We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location in cinque terre”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trattoria Gianni Franzi
Ranked #19 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2012

really, a perfect location. the rooms are fine, clean, good shower, the restaurant is great, especially the vongole verace and anchovies in lemon and herbs. got a tv. the best about the place is the balcony. will try and upload an image of my working space (with computer) there. was brilliant. vernazza is really touristy, but really nice never the less. recommended.

Room Tip: the balcony is disconnected from the rooms, but in reach. i imagine all rooms are just as fine. when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielgustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 324 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

There are so many cute places in Vernazza Italy to stay I wouldn't waste my money on this place. The staff was extremely unfriendly (aside from the cleaning staff who were actually awesome!). When we went to pay they informed us we had to pay with cash but then there were no bank machines in the whole town that took International bank cards, only visa/mastercard. We asked if we could pay with cc since we didn't have enough cash. The lady rolled her eyes at us and then accepted our card. So it's not that they can't, it's just that they don't want to and she was super rude about it. Then she overcharged us and when we pointed it out she rolled her eyes at us again. Also the food at this restaurant is a tourist trap. I would't eat there or stay there. There are other places that are small 1 or 2 room B and B's that charge the same amount or less and give you way more for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILuv2Travel_Bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here based on reading about it in a Rick Steves book and was so so happy! The decorations in our room were so cute and colorful. I would rate this hotel higher than 2 stars because it was so charming, clean, and convenient! The only downside I can think of was that there was no AC, but with the breeze, an open window at night made sleeping fine despite the summer heat. The absolute best part of the room was the cliffside ocean view right outside our door--- you really can't beat that view. Its worth paying cash because you get a 10% discount as well as requesting a private bathroom with sea view. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We would stay here again in a heartbeat! We absolutely loved our room and Vernazza! We checked in at the bar, were given our key, were walked up some stairs, and then given a "map" for the rest of the way. We found our room without a problem. There are a ton of stairs, but we went knowing this, and it only adds to the charm.

Our room was clean, with a small balcony, which had an incredible view. We fell asleep at night with the balcony door open, curtains fluttering in the breeze, listening to the waves crashing below.

Our bathroom was across the hall, but new. Very clean with hot water. Towels and body wash/shampoo were provided.

Our favorite thing was the private terrace for guests only. What an incredible view! We usually had it to ourselves and one of my favorite memories is of sitting on it, while sipping wine, looking at the stars, and hearing the waves crash.

Pay cash for a 10 percent discount.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingheartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you are worried about the stairs - don't bother coming to Cinque Terre. Our room on the 2nd (I think third by italian standards) had an amazing view of the ocean, hills and town. A small little balcony gave me the opportunity to step out and cool off in the evening, the room was pretty warm for me without A/C. The fan they provided didn't really do anything.

The room is small, but quaint. We had a private water closet in the hall across from our room. It was adequate. The common area terrace overlooking the sea is the highlight and worth it.

The restaurant is good, location is excellent. You feel like a local, there is hardly any staff to speak of, they also run the restaurant so they don't have much time fo you. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Would stay here again!!!! Room was very neat and clean. No air conditioning, but we were very comfortable without it considering it was the end of July. View from balcony in the back is breathtaking. We received a 10% discount by paying with cash. You also receive a 10% discount at their restaurant if you let them know you are guests at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSteel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was a small room with a GREAT view! Undoubtedly the view was the result of the climb - THIRTEEN flights of stairs it took to get to this room, but it was worth it!!!!! It was worth it, not just for the view, but to be here at all. On October 25, 2011 this little village was one of several villages hit by mudslides that could have been a knock-out punch; however, in just eight months these resilient people not only dug out of 25,000 cubic meters of mud, but they're back in business, so the least we could do was drop some cash and use the steps to prepare for the continuation of our hike through the Cinque Terre. No worries! Vernazza is back and so tremendously beautiful that you would never guess the devastation they climbed out of in such a short time. Great people, great time!

Room Tip: Keep your lauggage light...convenient cases with rollers are not so convenient here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Re-Ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
2.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#12 of 39 in Vernazza
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#3 of 39 in Vernazza
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Barbara
Albergo Barbara
#15 of 39 in Vernazza
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trattoria Gianni Franzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trattoria Gianni Franzi

Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 5, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range: $71 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing