We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We actually had a nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Franca Maria Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Franca Maria Rooms
Ranked #13 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We actually had a nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in Room 7 earlier in June, maybe when it wasn't so hot and crowded outside. We loved that it overlooked the plaza, and during an early June thunderstorm we left the windows ajar to hear the ocean and rain. Its a great location. Yes, its not the most up to date room, and there isn't anything coming close to a square corner in it - but that was part of the charm for us. As to management, we didn't have anything bad as experienced by others. Maybe they were better at letting us know the payment policy, but we were aware it was a cash deal ahead of time. We also knew breakfast wasn't included, and would trade it for the wonderful experience up the street at Il Pirate for it anyway. They held our luggage for us after check out and were always very nice. I'm sorry to hear others not having such a nice time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamginsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    56
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
41
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent one reluctant night in room number 7. It is a room we booked for our family vacation. It turned out to be incredibly shabby and dated, and overlooked the harbour/ town square. When we booked, this seemed like a plus, until we realized the lack of air conditioning made it necessary to keep the window open all night, and the square was very noisy until the wee hours. We were all very happy to leave in the morning, and return to better accommodations. We were also told curtly that breakfast was not provided, despite the fact that we remember it being mentioned when booking, and noted in other reviews. There seemed to be a discrepancy about their credit card policy, and when paying, the proprietors would only accept cash as payment. This is the first negative review I have ever written. I would very strongly discourage a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wpgviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved our stay in Room 2 of the Franca Maria. It was right over the town square where all the action is, and yet it was quiet at night. Everything in the room was newly done and smelled clean and fresh! We did have to pay cash, so we went to the cash machine in town. They do keep your passport, but I think this is their tradition.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have excellent locations!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have never written a blog before. I have traveled Europe/Italy quite a lot and never had this problem. But after our experience I felt moved to warn other travelers.
We rented a room for two nights. The room was in need of updating and smelled very musty and damp. The towels were like paper towels. No amenities. Our room was 6 flights up, they offered 5 euro/bag to bring our bags down at check-out. However, we chose to put up with the dismal accommodations in light of the fact that we were there to enjoy the beauty of Cinque Terre. We chalked it up to a bad choice.
The disturbing part was at check-out when we were told they did not accept credit cards...cash only. Initially, we felt silly that we were not aware of their policy. We did not have enough euro to cover the 280. They also kept my passport and would not relinquish it until we paid. We went in search of a money machine, but first decided to check the confirmation they sent us. On the
confirmation it states they accept all major credit cards. Upon returning to offer our credit cards they still insisted they do not take credit. We offered them the 210 euro we had or our credit card. After much haggling, they relented and took our credit card. Spoke to other locals and they reaffirmed they are not nice people to deal with. That is putting it nicely, they are criminals. This is NOT a 4 star establishment. They must write their own reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 558KimF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Franca Maria offers a selection of amazing rooms in the Cinque Terra. Try for a room with a view of the break water. Vernazza is the best choice for dining and Franca Maria offers at least one room with kitchen. Let her know if you'd like to cook and for a few more euros you're in business. Butcher, amazing seafood and produce are steps away. This is the land where pesto was born so try your hand at least once at making a dish of local pasta.

Room Tip: Wander the streets of the Cinque Terra to shop for a room. Many of the doors will have posted on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed in room 2 in late May 2012 & loved this room as soon as we entered. Provides a nice view over the harbour & square below. Even though only the second floor we didn't notice any noise from the restaurants below. Not a big room but thought it had plenty of character & just a perfect position in vernazza. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in July 2010 before the massive mudslide that covered the town in 2011.
The room we got was the one near the train station, the 6b. You could see the pictures in their website.
It was clean and well maintained, however, with no view.
Franca Maria met us at the train station and walked us through many steps (that's how the streets are in Vernazza) to our room.
The room was air conditioned and spacious enough for 3 people. Modern features in the bathroom, hair dryer included. Walking distance to the main square. No breakfast included.
Since all the accommodations are very expensive in Vernazza, I will say that it was a great stay for the value.
We didn't spend much time in the room anyways. A lot to discover in that beautiful place. :)
The town is neat! the most picturesque in the 5 Terre region.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessedFamily56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
1.7 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#9 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.0 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franca Maria Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franca Maria Rooms

Property: Franca Maria Rooms
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 30, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francamaria Rooms, established in 1992, is located in the heart of Vernazza, in the central Piazza Marconi. The rooms are few steps away from the harbour and the beach, and from the sea view rooms you can enjoy a magnificent sight on all the Piazza, the harbour, the beach and the surrounding hills.All the rooms are completely newly builded, with all the comforts you need for a perfect stay : the rooms feature private bath/shower ensuite, fridge, hairdryer, SatTv, double panel windows, hardwood floors and some are equipped with air conditioning and balcony.Live Vernazza as locals do, stay at Francamaria Rooms. Our reception is located at the ground floor of the main building of Piazza Marconi, at the number 30. Francamaria Rooms is run by Francamaria who, with her husband Andrea, owns and run the structure, with all the possible care about the rooms and about the customers. We are waiting for you to come and visit Vernazza, Francamaria Rooms is at your disposal to offer you the best stay possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Franca Maria Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Maria Rooms Hotel Vernazza
Franca Maria Rooms Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing