort of thing, but my husband is pretty sure he had told the B&B owners I was 8.5 months pregnant and nobody warned him about the stairs. In any case, when we showed up and I slogged up those stairs, the owners seemed to find it very funny that I was out of breath, which kind of upset me. In any case, the B&B owners are very well-intentioned, but be aware that their English is limited so if you don't speak Italian, you're missing out on part of the benefit of staying at a B&B (i.e., personalized local knowledge).

I also feel bad saying this bc everything looked so nice in the morning, but the breakfasts were pretty bad. Defrosted sliced bread put in the toaster and served with jams and fresh fruit. Defrosted frozen pastry also toasted and served with jam. That's pretty much it. Cappuccinos were large but flavorless. Kind of a travesty considering you're in Italy.

For 150 euros a night, I expected a lot better a breakfast, at least. Liked the free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWAppleWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We have the great fortune to organize family vacations around my husband's medical-academic teaching in Europe. We have stayed in many kinds of lodging and know Italy very well. B&B Quarto Piano is a cross between a Starck-esque design hotel and the traditional B&B, where one stayed in rooms of a person's large house. We spent 3 days there and felt better and better with each passing moment. Aesthically, every detail is carefully selected, the place is immaculately clean. Beautiful roof deck with jacuzzi. Emi, owner/proprietress, who designed the place with her son, is, while extremely discreet, the perfectly welcoming hostess. Having noticed what we ate or asked for at breakfast (gorgeous), anything we preferred magically appeared the second morning. We WILL come back to stay here. Only warnings: there is no elevator and it's a LONG climb up to this sanctuary. We loved the location, but visitors new to Genova should be prepared that part of the convenience and the historic beauty of living in this medieval center, is a an occasional view of grittiness/streetlife, that only the true lover of urban settings will view with a casual eye. However, it seems safe and is certainly quiet. Loved it. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
5  Thank Italia4sempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chez-Gautier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sabrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Nologo
#14 of 91 in Genoa
863 reviews
Righi
La Superba Rooms & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
B&B Vecchia Genova
B&B Vecchia Genova
#17 of 169 in Genoa
87 reviews
So&Leo Guest House
#18 of 169 in Genoa
45 reviews
Home Grifondoro
#1 of 169 in Genoa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Quartopiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Quartopiano

Address: P.zza Pellicceria 2/4, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Sottoripa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Price Range: $92 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Quartopiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing