We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PIZZA EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baia Saracena

Baia Saracena
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Vernazza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Southampton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST PIZZA EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had lunch here on a lovely sunny afternoon. Charming restaurant where you could eat outside. Everyone had pizza and it was probably the best we have ever eaten! Dont miss it if in Vernazza.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDALamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    89
    45
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good food, average service, free wifi!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

we ordered the pesto gnocchi which was great and a pizza which was average. service was ok, they were very busy and people were waiting up to 10 mins for a table. nice spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaurissalee714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcugnano, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Vernazza Staple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Here is a place not afraid to continue doing things well despite vocal opposition from an overwhelmingly American review bias. Pizza will be served in the proper Italian way, with a thin sometimes soft crust, and if you order the seafood pizza, yes, with all the sea creatures baked into the crust, shells and all. Yes, it's lots of work, yes, it's delicious, no, you won't ever have ordered the same thing at PizzaHut. This is Italy.

My wife and I dined here with the sunset on one side of our table overlooking the sea, the postcard view harbor of Vernazza on the other. The typical local pasta with pesto was delightful, as was the spaghetti fruiti di mare, shells and all. A bottle of the local frizzante white wine was €15, but well worth it as we enjoyed a romantic dinner at 8pm, which took about two hours as we soaked in the ambiance, the sea air, and each other.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aguamaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
516 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Pizza With a View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can't go wrong with pizza, but why not enjoy it while gazing out over the beautiful Ligurian Sea! Perfect!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NancyinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice location shame about the pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very nice terrace and marine-themed interior. The service was just OK. The menu was very wide ranging, which could be seen as a bad sign for any eating places.
If one has eaten half decent pizza elsewhere in Italy, what is passed off here as margherita is a very sorry effort indeed. First of all it was only around 8inches diametre (any decent, authentic pizza comes in at around 14'); it was of uniform thickness all over; and finally it was tasteless. One hesitates to say it but frozen supermarket pizza came to mind, which is what I often eat every week . Maybe I should have had a seafood dish.
Pizza - 6.5euro
40cl beer - 5e
cafe - 2e
cover - 1.50

Coffee and beer were good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anglital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baia Saracena also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Baia Saracena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing