We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right place for us.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Capellini Rooms
Ranked #3 of 40 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midvale, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The right place for us.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a bit leery of posting this because if my wife and I ever get back to Vernazza I want this room to be available:) We stayed two nights in the Charming Room right on the main sidewalk by the harbor. You literally walk out your door and there is a sidewalk and then the water. I loved the location. The proprietors were great. I told them the time we would be arriving. We missed our train and were an hour late and as I walked down to the harbor I heard my name and Giacomo was waiting for me and figured out who I was. Very nice and helps settle you into the room. The room has no air conditioning and we were there at the beginning of August and my wife is pregnant. However, with the fan and sea breeze there was not a problem of being too hot, we did not mind there being no air conditioner. It is a bit loud at night with the window open because you are right next to the main town square. However, once you shut the window it gets pretty quiet. Out of all the places we stayed in Italy during our trip, this was our favorite. I would highly recommend the charming room as a base for anyone wanting to explore the Cinque Terra.

There was a flood in October 2011. There are a few construction areas they are still working on but they are out of the way. If I hadn't known about the flood I would have guessed it was routine maintenance and none of it is very noticeable in the places you want to be. That is as of August 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BW2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
163
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just loved Vernazza . We chose the Charming Room for 3 of us, knowing it would be squeezy, but we were thrilled with our decision because it is delightful and you can't beat the location. Vernazza is not as touristy as the other 4 villages and the locals use the square for catching up, so to feel part of the village is special. Giacomo and Maria were lovely , met us at the train and ensured we were settled in before leaving us. Fresh flowers from Marias garden were an added touch, it was beautifully clean and to be able to open our window and be right on the harbour was fantastic. We would return tomorrow if we could. Chris & Angela, Hobart, Australia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 168Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in the "cozy studio", and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. Maria had been communicating with us through email, and knew when we would be arriving by train. She even gave us the times that the trains would be leaving LaSpezia, which made our travels much easier. Even though we were about a half hour late, Giacomo was at the train station waiting for us, and immediately grabbed our bags. He started showing us around Vernazza, talking about how the town is rebuilding after the flooding. Because there are 55 steep steps leading up to the cozy studio, I would seriously recommend packing light if you are staying in this room. The room was nice, and had a small kitchen and eating area. There is no view of the water, but a charming view of the buildings next to it, and of the walkway below. Maria and Giacomo poured us some cold water, put fresh flowers in the room, and spent time going over the things we should do while there, as well as giving us a phone that had his number programmed in case we needed anything. They were extremely helpful and friendly, and made us feel very welcome in their town. Although you have to climb a lot of stairs, the room is located right on the main square near the water. Once you step out of the building you are in the midst of the restaurants and activity that is going on, and can sit out and enjoy the water. The train station is about a 3 minute walk away, and the delicious gelato shop is about a 30 second walk away! This was a perfect location, and gave us a wonderful experience for our first time in Vernazza.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelsea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We chose The Charming Room for our three day stay in Vernazza after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and doing much research. The room is situated right on the small harbour with views of the water, hillside, church and piazza. It was a real bonus having such easy access as much of the accommodation at the Cinque Terre is accessed via narrow, steep steps making it a challenge to transport even smallish bags. Giacomo met us off the train and explained the workings of the small, neat, self contained room and gave us his contact number should we have any difficulties as he does not live in the town all the time. He was so friendly and helpful. Vernazza was badly damaged in October 2011 by a massive mud slide that killed 3 people. They were working furiously to complete the re-building before the summer season but they still had much to do when we were there in May. It was heart breaking to see the damage and the work still needing to be completed.  Luckily for us our quaint room was warm and cosy with the window opening onto the little harbour. Maria, Giacomo's wife had left some supplies for our breakfast as there were no food stores open in the town at the time. On he day we were leaving Giacomo helped us to he ration wih our bags and introduced us to Maria who arrived in he train we were to depart on. We hope we will gt he opportunit to visit again and if so we will plan to stay in The Charming Room it is available. We wish all the people of Vernazza a successful summer season after such a traumatic experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After doing a lot of research we booked Maria's Charming Room. The location of this apartment actually made the time in Vernazza perfect for us. Maria was waiting for us as we had given her a rough arrival time. She explained the runnings of the apartment thoroughly to my daughter who luckily speaks Italian. We had aperitivos on the little chair outside most days with the most wonderful view of the square and the water. On our last night we had to transfer to the Cosy Studio which was in Maria's building in the square, up many flights of stairs. This apartment is not a patch on the Charming room and has no outlook to the water. Both apartments were the same price. They were spotlessly clean and tidy although only have the basics, in fact you couldn't cook in the Charming Room, however with many great restaurants around, why would you cook? It was a pleasure to meet Maria and her family during our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joghols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had a wonderful three-day stay in the Charming Room owned by Maria Capellini in Vernazza, Italy in late April, early May 2012. We loved the fact that the room is right on the plaza and near the water. We challenged ourselves hiking during the day and had lovely dinners on the open-air plaza in the evenings. The Charming Room has a sitting area, sleeping area, bath, and small kitchen area.

Vernazza is renewing itself daily after storms in late 2011 and the whole town is pulling together to make tourists welcome and comfortable. Our room was completely refurbished and we were greeted with fresh flowers from Maria's garden upon our arrival. Five stars for Maria and her husband, Giacomo, for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Although this is the only place we 've stayed in Vernazza, we can't think of any better location & would return in a heartbeat. We stayed in the cozy room on the quay in September 2011. Giacomo's service was outstanding. The room itself is a nice size with a kitchen. I would not call it cozy in the sense of small, but it is very comfortable.
The best thing about the cozy room is it's location. It is on the ground floor on the quay, looking at the harbour in Vernazza. I'm sorry, word's do not describe this view and pictures only begin.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
3.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
295 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#12 of 40 in Vernazza
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#29 of 40 in Vernazza
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Capellini Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Capellini Rooms

Property: Maria Capellini Rooms
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 26, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Maria Capellini Rooms Hotel Vernazza
Maria Capellini Rooms Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing