We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy renovated restaurant with fresh seafood”

Trattoria da Sandro
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Vernazza
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cozy renovated restaurant with fresh seafood”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The seafood we ordered at Trattoria da Sandro and also the pasta were all well prepared by the owner/chef. He and his wife were very cordial and happy to have the several tables of customers who were there just a week before their high season began. We were lucky to be able to spend the evening talking with them about the horrible flood that had devastated their business in October of 2011. They brought out photos of the wreckage and told us their stories tearfully. They have done a beautiful job on the renovations and we felt like we were eating a home-cooked meal among friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nonny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    133
    54
    39
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The food was ok, but very expensive”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I don't think you can have bad food in Italy, but because of so many tourists this restaurant's owner allows himself to charge a lot for the food, a small glass of juice was 3.5 Euro, we paid 38 Euro for the whole meal and we had one main course (pasta for me and some meat for my husband) and a glass of drink (I had juice and my husband had a coke).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marilusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The best seafood in Cinque Terre!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After our first visit we went back for more! Excelent food, friendly service by two very welcoming ladies. After the first dinner we had our own table waiting for us every night!

I miss those wonderful dinners! I will go back one day! Thank you da Sandro for the memorable times that we spwnt there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonowtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was pouring rain outside so we sat inside which was very cozy. At one point, the lighting & thunder scared a local cat inside. Quite amusing to watch the staff shoo the cat out ;-) We had a bottle of the local white Cantina Cinque Terre wine which was quite good. Our antipasti's were tasty - octopus salad & anchovies and oil. My stuffed mussels, were amazing and were one of the best dishes I had while in Italy but my husbands fried mixed seafood had little flavor. Dessert was delightful. Other than my husband's main course, the meal was most enjoyable. Go for the stuffed mussels!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UIK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Vernazza”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent three nights in Vernazza and visited many different establishments. Trattoria da Sandro was by far the best dinner. It was recommended to us by another restaurant owner, so it obviously has a good reputation amongst the locals.
We ordered the tuna & tomato millefeuille - it was the best starter I have had in a while. Inexpensive for what you get! Absolutely delicious. Also had pasta & fish. I would highly recommend Sandro's - great value, friendly staff (which unfortunately, cannot be found everywhere in Vernazza) and delicious food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMS1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Sandro also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria da Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing