We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Capellini Rooms
Ranked #2 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just loved Vernazza . We chose the Charming Room for 3 of us, knowing it would be squeezy, but we were thrilled with our decision because it is delightful and you can't beat the location. Vernazza is not as touristy as the other 4 villages and the locals use the square for catching up, so to feel part of the village is special. Giacomo and Maria were lovely , met us at the train and ensured we were settled in before leaving us. Fresh flowers from Marias garden were an added touch, it was beautifully clean and to be able to open our window and be right on the harbour was fantastic. We would return tomorrow if we could. Chris & Angela, Hobart, Australia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 168Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
160
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in the "cozy studio", and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. Maria had been communicating with us through email, and knew when we would be arriving by train. She even gave us the times that the trains would be leaving LaSpezia, which made our travels much easier. Even though we were about a half hour late, Giacomo was at the train station waiting for us, and immediately grabbed our bags. He started showing us around Vernazza, talking about how the town is rebuilding after the flooding. Because there are 55 steep steps leading up to the cozy studio, I would seriously recommend packing light if you are staying in this room. The room was nice, and had a small kitchen and eating area. There is no view of the water, but a charming view of the buildings next to it, and of the walkway below. Maria and Giacomo poured us some cold water, put fresh flowers in the room, and spent time going over the things we should do while there, as well as giving us a phone that had his number programmed in case we needed anything. They were extremely helpful and friendly, and made us feel very welcome in their town. Although you have to climb a lot of stairs, the room is located right on the main square near the water. Once you step out of the building you are in the midst of the restaurants and activity that is going on, and can sit out and enjoy the water. The train station is about a 3 minute walk away, and the delicious gelato shop is about a 30 second walk away! This was a perfect location, and gave us a wonderful experience for our first time in Vernazza.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We chose The Charming Room for our three day stay in Vernazza after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and doing much research. The room is situated right on the small harbour with views of the water, hillside, church and piazza. It was a real bonus having such easy access as much of the accommodation at the Cinque Terre is accessed via narrow, steep steps making it a challenge to transport even smallish bags. Giacomo met us off the train and explained the workings of the small, neat, self contained room and gave us his contact number should we have any difficulties as he does not live in the town all the time. He was so friendly and helpful. Vernazza was badly damaged in October 2011 by a massive mud slide that killed 3 people. They were working furiously to complete the re-building before the summer season but they still had much to do when we were there in May. It was heart breaking to see the damage and the work still needing to be completed.  Luckily for us our quaint room was warm and cosy with the window opening onto the little harbour. Maria, Giacomo's wife had left some supplies for our breakfast as there were no food stores open in the town at the time. On he day we were leaving Giacomo helped us to he ration wih our bags and introduced us to Maria who arrived in he train we were to depart on. We hope we will gt he opportunit to visit again and if so we will plan to stay in The Charming Room it is available. We wish all the people of Vernazza a successful summer season after such a traumatic experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After doing a lot of research we booked Maria's Charming Room. The location of this apartment actually made the time in Vernazza perfect for us. Maria was waiting for us as we had given her a rough arrival time. She explained the runnings of the apartment thoroughly to my daughter who luckily speaks Italian. We had aperitivos on the little chair outside most days with the most wonderful view of the square and the water. On our last night we had to transfer to the Cosy Studio which was in Maria's building in the square, up many flights of stairs. This apartment is not a patch on the Charming room and has no outlook to the water. Both apartments were the same price. They were spotlessly clean and tidy although only have the basics, in fact you couldn't cook in the Charming Room, however with many great restaurants around, why would you cook? It was a pleasure to meet Maria and her family during our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joghols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had a wonderful three-day stay in the Charming Room owned by Maria Capellini in Vernazza, Italy in late April, early May 2012. We loved the fact that the room is right on the plaza and near the water. We challenged ourselves hiking during the day and had lovely dinners on the open-air plaza in the evenings. The Charming Room has a sitting area, sleeping area, bath, and small kitchen area.

Vernazza is renewing itself daily after storms in late 2011 and the whole town is pulling together to make tourists welcome and comfortable. Our room was completely refurbished and we were greeted with fresh flowers from Maria's garden upon our arrival. Five stars for Maria and her husband, Giacomo, for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Although this is the only place we 've stayed in Vernazza, we can't think of any better location & would return in a heartbeat. We stayed in the cozy room on the quay in September 2011. Giacomo's service was outstanding. The room itself is a nice size with a kitchen. I would not call it cozy in the sense of small, but it is very comfortable.
The best thing about the cozy room is it's location. It is on the ground floor on the quay, looking at the harbour in Vernazza. I'm sorry, word's do not describe this view and pictures only begin.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

It has been two years since our visit to Maria's Charming Room and the incredible village of Vernazza. As you know much has happened since that time. Devastating floods and mudslides rocked this heavenly place last October but these hard working, industrious people have re-built. There is still more work to be done but Vernazza is ready again to entertain visitors and in fact need folks to come back and help them revitalize the city with your tourist dollars. The Cinque Terra is an amazing place and while I consider Vernazza to be the crown jewel and the "Charming Room" to be the perfect location there, the other four towns are waiting and ready for your return or your first visit. Maria's husband, Giacomo will greet you in English and make sure your stay is perfect. I highly recommend staying with them and visiting this idealic beautiful place. It will change your life, I know it did mine.

Room Tip: Easy to access Vernazza by train from Pisa, La Spezia or from the north in Genoa or from Milan. Onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exracer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#9 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#31 of 43 in Vernazza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#5 of 43 in Vernazza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Capellini Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Capellini Rooms

Property: Maria Capellini Rooms
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 26, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Maria Capellini Rooms Hotel Vernazza
Maria Capellini Rooms Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing