We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vernazza
from $63.12
More Info
from $148.04
More Info
from $109.02
More Info
Reviews (3,787)
Filter reviews
3,787 results
Traveler rating
2,479
930
228
86
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,479
930
228
86
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lovely town stayed here gelato small beach small town la spezia narrow streets five villages hiking trails tourists towns sea hike piazza terre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 3,787 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2019

Cinque Terre has been on my bucket list as long as I can remember. We stayed in Vernazza because it was centrally located. We ended up loving the quiet place with the beautiful harbor and lots of restaurant choices. The atmosphere is very laid back.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank M7981XPlisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2019

I hiked here from Corniglia, and as you come down the hill and around the corner, you see the town sitting out on this spit into the Mediterranean! Very cool.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank mandingohooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2019

Great village to stroll around and soak up the history and colourful ambience. part of the walking trails of Cinque Terre.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

Easily accessible by train and probably very busy in the summer. In October its doable. Take a walk to Corniglia. Take your time walking the hills (the steps can be tiresome). Pictursque and unforgettable experience. Three to four days is enough unless your planning on walking to all of the villages and then it still 3-4 days.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful, romantic, charming, easy to walk around, short walk to the train and hiking trails. We thought Vernazza was the perfect place to stay in the CT.

There are two hikes currently open in CT - Vernazza to Monterosso (1.5 hours) and Vernazza to Corniglia. So if hiking is your goal, Vernazza is an ideal place to stay. Unfortunately, the trail from Manorola to Riomaggiore is closed, as is the hike from Manarola to Corniglia.

If hiking is not your goal, you might prefer Riomaggiore, which has more resorts and more restaurant options. Many of the towns have wine tasting, cooking classes and excursion options. In Vernazza, we loved Wine Experience.

All 5 towns are easy to access from La Spezia rain station (which is easy to get to from Pisa, Florence, Rome etc.). La Spezia to Vernazza takes about 20 minutes. Pisa to Spezia is about 45 minutes. Florence to Pisa is about 55 min. Rome to Spezia is about 5 hours. It’s a bit of a pain to get out of the CT to get to Genoa or Milan or Bologna, with all these trips taking about 3 hours, so day trips aren’t really feasible in my view.

You can also access the towns, except Corniglia, by boat. But the boats are often cancelled due to rough water.

The forecast called for rain every day. We were concerned and almost changed plans. It never did rain. But if it had, they sell rain ponchos and better outdoor gear, so don’t go crazy packing.

Hmm..what else to share? A visit to Northern Italy is always worthwhile. But you really need to choose between the North or South as it’s too far to hit up both Positano/Capri and CT/Florence if you have less than 9 days.

We flew to Rome, then did Tuscany, then Pisa, then CT. Third trip to Italy and it remains my favorite place in Europe. So if you’re debating between Paris and Rome, or Bruges vs Venice, or Switzerland vs. Turin, or Munich vs. Chianti, I’ll take Italy every time :)

Have fun!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank 263allent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews