We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, great price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franca Maria Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franca Maria Rooms
Ranked #14 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view, great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Vernazza in rooms 1 & 2.

Room 1 -- this is a quad room but was very comfortable for 2 people. Very clean, great views of the main square & harbor. Only approximately 10 steps up from the main square to the room. It can be a bit noisy at night because you are right above a few restaurants with outdoor seating. Italians eat late so if you're planning on going to bed at 9pm, you will get some noise. Otherwise, things quieted down at around 11pm.

Room 2 -- this is definitely a double room and was smaller than room 1. However, you are in a small town in Italy so I wasn't expecting a US sized room. Again very clean, good view of the harbor & square. Same noise level as room 1.

At the end of the trip, we were charged exactly what they quoted us - no gimmicks. Had to pay in cash but very easy to check in & out. Andrea & Francamaria were very nice & accomodating. They have beach towels but you have to ask them at "reception" which is on the main square.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    55
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
38
90
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in June. The room was clean and well maintained and near the train station. Franca Maira met us at the train station and walked us to our room. The room was air conditioned and it worked very well. The town is really neat with great views. My wife left a neckless in the room. I notified Francamaria and she mailed it back to the USA. I really appreciate her.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Overall we would have given this room an average rating except for several reasons:

1 - we were in room 4. the room was so DAMP. Maybe a result of the flooding last year, but our towels did not dry at all during the 3 day stay, and when we unpacked our bags at our next Italian destination, all our clothes were damp. Unpleasant!

2- the 3 windows in the room open directly onto a path next to the building - the path is at exactly the same level as the window - so if you open the main window to circulate the air you literally look at people on the path face to face. The other windows are designed to be open but still private which is good. However open windows = noise! You can hear people breathing on the path, not just chatting or laughing!

3- the rooms are 'turned down' on the second day of your stay. This consisted of making the bed (no problems there) and re-hanging *dirty* towels on the towel rack that we had left on the floor - very poor. A dirty bidet towel was re-hung on the rack. Not in 6weeks in Italy has this happened to us, quite poor! Also, the towels are paper thin, really really crazy thin - they still did the job but it was not that great.

4- no breakfast included, not even a basic voucher for coffe and cake at one of the many local cafes.

5- No wifi or internet reception inside the room.

Positives - the room was spacious, clean, bathroom was large by Italian standards, very close to the main piazza, there was a fridge and tv in the room.

Don't know if the other rooms are the same but room 4 not so great. However, Varenna is a beautiful, charming town and highly recommend to stay there!!! It truly is lovely and cant fault the location. But if you choose this room, just be aware of these issues. Granted, it was a good price though at 75 euro a night.



  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Db83Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

ROOM 7: of course, it is in the main piazza, that gives you a privileged view of the sea and the shows every night, and also a little noise. If you are expecting to sleep 12 hours and read in peace in your room, or have room service, swimming pool and internet, this is not the place, but if you want to be in the lively heart of town, this is a perfect location. the room was perfectly clean, the beds were ok, furniture dated but everything was ok, I dont think it is expensive (150 euro per night for the four of us), compared to other places in the area in the middle of summer.
Cinque terre is really beautiful, simple, not sofisticated at all, authentic, and that is what Francamaria rooms is all about.

Room Tip: do ask for room nr 7, or check in the internet each one, as they are in different buildings around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariMichelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our small group of friends stayed in six of their rooms for two nights in late june... The rooms were just wonderful... full of character, nicely decorated, great views, and a great value for Vernazza... Our six rooms were all in close proximity to each other, and just steps off the main piazza... Coffee and freshly baked croissants were available in less then a two minute walk... the train station was 4-5 minute walk... the rooms were all very spacious, which is uncommon for Vernazza... they had flat screen tv's, windows, bathrooms with hairdryers, and some of our rooms had wi-fi... several of the rooms had beautiful views directly out over the piazza and harbor... each of the rooms had some unique detail that made it special... the room prices all varied, from 80 euro for the most basic double to 145 euro for a two bedroom triple and we felt they were a great value... Our little group had stayed in Vernazza before, and these rooms were definitely nicer, larger, and had a lot more character... The owners were very pleasant and helpful... we'll definitely stay here again!!! Thank you Franca Maria for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic-cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Four of us in our group. We stayed in Vernazza. The room was meters away from all the action right near the waters edge. Our room had all we needed with the mezzanine double bed, very compact, clean, very comfortable. Franca and Maria were very hospitable, friendly and we wish them all the luck . Vernazza is working hard to get themselves back to where they were. Such happy, friendly people. This had no impact on our holiday. We visited all 5 villages and our choice for next time would be Vernazza at Franca Maria's rooms. We wish Cinque Terra all the very best.
Melbourne.

Room Tip: Do your home work Trip Advisor was a big help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Despite the fact that they are recovering from the huge mudslides only 8 months ago the village is doing its very best.
• Perfect picture card view from our window…just like in the postcards
• Rooms adequate.
• If you book rooms that house 3 (eg room number 7) this is your best option for space
• Handy clothes line outside your window and dry your clothes just like the locals.
• No-where to wash your clothes except in small sink in bathroom. No plug provided for other sink.
• Cutlery provided but no plates, which made it difficult to eat in.
• Cockroaches, and midnight football in square below free of charge
• No wi-fi available in rooms but for a fee you can use Cinque Terre wi-fi up the street
• Only some shops are open at this time as they are still recovering
• Generally the locals are delightful.
• Easy access if you have limited mobility…approx 10 stairs to your room
• No safe provided
• Beware…owner withheld passport without me realizing and would not return until we had paid for accommodation in cash regardless of the fact that the credit card details were held as security. We paid cash before end of stay so passport could be obtained.
• Charge was Euro 130 per night / overpriced

Room Tip: Make sure you get your passport back! We were exhausted when we arrived and hadn't realised tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parisdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
2.7 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#11 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camere Elisabetta
Camere Elisabetta
#10 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 43 in Vernazza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franca Maria Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franca Maria Rooms

Property: Franca Maria Rooms
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 30, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francamaria Rooms, established in 1992, is located in the heart of Vernazza, in the central Piazza Marconi. The rooms are few steps away from the harbour and the beach, and from the sea view rooms you can enjoy a magnificent sight on all the Piazza, the harbour, the beach and the surrounding hills.All the rooms are completely newly builded, with all the comforts you need for a perfect stay : the rooms feature private bath/shower ensuite, fridge, hairdryer, SatTv, double panel windows, hardwood floors and some are equipped with air conditioning and balcony.Live Vernazza as locals do, stay at Francamaria Rooms. Our reception is located at the ground floor of the main building of Piazza Marconi, at the number 30. Francamaria Rooms is run by Francamaria who, with her husband Andrea, owns and run the structure, with all the possible care about the rooms and about the customers. We are waiting for you to come and visit Vernazza, Francamaria Rooms is at your disposal to offer you the best stay possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Franca Maria Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Maria Rooms Hotel Vernazza
Franca Maria Rooms Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing