We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mala
Nearby Hotels
La Colonnina Hotel(Monterosso al Mare)
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Souvenir(Monterosso al Mare)
$165
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Degli Amici(Monterosso al Mare)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Spiaggia(Monterosso al Mare)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Porto Roca(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Marina(Monterosso al Mare)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baia(Monterosso al Mare)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Accini(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Pineta(Monterosso al Mare)
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
221
47
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
47
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast voucherstrain stationcinque terreblue marlindinner reservationscommon terracecarried our bagshis motherday bedmodern hotelin townguest houseterrace overlooking the sealigurian seathe main squareglowing reviewsglass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 278 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed four days here in September 2008. La Mala is an excellent little B & B. It is very contemporary with white walls and accents. Clean, too. Breakfast, consisting of coffee and croissant, was provided in the bar at ground level. There as a very nice public terrace with a sea-view. The windows of our room looked out on to the terrace, and visa versa - See photo #5 - a little odd.

Two of us stayed in room #26, which is their biggest. If I had it to do over again, I would pick a smaller room. #26 is intended for at least three people. It was a split level room. The upstairs had a double bed, TV, and bathroom. The downstairs had a single bed, closet, and frig with mini-bar. The mini-bar, stocked, with beer and mineral water, was free.

The biggest downside was the trek up to La Mala - 69 grueling steps. The price of the room was more than other places. Jamba was the owner and a great guy - See last photo.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

This place was perfect. We were on our honeymoon and heard all places to stay in Vernazza were not nice. We found this place and we could not have been happier. Despite the walk up to the place (which was expected), it was amazing. The rooms were VERY clean. It was just renovated, so it has all the new things. They think of everything.

There was beer, water and juice in the fridge that was included. They gave your free breakfest in the morning at the local breakfast spot in the square. It was truly just a perfect place. We were very lucky to have stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at La Malà for 2 nights in early July. We could have not been more pleased. The location was nothing short of amazing; a walk through twisty alleyways, up dozens of stairs, takes you to a modern, quaint, charming house, with the most amazing views you could possibly imagine.

Our family of 5 had 2 rooms: 20 and 26. Room 20 is on the second story, is smaller, has a large bed, with a view both towards the water and the town harbor. We had a clothesline outside our window, which we enjoyed for drying our suits and towels after swimming. The room was perfect for the two of us.

Room 26 was perfect for our 3 kids. The main part of the room has 2 beds (can be locked together, if desired), with 2 windows directly (up and out) onto the stone terrace and a wonderful view of the sea. Down a set of stairs, there is another bedroom, with a window directly over the sea, for a porthole effect. The kids really enjoyed having the separate areas, especially the one who got the private room!

Since Room 31 was not occupied our first night, we took a peek inside. This room, being on the second story and facing the sea, has the most incredible view you can imagine. If it had been available, we would have splurged further for this room.

There is no doubt that La Malà is a huge splurge, especially for the Cinque Terre. I would imagine that it is the most expensive accommodation you can choose. However, unlike (I believe) all other accommodations, it includes a free stocked (with beer, juice and water) mini-bar and breakfast at a bar in the main square, Piazza Marconi, both of which were a wonderful touch. But, when you where the house is situationed and experience the care with which the house has been refurbished, decorated, stocked, cared for, etc., it is completely worth the splurge.

One of our sons left his cell phone in the room. The cell phone was mailed back to me, and they refused to accept reimbursement for the shipping. Another very nice touch.

I would stay in Vernazza, at La Malà, again, without hesitation. In fact, I can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeslieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We recently stayed at La Mala in Vernazza and had an excellent stay. Despite the relatively high price of the rooms, our stay was very comfortable and we enjoyed the attention to detail. Like many of the accommodations in Vernazza and Cinque Terre, this is just a collection of bedrooms in town, so there is no front desk or anyone "on duty". We made a phone call, and someone magically arrived to take us to the room and explain everything. The rooms are decorated entirely in white, so the lines are very clean and modern. The bathrooms are adorned with the finest fixtures possible and everything is ultra clean and ultra modern. The beds are very comfortable and the views ... well, unparalleled. We stayed in Room 20 for the first night and then in Room 19 for the next two nights. Our preference likely was Room 20, but they are pretty much equally excellent. There were only two minor negatives to the stay ... the many stairs to climb at the end of a busy hiking day (pray that you don't forget anything in the morning and have to walk back up) and the checkout procedures which were basically nil. We happened to see the owner on the street as we were leaving and confirmed that we left the key in the room and that our credit card would be billed. Otherwise, we really weren't sure of the procedures. Despite these two very minor points, La Mala is a first-class place to stay in this tiny, enchanting and beautiful place on the Italian Riviera.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Renoir184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at La Mala in June 2008 for our honeymoon.

We arrived in Vernazza by car, and after reading all the reviews that driving to Vernazza is terrible, we found that not to be true at all. Yes the roads in the mountains are very narrow, and can me scary at some times, but over all the drive was beautiful and breath taking. When you get to Vernazza by car, you are greeted at the entrance by the very friendly parking people. They will ask you how long you are staying, and have you pay for parking. If you are staying overnight, they will have you drive back up the mountain about 2 minutes to the overnight parking lot. Then a shuttle bus will drive you and your luggage to the main town drop off spot. Then it is a short walk to the town square near the beach.

The great mother and son owner/operators from La Mala we very friendly and both speak very good English. The son met us at the drop off point, and carried both our heavy bags all the way to the room. Vernazza like the other Cinque Terre towns has stairs everywhere. So he happily carried our bags up a ton of stairs to La Mala and our room.

Once you enter La Mala you will be blown away by how beautifully renovated this apartment is. They have hardwood floors though out, with clean white walls and furniture. Our room was very very clean and the bathroom is beautiful. The room is finished with a floor to ceiling marble shower, and marble counters. The shared terrace has a beautiful view of the ocean, as it seems to be hanging over a cliff down to the water.

They include all of the mini bar extras in the cost of the room. For Breakfast they give you vouchers for a bar in the main square, where you get a hot drink, yogurt, pastries, and bread.

I highly recommend La Mala. They were so easy to book through, and they were both so friendly. La Mala was the nicest place we stayed on our entire honeymoon. And Vernazza is one of the most beautiful places I have been to. We can not wait till we can go back and stay at La Mala again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrangeAPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews