We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Find”
Review of Camere Giuliano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camere Giuliano
Ranked #1 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Find”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights in one of Giuliano's rooms in Vernazza. The location is beautiful up on the hill overlooking the village of Vernazza and the harbor. We enjoyed sitting on the communal terrace watching the beautiful sunset and helping another couple celebrate their new engagement. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was quite large with a wonderful shower. Giuliano provides a communal refrigerator and hot water for tea/coffee as well as internet connection in a small room open to all who are staying there. We appreciated Guiliano's pride of workmanship and use of stonework in each room. His love of Vernazza is very apparent and understandable. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    30
    10
    5
    17
See reviews for
59
308
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent a night here in August, and we wish we could have stayed longer! Cinque Terre is phenomenally beautiful, and Giuliano, wife Michelle and daughter Sophie took great care of us. Our room was clean and nice, and the balcony had a great view. The service was great. Giuliano carried our bags from town to our room, and he stored our bags for a late departure the next day. No reason to stay anywhere else in Cinque Terre. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights in at Camere Giuliano in Vernazza. I cannot imagine a more picturesque and nicer place to stay. From our room and terrace, we had a great view of Vernazza, the surrounding hills and the Sea. The rooms are very basic, with enough room to move around. The accommodations themselves are wonderful rock structures, masterfully constructed by Giuliano himself. We found it easy to get around the area by train, boat, and foot from our location. Giuliano, who is a very passionate and outgoing person, was there to help and give advice on restaurants and things to do in the area, including information on adjacent villages. I would highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to anywhere in the Cinque Terre region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

All of what you read is completely true. Giuliano is incredibly prompt in meeting you at the base of the train station (under 5 minutes), the stairs are steep, but COMPLETELY worth the views. The Little Sophia Room was spotless and very comfortable. The workmanship to build the rooms is first rate. Giuliano is an excellent host and was kind enough to carry my VERY heavy luggage both up and down the steps. The only slight downside is that the trains to run all night. Highly recommend this property and would return again.

Room Tip: They're all great rooms and the location makes getting to the hiking easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Giuliano's lovely guest house in October 2013. The lodging was very convenient, just a short 5-min walk from the rail station and just steps from the trail to Corniglia. The view from the terrace was breathtaking. The guesthouse was lovely - beautiful stone workmanship in the bedroom with a huge en-suite bathroom. Best of all was Guiliano's hospitality - he offered to meet us at the rail station upon arrival and insisted on meeting us in the early morning on the day of our departure to help us carry our bags to the rail station. We had dinner at his cafe one night - a wonderful, friendly atmosphere with one of the best meals we had in Italy. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We rented Giuliano's rooms for two nights in October and we very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are perched up on a steep hill and there is a terrace with fantastic views of the village, the hills and a bit of the Ligurian Sea. Giuliano met us at a nearby restaurant near the train station and helped with our bags on the steep climb. We thought the rooms were quite handsome and all was clean and ready upon our arrival. Really a stunning location above the village of Vernazza. The beds were very comfortable and bathrooms were fine as well. Giuliano is an interesting man and shared much about his life with us. He was kind and thoughtful and we will always remember our interesting and enjoyable stay in Vernazza.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cattlegirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Camera Giuliano is located high above the railroad station in Vernazza, well away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. Upon arrival, we rang Giuliano and within a minute or two he greated us just at the base of the stairs to the train station. He was happy to help carry our bags up the 4 flights of stairs leading to the property.

In years of traveling, we have not had the opportunity to stay in a B&B where the owner was directly involved in the construction of the site. Guiliano takes great pride in Camera Giuliano and is constantly working and on the move!

The room was great - No TV for anyone who might be expecting one, we never use them so didn't mind its omission from the room - the bathroom was HUGE, with loads of shelf space for toiletries a heated towel rack, and plenty of hot water. It would be nice to have a curtain on the bathroom window even though the room is secluded.

Overall a great stay. Guiliano was very helpful when it came to train & boat info, restaurant recommendations (including where to get the best & biggest cappuccinos, and even helped us speak with the owner of our other B&B in Genoa as she did not speak any English.

I would highly recommend CG to anyone staying in Cinque Terre!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmelazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.7 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#32 of 43 in Vernazza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camere Giuliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere Giuliano

Property: Camere Giuliano
Address: Localita Capanna 1, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vernazza, in a peaceful and sunny location, you will find Camere Giuliano Basso. Giuliano's rooms are a favorite of those who visit Vernazza, offering large balconies with spectacular views of the sea, village and surrounding gardens and being nestled amongst the terraced hillsides. The property is close to Vernazza's historic center, main square, waterfront, trail heads as well as Vernazza's train station. Giuliano is a Vernazza native and a 6th generation stone mason who will make your stay in Vernazza unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camere Giuliano Hotel Vernazza
Vernazza Italy
Camere Giuliano Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing