We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with (an incredible) View”
Review of Camere Elisabetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camere Elisabetta
Ranked #10 of 40 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with (an incredible) View”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

So, the first thing you notice about Vernazza are the hoards of tour groups that take over the town - there's a reason, though, as it has great shopping, views and restaurants. We didn't want to be mixed up in all that, though, so were happy that Elisabetta Rooms was off the main street. After a strenuous climb to the rooms, with our suitcases, we were greeted by a friendly gentleman (Elisabetta's husband maybe? He didn't identify himself) and he showed us our room. Overall, it was clean and had incredible views overlooking the sea from one window and the town from a very small balcony. We also had access to the terrace above the room which, again had amazing views overlooking the town, sea and surrounding hillside, and was a great place to enjoy dinner and some wine. The only negative was the bed - a small, thin double but there was a single roll away. Just don't know where you would put it since the room is quite small. There is no food served at the Elisabetta rooms that I'm aware of but there are a couple shops in town that have everything you need. There is a small fridge and hot pot in the room and eating utensils, plates, etc. Also, there is a restaurant a short (and steep) hike above the rooms called La Torre where you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner. It's just off the trail between Vernazza and Corniglia so a great place to relax after some intense hiking. Overall, nice place to stay for the views and value but one night was sufficient for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    42
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
104
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

First I will tell the negatives.
1. Hike up a lot of stairs to the hotel so don't take a huge suitcase.
2. Noise, you can see the train platform from the hotel so the trains going past are noisy.
3. Bed is not very comfy and no hairdryer.

Now for the positives.
1. The view from our room #3 was astounding and pretty much made up for all the negative, you also get the rooftop terrace which gives you the view of the beach, ocean and much of Vernazza.
2. Friendly staff.
3. Good amenities in the room, kettle, cups, glasses etc
4. Seriously the view. Sunset drinks on the rooftop..........magic.

Room Tip: Number 2&3 have access to the rooftop terrace
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMANTHA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was immediately disappointed in this location because we were expecting to have access to the beautiful rooftop views seen on their website, but we were placed at a totally different location with no views. When we arrived though, we were given a bigger room for the night with no up charge, and i thought that was really nice. We were given coffee and some breakfast if we liked. They had hair dryers and bidets, but no AC and it was hot! Sometimes the noise in the alley got loud because we had to keep the windows open. I understand that all of the hotels in Vernazza are small and most don't have AC- so for what we needed, this place was good. A clean shower and a place to sleep.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room(top one) we had was very small. Fits the bed, medium bags and two small closets - with not much room left to move around. Everything was clean but the bed wasn't very comfortable. It's just a place to sleep, shower and store luggage - you will be hiking and sightseeing if the weather is good anyway. The owners are very friendly and pointed out the main attractions in Vernazza. We had to climb many, many steps up to the room which is completely normal for Cinque Terre. (Helpful Hint: pack light!) The views from up there are breathtaking, though - Vernazza is a quaint, picturesque town. We visited Cinque Terre in early Spring and the weather was horrible - it rained constantly, was still cold and most of the hiking trails were closed. Try to rather go in Summer or when the rainy season is over. Also look up whether the hiking trails are open that time of year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great rooms, with the absolute best view in all of Vernazza! We were treated like family when we arrived to Elisabetta rooms. The charming apartment with it's exposed rock wall was very spacious giving us plenty of room to relax and the beach and restaurants were only a minute away. I highly recommend Elisabetta Rooms and Vernazza was the perfect little Italian beach town!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Vernazza for 3 nights, the room was all that we needed, but small, about 1.5m bigger than the bed.
but no problem for us as we weren't expecting to stay in our room all day.
great location for the view, and we did have a great little balcony on the room that gave us the extra highlight.

Room Tip: ask for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Elisabetta Rooms offers authentic rooms with the best views in town on their private terrace with excellent service. Grabbing some bread, pesto (excellent!) and a local wine from the local shops for dinner on the terrace is an evening to remember.

Cleanliness and hospitality was excellent – Elisabetta or her father came by daily to make sure we had fresh towels and take care of garbage. Elisabetta also offered to wash our laundry & dry it on the clotheslines for a modest fee, giving us an extra day to explore.

Once we arrived we were given information of things to see and where we could go. Since we were there for 4 nights we had many options, including walking on the Cinque Terre trail, or visiting other cities by train or boat. Elisabetta was always willing to help us with places to go and things to do.

WiFi was installed while we were there. I talked to the tech that installed the apartment and he was describing the difficulty of getting a signal through the stone walls. The only way to do it was to run a direct line into the apartment and then broadcast the signal inside the apartment. That means that we got exclusive access to the WiFi signal. The single rooms won’t get the same benefit so it may not be as fast all the time.

If you want a 4-star or 5-star hotel, this isn’t for you. It is a basic room or apartment where the fishermen and workers in town lived. That said, the mattress on the bed was better than the 3-star hotel we stayed at in Florence and as good as the 3-star in Sienna. Our view was that we weren’t there to see the inside of our room all day, so this fit our needs well.

We found Vernazza a great place to stay, especially before and after the day-trippers arrived. If you don’t like climbing a few steps you will probably want to stay away from this place and Vernazza in general – look to Monterosso instead.

If you book the apartment through Expedia.com or Booking.com, be aware that you’ll need to pay in cash after you arrive. They also have a check-in window of 3-5pm when they are cleaning the rooms, unless arranged otherwise. Keep in mind that this is a private person offering rooms to stay in, not a hotel with dedicated reception personnel.

All things considered, I can give a strong recommendation for Elisabetta Rooms for people wanting to experience the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: There is an apartment and two rooms. Make sure you know what you want and what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pratzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
3.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 40 in Vernazza
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#29 of 40 in Vernazza
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camere Elisabetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere Elisabetta

Property: Camere Elisabetta
Address: Via Carattino 62, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Camere Elisabetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camere Elisabetta Hotel Vernazza
Camere Elisabetta Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing