We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the best town of the Cinque Terre”
Review of Vernazza Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vernazza Rooms
Ranked #13 of 40 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in the best town of the Cinque Terre”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in CAMERA SAN FRANCESCO 4 from 19-21 May 2014 and it was a perfect room. I see the reviews pay too much attention to the stairs, this is Cinque Terre, the place is full of stairs and it keeps the great food from around the waist! In saying that, there are less than 20 steps to the room so it is nothing at all.
Davide and Daria were the best hosts, from the moment an email was sent from Sydney Australia to the day we arrived, the service was so personal and professional. We'd highly recommend Vernazza rooms especially the ones with a balcony. They're kept clean and tidy and you'd have to be extremely picky to find anything to complain about, would come again!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a balcony as they provide great refuge from the heat of the day and a place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    17
    14
    3
See reviews for
31
106
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

we stayed in the sf room for 2 nights during our visit in cinque terre.
pros:
1. location, it is a 5 minutes walk from the train station, 10 minutes walk to see vernazza from the top of the hiking trail
2. the room is quiet spacious and clean. all the furnitures seem to be brand new

cons:
1. steep stairs to get to the room.
2. you can hear the train pass by, which is somewhat annoying
3. it is a little hard to find the place. once we arrived at the train station in vernazza, we had to ask the local to call the hotel.
4. wish we had a tv in our room

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevindai1000 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spent three nights at Vernazza Rooms (March 29, 30, and 31 2014). We stayed in room San Francesco 4. It is on the third floor, has a small balcony, fridge, and a private bath room (which is small). The room was clean and made up every day.
We arrived by train, Dave met us at the station and helped us carry our bags to the room.

Points to note:
-Unless you stay right by the harbor expect to do a lot of walking in Vernazza. I believe our San Francesco room is 150 stairs up hill from the alley on Main St. The stairs are not steep, but you get in shape going to and from the rooms.
-There is no "desk" for Vernazza Rooms, we wanted to get an early start on our last day so we settled the night before we left.
-The shower door opening is quite small.
-The train traffic at night could be heard but was not bothersome to us.
-We typically contacted "Dave" by Text.
-Almost all establishments in Vernazza want to deal in cash as opposed to credit card.
-The trail to both Corniglia and Monterossa is hikable though officially "closed. There are no gates or bars across the trail. South of Corniglia the trail is really closed!

It is not a Hilton or Marriott but a clean value room in a lovely part of Italy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConradConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a wonderful time in Cinque Terra and at Vernazza rooms. Our host was very nice and helped immensely in guiding us to Vernazza on the little mountain roads. He met us in town and helped us carry our bags up the stairs to the rooms. Our room was nice - San Francesco 1 - clean and had a balcony with little table and chairs. It is a bit tight but I think a lot of places are small there. The room was nice and quiet and the view of the town was marvellous. We made use of the small fridge with some local meats and cheeses and beer! Would love to go back some day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DzinerGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early October 2013. The room (SAN FRANCESCO 6) was comfortable and clean. This building is close to the train, noise could be an issue. We were not disturbed by this, however. The room is up several flights of steep stairs - a consideration depending on your age and condition. The owner/manager was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask about stairs and steepness also about noise from the frequent trains; these concerns may vary fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at vernazza rooms very much.

I booked the rooms about 6 months prior to I had the pick of the litter and chose San Fransisco rooms 1 and 2.

With the small fridge in the rooms we opted to enjoy our breakfasts on the balcony overlooking Vernazza, great way to begin the day.

We also were able to enjoy the evenings on the balcony with a cold beverage because of the fridge.

Like others have said there are alot of steps to the room, for us it was a nice bit of excercise before settling in for the night.

We paid 95 euro for the room and thought the price was on the high end however we were willing to pay it for the balcony and view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

You can't judge Vernazza accommodations by the standards of any other location. This Cinque Terre village is beyond picturesque, but is only suitable for people who aren't looking for luxury and who have no mobility issues. We were fortunate to score a last-minute reservation at Vernazza Rooms, whose rooms are in a couple buildings very close to the railroad station. Our room in the "San Francisco's Rooms" had been added to the inventory so recently that there was not yet a photo on the website. Access was via 67 steps -- some stone and outdoors, some marble and indoors. The room overlooked a tiny terrace accessed from some other room, so our single window that was tucked into a dormer looked out at a blank wall and some else's drying laundry. The room was still somewhat unfinished, in that there were no towel bars in the bathroom and minimal furnishing -- a bed, a couple of shelves, a straight chair and a mini-fridge. Sleeping there was like camping. No TV. No radio. No Internet access. No breakfast either.

Room Tip: If you care about a view, make sure to check whether your room will have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRealtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
3.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#27 of 40 in Vernazza
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 40 in Vernazza
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
#10 of 40 in Vernazza
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Affittacamere Rollando Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernazza Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernazza Rooms

Property: Vernazza Rooms
Address: Via a. del Santo 9, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Vernazza Rooms Hotel Vernazza
Vernazza Rooms Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing