We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and absolutely excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camere Fontanavecchia
Ranked #7 of 40 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque and absolutely excellent!”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We had such a great stay here. It's only a few minutes' walk from the train station but in the quieter part of town, with no steps to climb. Very picturesque--there was a pretty brook with swans right outside our window and it was very quiet at night. Annamaria's mother welcomed us, and though there was a bit of a language barrier, we got by okay. I only wish we could've stayed for a few more days!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonquille604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
92
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We just returned from the Fontana Vechia and would highly recommend it. It is just up the main road from the train station and there are no steps to climb to get there. There is a brook right outside the front. It was very clean and nice and Annamaria was a wonderful hostess. There is no view, but we weren't in the room much and the convenience of the location made up for that.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planejane955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed for three nights in August and cant wait to go back. AnnaMaria was wonderful and we loved the quietness of the location and babbling brook outside the door. Even though its at the top of town we did not find it a difficult hike and not having to climb stairs with luggage was a plus. It is also a few steps down from the Pirates Cafe which has wonderful food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearce95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for four evenings during our honeymoon tour of Italy. This was the best place we stayed by far. The room was peaceful, quiet and very clean and large. The brook outside of our window wiht the ducks was lovely and I never slept so well but at home. No stairs to climb was a plus. I cannot recommend this establishmore more to anyone traveling to Vernazza. While there is no ocean view, there are no stairs to climb and it is peaceful and serene. I miss the sound of the brook and the ducks! We will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed in room 4 for two nights. The river runs just by the room, so you hear the water when the window is open, which we liked. There is no train noise and no stairs to climb, which is great in Vernazza. It is a 4-5 min. walk to the harbor/town square and about 3 minutes from the train station. Annamaria was quite accommodating.

But, if you want to go swimming, bring beach towels, as the towels are thin and white.

We highly recommend her rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotLostWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

AnnaMaria is a great hostess. She met us near the train station and we walked a couple blocks to her inn. We stayed in an apartment for 4 nights. We did have a leaky faucet that the previous guests had broken and it was annoying but AnnaMaria promptly got it taken care of and discounted a nights stay for the inconvenience. She truly felt bad that it happened and what more could you ask for?! The place was very clean, nicely furnished with everything we needed and is a great location. You are only a couple blocks from the main action and yet in a quieter area. No breakfast but with the Pirate Cafe across the street, you can't beat that. This little place serves delicious pastries and good ol' American-type coffee. Also try their orange juice. We wouldn't consider staying at any other place when we go back - and we will go back! Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tgsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2009

AnnaMaria and her little hotel was so awesome....... it couldn't have been better and AnnaMaria is so helpful and gracious. It's the perfect place to be in this wonderfully quaint village

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferguson1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
3.7 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#26 of 40 in Vernazza
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
#10 of 40 in Vernazza
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camere Fontanavecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere Fontanavecchia

Property: Camere Fontanavecchia
Address: Via Giovan Battista Gavino 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camere Fontanavecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camere Fontanavecchia Di Annamaria Meregoni Hotel Vernazza
Camere Fontanavecchia Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing