We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a beautiful city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trattoria Gianni Franzi
Ranked #19 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a room with a sea view and a bathroom in the room, and the view was everything we could have hoped for. As everyone mentioned there are a lot of stairs but if you are expecting them it's not a big deal and the view is worth it! One of the guys at the hotel helped us carry our bags up to the room as well. The room was a bit small, but there just isn't a lot of room when you're up so high. The bed was really comfortable and the room was clean overall. Overall we had a great experience. Apparently from reading the reviews some of the rooms can vary but if you get a room with a private bathroom and a sea view I don't see how you can go wrong!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 325 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was easy to find the hotel, since Vernazza basically just has 1 main street. When walking from the railway station, just walk down the road and look for a coffee bar with the sign 'Gianni Franzi hotel'. The lady behind the bar gave us the key to the room and showed us the stairs to go up, since the rooms are located in a different building. When we reached the place, we had to go up to the 3rd floor, where our room was located. Luckily we had backpacks and no suitcases.
The room was nice and clean and had a cute balcony with a stunning sea view. Even though the room was small, it had all we needed. On the 2nd floor there are 2 terraces when you can sit and relax. From there you can use free WI-FI, with had quite a good connection.
We recommend this place if you look for a simple clean place to stay. We paid only 75 euro per night, which we found quite good actually. The room was good enough and the view was amazing. We'd stay here again!

Room Tip: - Don't come here with suitcases since the rooms are high up. You need to climb at least 5 steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our first trip to Cinque Terre and we were delighted to be staying up the top of the building which is itself up the top of the cliff. If you don't like steps, stairs or hills, I would say this is not the place for you. Our room was small but perfectly clean and cosy. We had fresh towels daily which is luxury for us. We ate in the trattoria once and my spaghetti with clams was superb. We asked for a selection of local cheeses and got one piece of cheese , which together with the built in service charge of 3 euros per person was disappointing.
Overall we loved Vernazza but our favourite place, where we will come back to is Corniglia. It's a long climb up there from the station which will keep the tourists away and if you didn't like the stairs at Vernazza, then don't even think about it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arrived Vernazza by train on very rainy day. Hotel is located at end of town below the church right on the water in the bay, ideal location for views and pictures. Check in is on street which doubles as a coffee shop/bar. Staff not as friendly but reasonable hotel with free wi-fi and no breakfast. Felt a bit uncomfortable in coffee shop having a cappachino with locals and workers hanging out, not too friendly which is fine but we are spending money at their hotel. Rooms are a hike up different stair cases, pack light or expect steep, treacherous stairs especially In the rain, we took backpacks, not suitcases. Overall room was adequate, bathroom was large and a few stairs up in room, shower small but long, warm water spotty. Overall, my second experience in Cinque Terre was not as good as the first time as locals not as friendly to travellers, expect differences due to floods and landslides in 2011. If using trains from town to town, do not forget to validate your ticket in automatic validation boxes (green and white) in each of the five towns.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I cannot stress enough what the distance from ground level to the room was. Luckily we were only staying 2 nights and had just 1 small carry-on sized suitcase. Ok, the view was spectacular once we reached the top but really, how about the local teenagers being employed to carry bags? Seems like it would be money well spent by the owners of this hotel. Our room had no air conditioning and even in late September it was very warm. We opened our windows...big problem! The sounds of other clients huffing and puffing and cursing was all we could hear as they passed our window below us. Paper-thin walls so we heard the voices of the couple in the next room quite clearly and the sound of the bathroom being used. (I'm trying to be delicate.) We left early the next morning. No apologies or refund offered for our miserable night.

Room Tip: If your window opens onto the path that everyone takes to their rooms, you're in trouble. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Vernazza was a cute area. Beside getting there late because of the train strike we had a good stay. The trails between Villages was closed because of weather. Lots and lots of steps to your room, but the view is breathtaking. First time we had shared bathrooms, but not a big deal. Bathrooms were very clean. Food in the restuarant was excellant and you get a 10% discount when you stay in the Hotel. Not sure I would go back, to many other places to visit!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan8770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We enjoyed the climb...but 115 steps to our room-phew! Clean, comfortable. Shower water temperature the 1st day was luke warm...2nd day was plenty warm so not sure what that was about. The view was fantastic. Location was right near the square and water. Quiet, too.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mindygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.1 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
209 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#10 of 39 in Vernazza
163 reviews
0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Albergo Barbara
Albergo Barbara
#11 of 39 in Vernazza
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Graziella
Agriturismo Graziella
#7 of 19 in Vernazza
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
#27 of 39 in Vernazza
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trattoria Gianni Franzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trattoria Gianni Franzi

Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 5, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range: $73 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing