We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Perla delle 5 Terre
Ranked #20 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Let me put things in context by saying that on the whole, we might have been able to tolerate all of what i describe below had the hotel been half the price or even 2/3 of the price. We are not fussy travelers in general but at this price point (EUR90 a night), this "hotel" was just horrendous.

Everything about this property went downhill from the time we arrived. The rooms are located in a building at the top of the town but there is no signage at the front door. Additionally, there is no actual reception area nor anyone there to even sign us in (the nice owners of the restaurant next door, who just happens to help out occasionally, were the ones to give us our keys). So we go upstairs and open the doors ourselves.

The room itself is mostly clean (floor feels a bit grimy) but frankly is very minimal, not very large, cheap looking furniture and looks like a hostel or a YMCA. Bathroom was tiny.

The walls of the place are also very thin - you can hear EVERYTHING from next door or anytime there is noise in the corridor. Unfortunately for us, our neighbours were playing music and having a sing-a-long session making it hard for us to go to bed in peace. Also, they start doing construction at 8 plus in the morning so if you arent an early riser, this can be an issue.

We were so upset about this place that although we had booked the hotel for 2 nights we only ended up staying for 1 night and leaving a day earlier. In fairness to the hotel, we called booking.com the morning after our first night to express our disappointment with the place and they ended up allowing us to cancel the second night without a penalty. When we went to check out and pay however, no one bothered to apologize or acknowledge the fact that we had been very dissatisfied with our stay.

Honestly, we have stayed at many hotels around the world (ranging from the ultimate luxury ones to the no frills, budget-type places) and this was one of the worst we have ever stayed in (considering the price we were paying).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaeN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Friend and I stayed 2 nights in October. The hotel is about 2 city blocks up the hill and to the left of the train station. This hotel was listed as new on booking.com so I was a little worried because I couldn't find reviews or photos. The pictures that the hotel supply are accurate and our room had a little balcony overlooking the main road. The absolute highlight of our stay was eating at the restaurant right downstairs from the hotel... ran by the always kind and entertaining Lucca and Massimo. The best coffee, cannoli's and all around food we ate in the area. The room was clean and comfortable but beware if you get a triple room that it comes with a double bed and a twin fold out chair. Also be warned that right now they are still doing construction, so if you are a late sleeper (past 9am) you may be annoyed by the noise. They didn't work on the weekend...we only heard them Monday morning. Downstairs from the hotel there is also a laundry mat and a post office with an atm machine. The road outside the the hotel is the route to the trail leading to other towns which is a plus. The whole town is as big as a minute, so for those complaining about La Perla not being in the center made me scratch my head. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Tiff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tommaso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcoswet2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Kornelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
3.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0 mi away
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
#27 of 39 in Vernazza
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#11 of 39 in Vernazza
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#8 of 39 in Vernazza
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
#13 of 39 in Vernazza
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla delle 5 Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla delle 5 Terre

Address: Via Giovan Battista Gavino 34, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range: $84 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Perla delle 5 Terre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Delle 5 Terre Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing