We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trattoria Gianni Franzi
Ranked #17 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Aylmer, ON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's 3 minutes to the bar where you check in from the train station, if you don't wander about looking at everything. Then the staff points you in the right direction for your trek to your room. The rooms were tight but clean but you don't go to Vernazza to stay inside.
Now for the confusion. We were told the wifi was on the patio (we found it) and that breakfast was on the patio. Not the same patio. Another guest showed us how to find it. And the breakfast patio is why you stay there. It's almost hidden but once in you are surrounded on two sides by flowers and cacti and small lemon trees, one side is the service area and the rest is the view of the Sea. The food at the restaurant back in the square was pricey but good and the waiter was fun. One of us asked for seasonal fruit for dessert. He mocked her, pleasantly, and then brought her a creme brulee. "There is your seasonal fruit". Apparently only kiwi from South America is seasonal in May.

Room Tip: Just make sure you're in shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    130
    52
    26
    25
See reviews for
44
157
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is located right as you walk off the train and head towards the main street and ocean. Great service as the staff kept us informed of instructions upon arrival. There are a lot of stairs to walk up to the rooms, but its well worth the view you get either with your room or the patio's they have to enjoy yourself!! Great room, we had a room with our own bathroom and it was great. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the view, which is breathtaking. Its such a great city!!! The hike to Montessori is a workout and lots of stairs so be prepared but so worth it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hgritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

In general Vernazza is very hilly, so you need to climb many stairs. Arriving at the restaurant for the hotel check in we needed to take 100 stairs up to the room. The rooms are clean, not all have private bathrooms, some have bathroom outside on the floor, small TV with Italian channels. The beds are not in great shape, we had 2 rooms and all beds already had a huge curve in the mattress. so BIG room for improvement potential here. the 100Euorp price for the room w/o private bathroom includes a breakfast which is served on good weather on an outside veranda overlooking the sea, beautiful. Still, as there is no fully equipped bar, the coffee comes from a machine which just never tastes the same as nice itailan coffee at a bar, that's really sad! In general vernazza is overpriced, but still worth to go

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisalexParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location!
We r living in building 41' the room with balcony. It's amazing place, we have sea view once we step out the balcony. Breakfast is good, everything is satisfied, except the toilet is private but outside the room and no slipper.

Room Tip: everything is satisfied, except the toilet is private but outside the room and no slipper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demi X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a room with a sea view and a bathroom in the room, and the view was everything we could have hoped for. As everyone mentioned there are a lot of stairs but if you are expecting them it's not a big deal and the view is worth it! One of the guys at the hotel helped us carry our bags up to the room as well. The room was a bit small, but there just isn't a lot of room when you're up so high. The bed was really comfortable and the room was clean overall. Overall we had a great experience. Apparently from reading the reviews some of the rooms can vary but if you get a room with a private bathroom and a sea view I don't see how you can go wrong!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was easy to find the hotel, since Vernazza basically just has 1 main street. When walking from the railway station, just walk down the road and look for a coffee bar with the sign 'Gianni Franzi hotel'. The lady behind the bar gave us the key to the room and showed us the stairs to go up, since the rooms are located in a different building. When we reached the place, we had to go up to the 3rd floor, where our room was located. Luckily we had backpacks and no suitcases.
The room was nice and clean and had a cute balcony with a stunning sea view. Even though the room was small, it had all we needed. On the 2nd floor there are 2 terraces when you can sit and relax. From there you can use free WI-FI, with had quite a good connection.
We recommend this place if you look for a simple clean place to stay. We paid only 75 euro per night, which we found quite good actually. The room was good enough and the view was amazing. We'd stay here again!

Room Tip: - Don't come here with suitcases since the rooms are high up. You need to climb at least 5 steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our first trip to Cinque Terre and we were delighted to be staying up the top of the building which is itself up the top of the cliff. If you don't like steps, stairs or hills, I would say this is not the place for you. Our room was small but perfectly clean and cosy. We had fresh towels daily which is luxury for us. We ate in the trattoria once and my spaghetti with clams was superb. We asked for a selection of local cheeses and got one piece of cheese , which together with the built in service charge of 3 euros per person was disappointing.
Overall we loved Vernazza but our favourite place, where we will come back to is Corniglia. It's a long climb up there from the station which will keep the tourists away and if you didn't like the stairs at Vernazza, then don't even think about it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#9 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere da Nicolina
Affittacamere da Nicolina
#8 of 18 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#32 of 43 in Vernazza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trattoria Gianni Franzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trattoria Gianni Franzi

Property: Trattoria Gianni Franzi
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 5, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing