We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay in Cinque Terra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
Ranked #26 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We arrived at the Cinque Terra after a long long day's travel and was met at the station by Tonino. You could not find a more friendly person if you tried. We were escorted to the outskirts of Vernazza and Tonino shows us to the rooms. My wife and I are on our honeymoon and whilst it was not the most private of places it was a great stay.

The rooms are lovely and clean and Tonino cleans them everyday. He advised however that he would clean them at 10am everyday but over the five nights we stayed there he came earlier and earlier every day so that by the last day he was rocking up at 8 am. Also the walls are practically paper thin so don't expect to not hear what is going on next door. Additionally, the towls are the thinnest i have ever encountered in any hotel.

Security wise there is no safe in the room but the entire floor is locked so its ok and we felt very safe leaving our valuables there. Otherwise I would recommend this place very highly.

Buit on the plus side considering that Vernazza is probably the busiest of all the towns it is a superb location. For breakfast head downstairs to Il Piratte to Massimo and his brother who made awesome baked goods for breakfast. It's probably the best place in Vernazza for breakfast, avoid it for dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

Our son's wedding was in Vernazza. We stayed at Tonino's and loved the accommodations. The beds were super comfortable. The rooms were very clean. And Tonino was so nice to us. His rooms are at the quiet end of town and situated right next to Il Pirata, where you can get a wonderful breakfast every morning. This building also has a small elevator which is not an easy amenity to find in Italy. The train to nearby towns is a short walk from Tonino's, as is the shopping and restaurants, swimming and the gelato in Vernazza. We had a delightful stay in Vernazza as did our wedding guests.
JudiLillis

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudiLillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This was our favorite stop on our trip! We arrived via train and followed Tonino's directions to go to his friend's shop right by the train station. His friends, who had a wonderful little shop with local food, wine, etc. called Tonino and he came to meet us in less than 5 mins. He was very friendly and showed us to our rooms with were in a residential apartment building (nicer than it sounds) in town just up the hill. Vernazza is amazingly beautiful and the people were so friendly and warm. We would go back in a heartbeat. We stayed there over Easter and it was a unique experience to see how the town celebrated, decorating the town, a parade and a religious ceremony just outside the church right by the water.

The rooms were clean, convenient and cozy! Vernazza has limited accommodation options but we were pleasantly surprised by Tonino's. It was a no frills place but was close to the town center, the trail and had all the comforts we needed for this leg of our trip. Tonino leaves you with a key to the floor and a separate key for your room. Each room has private, clean bathrooms and a laptop set up with internet access.

Tips:
-Hike between the 5 towns in Cinque Terre, enjoy the exercise, the views and explore each town with its unique character and amazing food!
-Have a cannoli and cappuccino downstairs in the restaurant, the owners are twin guys from sicily and have a loyal following.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F0rTheL0veOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Found the rooms on Trip Advisor, certainly met expectations. Tonino met us within a couple of minutes of our calling him at the railway station and led us to the building. The rooms are set in a building of apartments uphill from railway station and almost above the previously reviwed "Pirates" restaurant ( don't have dinner there - breakfast ok). There is no noise from the close railway station which adds to a good nights sleep in the extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom is spotless, modern with a jet-powered shower which takes away some of the pain after a hard day walking between the villages. The rooms are on 2nd floor and can be accessed by an antique but efficent lift or stairs. Room have free WiFi and there is free access to a laptop in the room.

Only complaint (minor) is that there is no safe in the room, however, the rooms as previously mentioned are secure. Towels in bathroom are perhaps the thinnest we have experienced.

Summary, although expensive when compared to some other available accomodation, there is no reason not to recommend Tonino's.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The reviews are true. The pictures on his website are very accurate. We loved our stay at Tonino's. He found us and guided us to our room, gave us a map of the Cinque Terre and a low down on Vernazza. The room is modern and very clean. The laptop was great - internet was fast. We didn't actually turn on the TV, but it was there in the corner. Vernazza is so small, I don't think there can be a bad location. This was about 2 mins walk from the train and about 4 mins walk to the beach. We ran into Tonino a few times in Vernazza, and he was always very gracious.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraipsingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Very comfortable rooms in a great locationat the top of the town. No steps to ascend when travelling from train station. Spotlessy clean, with laptop and internet access in the room. Our room also had a small balcony. The room was street facing but was very quiet. The owner met us the minute we called him after arriiving and he was extremely friendly. Would strongly recommend this as a place to stay in the Cinqueterre.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Tonino Basso's. He met us where the shuttle from the parking lot arrives in town, which is right in front of his place. The accommodation was roomy and comfortable and included a laptop computer with on-line access. As everyone says, Il Pirata pastry shop/cafe next door is excellent.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KevinandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#11 of 39 in Vernazza
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lisetta Rooms
Lisetta Rooms
#12 of 19 in Vernazza
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Perla delle 5 Terre
La Perla delle 5 Terre
#20 of 39 in Vernazza
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#25 of 39 in Vernazza
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
#10 of 39 in Vernazza
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere Tonino Basso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere Tonino Basso

Address: Via Giovan Battista Gavino 34, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Affittacamere Tonino Basso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonino Basso`s Rooms Hotel Vernazza
Affittacamere Tonino Basso Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing