We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best tuna fish ever”

Trattoria da Sandro
Ranked #18 of 33 Restaurants in Vernazza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The best tuna fish ever”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We saw that this was a family owned restaurant and we went for a dinner here, in order to get some authentic, local dishes. I took trofie pasta, which was excellent, and my husband wanted to try some other specific dish. The waiter, however, very politely, presented us what he had special that day, respectively a very fresh tuna fish. My husband ended up taking that and it turned out to be the best tuna fish ever eaten anywhere else. The presentation of the food, the service and the atmoshpere were all perfect and it all created a very special evening for us in Vernazza. Definitely eat here for an authentic meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    131
    51
    38
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Completely stumbled on this. On last legs after hiking from Monterossa and just took a chance. Boy what a good decision. Delicious fish, flavorful food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErwinMulherns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a typical trattoria family owned. The atmosphere is very italian and wellcoming. We absolutely recommend what we had here: pasta (trofie?) with pesto, then stuffed mussels and fried calamari... to conclude with their gelato. By chance some locals pointed us this little trattoria, not easy to find, but just perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cozy renovated restaurant with fresh seafood”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The seafood we ordered at Trattoria da Sandro and also the pasta were all well prepared by the owner/chef. He and his wife were very cordial and happy to have the several tables of customers who were there just a week before their high season began. We were lucky to be able to spend the evening talking with them about the horrible flood that had devastated their business in October of 2011. They brought out photos of the wreckage and told us their stories tearfully. They have done a beautiful job on the renovations and we felt like we were eating a home-cooked meal among friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nonny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The food was ok, but very expensive”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I don't think you can have bad food in Italy, but because of so many tourists this restaurant's owner allows himself to charge a lot for the food, a small glass of juice was 3.5 Euro, we paid 38 Euro for the whole meal and we had one main course (pasta for me and some meat for my husband) and a glass of drink (I had juice and my husband had a coke).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marilusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Sandro also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria da Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing