We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Eremo sul Mare
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Souvenir(Monterosso al Mare)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Degli Amici(Monterosso al Mare)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baia(Monterosso al Mare)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Spiaggia(Monterosso al Mare)(Great Value!)
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Accini(Monterosso al Mare)
$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stella della Marina(Monterosso al Mare)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Marina(Monterosso al Mare)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Pineta(Monterosso al Mare)
Hotel Punta Mesco(Monterosso al Mare)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
89
32
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
32
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bpeaceful locationwonderful hostscinque terrebeautiful bed and breakfastlovely propertybottle of winemusty smellenjoying the viewamazing viewssteep climbcomfortable roomsthree nightsfabioflashlighthikevillage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 131 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We just returned from 4 nights at L'Eremo sul Mare. Although we had a bit of inclement weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay outside of Vernazza. To be clear, you should definitely heed the advice to either pack very lightly or use the storage space in the village. The location of the B&B is about 400 steps up from Vernazza on the trail to Corniglia. We loved the location, but it's not for everyone.
We had the room next to the living room with access to the main deck. It might actually be the best room, although we did not see the rooms upstairs.
Ada, who manages the property is a delight. She will do all to assure you of a comfortable stay. Fabio and Angela who own the property were there one day of our stay, and seemed very nice.
We hiked nearly all of the #2 trail, which connects the five villages. One section was closed due to the threat of landslides during our stay. But what we really enjoyed were the trails above the villages. #7 to San Bernardino, and #1, #9, and #8 which took us up and around the hinterland. The path along the coast can become a little overcrowded. But the upper trails were completely empty and blissful.
We arrived by train from Pisa, and were happy to not worry about driving and parking the car. Cinque Terre is really easy to navigate by foot, train, or ferry boat. Unless you have to drive there, I'd recommend arriving by train.
This was a vacation with so many memories. I heartily recommend a visit to Vernazza and a stay at L'Eremo sul Mare.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GottaDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We loved our stay at the Hermitage. This hotel is for you if: You back pack; You leave in the morning and return in the evening; you like the outdoors; you like cats; you like adventure; you can walk up stadium stairs from the bottom to top without stopping; you need air conditioning; you are generally open minded.

This hotel is not for you if: you roll you luggage; the hotel is the main goal of you trip; luxury is vey important; you're not in good physical condition; you're allergic to cats; you don't like hiking.

Don't take roller luggage to this hotel! Imagine having to roll your luggage up the stairs in a baseball stadium. It's hard and you look stupid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Highly recommend!
It’s worth walking up to the hill for 15mins!
The house keeper was so friendly and helpful and she also speaks English.
Such beautiful views from the balcony and from the path near the B&B – sun set was also beautiful.

There is a tobacco shop in the village where you can leave your luggage if necessary so it’s very convenient.
We stayed at the attic room which has slanting roof so just mind your head if you stay there.

Nice bar on the way back, again beautiful view and friendly staff!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yoko73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Though the weather was not ideal during our stay in Vernazza, this little gem of a B&B brightened our trip. We stayed in Vernazza for two nights- one night in the city and one night at L'Eremo. We much preferred our stay at L'Eremo; it was off the beaten track in a quiet and secluded wooded area. Fabulous views. However, I must say that the hike to the property is quite intense if you are not in good shape. If you are, then you will have a blast making the climb! I would recommend this B&B to those who enjoy nature and hiking. Not for the city folk who enjoy the hustle and bustle. Breakfast is fabulous and very social- you eat with the other B&B guests, which we very much enjoyed. The woman who runs the joint is so charming, and so is her lovable black cat. Our room was quite comfortable with air conditioning (not that we needed it) and a private bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwallis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Definitely worth the walk. If you are fit and regularly walk, the distance is less than 15 mins from the town center, with both steps and flat stretches. It's only three more flights of stairs off the main path between Vernazza and Corniglia. If you don't walk up any steps and are out of shape, skip it. It is also very easy to find. We were arrived at night, left our big bags at the tobacco shop in the center as we were told we could do. The directions were great and easy and we had no trouble. You're up on the side of a hill, it's lovely farmhouse made to look older. It's quiet and sitting out on the terrace and looking at the sea is serene and relaxing. Ada, the main caretaker, speaks English and is very helpful. Our room was lovely and had a very comfortable bed. Also if you are hiking up the hill to San Bernadino, you can start from here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playoutdoorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews