We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reached all my expectations”
Review of La Mala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mala
Ranked #5 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After extensive research via tripadvisor we were very happy with La Mala accommodation. Owners met us at train as promised and helped with our luggage. Rooms were clean modern and spacious. The balcony and view were spectatcular. Breakfast was included in price (blue Dolphin was preferable) Holiday was off to a great start would recommend La Mala it might be a little more expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: we had 3 out of 4 rooms booked and no noise complaints in any. Stairs were not a problem good exerci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 271 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the host's Johnny warm reception and fantastic recommendations across the region, to the wonderfully adorned rooms with a great shared terrace sea view (if you don't have a direct ocean view) it's hard to imagine a nicer place in these 5 small cities. Vernazza is a great small town close to all other towns which do make it a nice home base - and for that La Mala is great! For breakfast you have your choice of 2 breakfast spots in the city with a water, juice, pastry, AND sandwhich. I can definitely tell you coming back to the states I miss the Italy hotel breakfasts.

Book early!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ntcounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at La Mala' for one night on a return trip to Italy with my daughter. After sharing London and Florence with her for her first time, I really wanted to visit the Cinque Terre and La Mala' looked like just the type of place I wanted to stay. We traveled by train from Florence on a Friday morning and were met at the train station by John, who graciously carried our suitcases up the many stairs to La Mala'. We stayed in Room 19, which was just as it appeared on the hotel's website. The shared terrace was my favorite spot and offered endless views of the Ligurian Sea. I could live on that terrace for the rest of my life. The bed was a little firmer than we prefer, the bathroom was fabulous. John made dinner reservations for us at The Belforte Restaurant and we had the best seats in the house. Friday was a beautiful day for taking the ferry to the neighboring village, shopping and eating!! Friday night we had one heck of a storm and we felt like we were right in the middle of it given how high up we were. The next morning the sun came out and we could see the marina from our window. It was the most gorgeous teal that I have ever seen. The colorful fishing boats and beautiful blue skies provided scenic backdrops for us. While in Cinque Terre, please be sure to eat the local specialties -- mussels, anchovies and pesto. All wonderful. La Mala' provided us with coupons for breakfast at one of 2 different places. While I can't remember the names, one was right by the marina and one was between La Mala' and the train station. We ate at the second one and were very happy with our meal. Scrambled eggs, bacon, juice coffee and I added on one of the freshly made cheese sweetcakes made by the grandfather of the family that owned the restaurant. So good! Later that day we went back and bought 2 more pieces so we could have them for our breakfast the next day when we were back in Florence before our flight out. We didn't get around to eating them until we were at the airport in Amsterdam for our connection, and with the first bite we were taken right back to Vernazza. A final note, on Saturday we checked out at 10 but wanted to spend the day visiting Corniglia and Manarola. John kept our luggage for us and later brought it down to the train station so we could catch our evening train out. Very good service. We had a very special experience and when I think of Vernazza and the Cinque Terre, La Mala' will be a very big part of that splendid memory.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent two nights at La Mala in October 2013, and could not have been more pleased with the experience. The casually elegant furnishings, the spectacular views from the shared terrace and the attentiveness of the hotel's owner made for a truly extraordinary experience. We stayed in #20 with a view of the tower, but had access to the shared terrace for incredible ocean and coastal views. The room and bathroom were comfortable, clean, bright and airy. We were offered two options for breakfast - both were perfectly acceptable. While one provided a lovely view of the harbor, we found the option closer to the train station to be a more authentic experience with regional cuisine options beyond pastries and coffee. The hotel's owner is extremely attentive - met us at the train station, provided hiking recommendations and made dinner reservations at two really good restaurants in the area. I cannot imagine any other lodging in Vernazza would be as special as La Mala.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel owner to help with dinner reservations - specifically da Billy in Manarola. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at La Mala on Sept 26 for one night, and we loved it. The room(31) was spacious,clean and the view was spectacular. The bathroom was large and the shower wonderful.The best we had in the 2 weeks we were in Italy. John was very gracious and helpful. We ate breakfast at the restaurant with the yellow umbrellas overlooking the harbour. The service was excellent,especially since the waitress advised us to wait 5 minutes until the fresh pastries were delivered! We can't wait to return.
Debbie and Brian

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at La Mala for 3 nights the last week in September and loved it! John met us at the train station and carried our two heaviest pieces of luggage (50 lbs. each) up the steep, narrow staircase all at once! The four of us checked in the same time as another couple, but he took time to talk through details with each of us. We were in Room 31, which was amazing! Room 20 was nice but without much view. We discussed the best places to eat and John recommended 3 great places for us, each night in a different village. He made the reservations and each place gave us an excellent table. We ate at Belforte in Vernazza, Billy's in Manarola, and Miky's in Monterosso. There are lots of steps to La Mala but there are everywhere in Cinque Terre. I have back problems and the bed was a little hard for me, but I asked for extra pillows to help and had them in my room right away! We actually enjoyed the eggs and focaccia for breakfast at the Blue Marlin. They also made up a nice to go bag for us the morning we left as it was early (7:00). The other place was a bit of a problem because they told us that we could only have a pastry, but the other couple got savory focaccia and a pastry. So that needs to be worked out. Would definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 31 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlr1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a beautiful stay at La Mala. My husband and I left our luggage in our car that we parked in Monterosso and did the hike to Vernazza. That in itself was unbelievable...the views and the fact we did it haha! We called Gianni the owner of La Mala and within minutes he met us in town to help us with our luggage and to guide us to the B and B. Lucky for him we only had back packs as he had twisted his ankle the day before! When he opened the door to our room my husband and I were instantly relaxed after our two hour trek. Room 31 was perfect. All white, fresh, contemporary...the two large windows were kept open the entire stay and we were literally seaside! The breakfast included was just ok. We were given a choice of two places in town that we could go for our breakfast. We figured we picked the wrong one. We can only compare to some of the other fabulous breakfasts that were included in the other hotels and B and B's that we enjoyed. Our only recommendations for Gianni would be to choose a better 'breakfast' option that is up to the standard of La Mala.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
2.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#3 of 39 in Vernazza
109 reviews
0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 39 in Vernazza
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mala

Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range: $147 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Mala Hotel Vernazza
La Mala Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing