We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vernazza View”
Review of Elisabetta Carro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elisabetta Carro
Ranked #26 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vernazza View”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at Elisabetta Rooms in October. The view from the terrace is exactly what we were looking for and definitely worth the somewhat arduous climb with our luggage. The location is great for hiking the trail to Corniglia. Our room was small and barebones but very clean. Elisabetta is very accommodating and even helped my husband clean his shoes in spite of my protests. We would stay again and we recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC9653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Reasonable prices and a room with amazing views of the ocean and Vernazza!

We had some trouble checking in at first because the owner Elisabetta does not stay at the hotel. Hence its important to check in only at the allocated check in time!
The climb up to the hotel was also rather treacherous but once those two obstacles are overcome, the place is pretty good! The room is spacious (although facilities are limited) but the view of the stars at night was just a treat! (Get ready your tripods and cameras)

There is also a rooftop terrace for you to chill out so overall, a great place to stay in Vernazza

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apriltan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We rent a room with the most amazing view over the town and the ocean. They have a terrace on top and that is the highlight of the place, spend the afternoon there watching the sunset, having a glass of wine. Vernazza has many shops to buy prosciutto, cheese and many delicacies. We did the hike Vernazza Monterosso and was amazing, the views will stay in our hearts forever. Vernazza is lovely, is full of life, the afternoons by the plaza were the best,just chilling and enjoying the vibe, watching the people, the locals, the boats, the life pass by.
Regarding the room, It was very clean, the bathroom spotless and very nice set of towels, plenty of them! The room is very very small,we got one with double bed. Also keep in mind that there are a million of steps to get to the place, so if you are not in shape, this might not be your place.I was a lucky girl because my husband took my luggage to the top. The bed was also small but fortunatelly we were ok, but I imagine not everybody will fit. Is a tiny aparment with that italian flavor, like in the old times,if you are not fussy is great, the host Elisabetta is very helpful and provides many tips. They could improve the little kitchenette with a microwave or a kettle to make coffee and more cuttlery and some wine glasses.The mattress could be also improved.In general we were happy here, because we are in love with 5 Terre!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rocio96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Will write short review as it is already a lot of detailed review available. Rooms have an amazing view to sea, village and mountains. This is very good choice for place were to stay in amazing village Vernazza. Because you will get:
- perfect location near center, train station, walking paths
- silence and great view
- recommendations from hosts what to do/to see

But it is not for you if you used for luxury.

Room Tip: Room Nr. 3 has a window with perfect view to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Elisabetta Rooms offers authentic rooms with the best views in town on their private terrace with excellent service. Grabbing some bread, pesto (excellent!) and a local wine from the local shops for dinner on the terrace is an evening to remember.

Cleanliness and hospitality was excellent – Elisabetta or her father came by daily to make sure we had fresh towels and take care of garbage. Elisabetta also offered to wash our laundry & dry it on the clotheslines for a modest fee, giving us an extra day to explore.

Once we arrived we were given information of things to see and where we could go. Since we were there for 4 nights we had many options, including walking on the Cinque Terre trail, or visiting other cities by train or boat. Elisabetta was always willing to help us with places to go and things to do.

WiFi was installed while we were there. I talked to the tech that installed the apartment and he was describing the difficulty of getting a signal through the stone walls. The only way to do it was to run a direct line into the apartment and then broadcast the signal inside the apartment. That means that we got exclusive access to the WiFi signal. The single rooms won’t get the same benefit so it may not be as fast all the time.

If you want a 4-star or 5-star hotel, this isn’t for you. It is a basic room or apartment where the fishermen and workers in town lived. That said, the mattress on the bed was better than the 3-star hotel we stayed at in Florence and as good as the 3-star in Sienna. Our view was that we weren’t there to see the inside of our room all day, so this fit our needs well.

We found Vernazza a great place to stay, especially before and after the day-trippers arrived. If you don’t like climbing a few steps you will probably want to stay away from this place and Vernazza in general – look to Monterosso instead.

If you book the apartment through Expedia.com or Booking.com, be aware that you’ll need to pay in cash after you arrive. They also have a check-in window of 3-5pm when they are cleaning the rooms, unless arranged otherwise. Keep in mind that this is a private person offering rooms to stay in, not a hotel with dedicated reception personnel.

All things considered, I can give a strong recommendation for Elisabetta Rooms for people wanting to experience the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: We had the apartment, and there are two rooms also available. Make sure you know what you want and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pratzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Cinque Terra, especially Vernazza is a gem of a place. This small, family run pension is basic, but right off the main drag. Be prepared to climb, many, many steps! We stayed in the penthouse that had 2 bedrooms and a cute little balcony. The owner did not meet us @ the trian station or answer my phone call, but we found it eventually (not the easiest to find - tucked away in an alleyway). So service was poorm but being able to stay in Vernazza made up for it. Unfortunatly it poured rain when we were there, but we were able to visit all the other Cinque Terra towns. Will definatly go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingsly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This little place is very basic, but the view is something from a storybook! Elisabetta and her dad were nice, but they didn't meet us at check in and we had to have a nice person from a business call them. Other than that we felt we lived in the neighborhood staying there. Very nice people. The Focaccia bread at the local bakery was heavenly and the little town quiet and charming. Loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janahn875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.0 mi away
Rooms La Torre
Rooms La Torre
#31 of 43 in Vernazza
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#5 of 43 in Vernazza
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#9 of 43 in Vernazza
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 43 in Vernazza
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Ca Da Nonna Di Callo Luca
0.1 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elisabetta Carro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elisabetta Carro

Property: Elisabetta Carro
Address: Via Carattino, 62, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Elisabetta Carro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elisabetta Carro Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing